We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best in Canmore”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Best in Canmore”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel for the past 6 nights and were thrilled with everything. The accommodation (room 324) as standard room faced out on Bow Valley Rd and a beautiful view of the mountains. It had two (I believe queen size) beds, large bathroom, a fireplace and microwave and frig. Breakfast was included and there was ample choice of both hot and cold. In the afternoon there were fresh warm cookies and iced tea serve in the lobby. There was a very nice pool and hot tub as well as a fitness room. There was some noise from the frequent trains which past by but it did not bother us. Two grocery stores quite close had a great selection of ready meals which could be warmed up in our room to saved on travel costs. Great TV with a good selection of channels. Internet worked well. There was a Tim Hortons, Wendy's and a good family style restaurant (Craig's Way) within walking distance next door. If I am ever in Canmore again I would stay again.

Our only con was that the guest laundry was being renovated and was not available when we visited but we were directed to another local laundremat which we used and it was fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stitchann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    369
    75
    24
    19
See reviews for
407
379
30
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
St. Albert, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here. We rebooked this stay months ago due to the wonderful first experience. This time, however a wedding and reception was being held at the hotel. Our room selection (110) and our travelling companion's selection (111) was terrible. Lobby noise was very pronounced in our room. And reception music from the meeting room below was unacceptable. A small discount was given to us and our companions after 3 complaints. To place guests that have booked months in advance directly above the reception and adjacent to the lobby is poor guest management. Had we been placed on an upper floor away from the noise this would have been a non issue. It seems to me that placing wedding guests in close proximity to the party and separating them from other guests would be best business practice. As a result, we were very unhappy with our stay. The front desk staff did their best to control reception guests, but nothing short of staying on a different floor would alleviate the noise from the dance music in the room below. Very disappointing and ruined an otherwise wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ladorne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Easy to find, great staff, friendly and knowledgeable, our room was very clean, internet worked great, the pool was terrific and we had easy access from our room to the pool, loved our non-smoking room, tv was easy to use with the remote and everything was great. We had a chance to stay at a more expensive hotel, because of family connections, but chose this one and it excelled over the other hotel. We actually visited the other hotel to see what we would have missed and we were really glad to have chosen this hotel. It was the best hotel on our entire vacation. One would have to be stupid to pass up this hotel. We were happy with our choice and nobody paid us anything to say these comments.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2013

beautiful hotel with great amenities,nice swimming and waterslide as well as hot sauna,hot tub,exercise facility,breakfast was ok,keurig coffe machine in room is a great toutch beds are very comfy,nice bath and body works soap,shampoo,conditioner and body lotion,location is eay to find

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lynn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed at the Pocaterra for two nights over the Labour Day long-weekend. I had booked online, and was originally a little disappointed that the lower priced room that I wanted wasn't available. However, the third floor room that we ended up with was huge, with two queen beds and a sofa-bed, fireplace, table with two chairs, a good sized flat screen TV, frig, microwave, and a Keurig coffee maker. Nice sized bathroom (one sink), lots of hot water and good water pressure in the shower. Strangely there was no fan in the bathroom! We were right across from the elevator, which I thought might be rather noisy - it was fine.
Breakfast was fine, with lots of selection. There were individual cheese omelettes, sausages, pancakes and french toast on the hot side, along with bread, bagels and english muffins to toast. Also muffins (regular and mini), cereal, instant oatmeal, yogurt, fruit salad (only one day), and hard boiled eggs. Juice, Stash Tea and decent coffee to round out the selection. It was busy, but the attendants were doing there best to refill the empty trays as things were eaten. There were also warm chocolate cookies available in the afternoon - yum!!!
We didn't use the pool, but saw lots of kids walking around in bathing suits and towels. Check in and out were easy (the hotel was full), and all the staff we interacted with were friendly and polite. I hadn't realialized how badly the Canmore area had been affected by the spring flooding. There are lots of road repairs and renovations going on in the area, and you can see where some of the hiking trails and bridges have been washed out. Still, it was a beautiful drive up to the Kananaskis Lakes!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pitpat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Me and my husband stayed here, and were only originally booked to stay 1 night, but we decided to stay an extra night as our king room with balcony was so lovely, the views were outstanding. Staff were friendly, complimentary breakfast was good, will definitely stay again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindsaythomas181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

BW Pocaterra Inn in Canmore is our hotel of choice for our first night on the road on most vacations. It is easy to access and has everything we need and more. The staff are friendly and accommodating and we know we can count on a quiet, extremely comfortable, night. If you want ultimate comfort, book a suite on the fourth floor!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank keeshasmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
1.5 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
1.6 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#13 of 28 in Canmore
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
1,098 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#16 of 28 in Canmore
964 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Pocaterra Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pocaterra Inn

Property: Best Western Pocaterra Inn
Address: 1725 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1L7, Canada (Formerly Best Western Plus Pocaterra Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Canmore
#9 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Pocaterra Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the towering peaks of the Canadian Rockies, the Best Western Plus Pocaterra Inn is your ideal lodging choice while visiting Canmore Alberta. From the warm welcome in our lobby to our spacious guest rooms, you are sure to experience superior service while staying with us.Our hotel features tastefully decorated guest rooms with a multitude of amenities including stunning views of the surrounding Rocky Mountains, fireplaces, free high-speed wireless internet, microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, and LCD TV’s. Guests can enjoy our daily complimentary hot continental breakfast and access to our business centre, fitness facility, games room and meeting rooms. In addition, our hotel features a whirlpool, steam room, sauna and indoor swimming pool with a large waterslide perfect for the whole family to enjoy.Just minutes away from Banff National Park the Best Western Plus Pocaterra Inn is a great place to explore the Canadian Rockies, natural hot springs, lakes, glaciers, canyons, and ski resorts. When visiting Canmore Alberta, the Best Western Plus Pocaterra Inn will make your stay feel just like home, but better. Our relaxing atmosphere, tastefully appointed rooms and friendly hospitality are the perfect complement to your visit to the Canadian Rockies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Pocaterra Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pocaterra Hotel Canmore
Best Western Canmore
Canmore Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing