We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room in wonderful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2008

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one night during a two week road trip through the Canadain Rockies and British Columbia. We loved the location of this hotel...just 10 miles East of Banff.

The room was spacious and nicely decorated and the bedding was excellent with plush pillow tops. The desk clerks were very friendly and helpful.

I hightly recommend this hotel when visiting Banff National Park.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Pauline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,055)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

960 - 966 of 1,055 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2008

My wife son and I booked a week at the Pocaterra Inn, mid August and we were well satisfied with our stay. We had been travelling almost continually for 2 weeks and our aim was to chill out and take things a bit more easy during our last weeks vacation.

The great draw here (at least for my son) was the presence of a good size pool and water slide. When we arrived however, it was undergoing some emergency maintenance. so my son's enthusiasm for the place was somewhat tempered. However the ever obliging staff had made an arrangment with the hotel next door that also had a pool (albeit somewhat smalle) and they did have the pool up the next day.

I will say that I found the staff ever so co-operative. No little thing was too much trouble (and we asked for a lot of little things). They were even able to have a room ready at 11am in the morning, just what we needed after a tiring trip.

The rooms are a good size with comfortable beds and very clean. The air conditioning was effective but a bit on the noisy side, so we couldnt use much at night when we needed it.

The continental breakfast is fine, but a bit monotonous if you are there for more than a few days. By way of a change try Craigs Way Station right next door for a really appetising cooked breakfast.

All in all a very good experience and I would stay here with the family

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazzman25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2008

We stayed 3 nts and found almost everything to be great. Breakfast was good and would have been excellent had it not been for some of the cutlery and mugs that were not clean. The room cleanliness, pool and hot tub were excellent.

On our first night, we were in room 109. It was Saturday night and we were awaken around 2am to loud music which lasted until around 3:30am. Although we didn't complain, I am surprised that the hotel would permit a party to go on this late. The music must have been loud enough for the hotel reception to hear it as our room was only about 70-80 feet from the reception desk. Although I never did find out where the music was coming from, I discovered a small party room directly below room 109 that may have been used on the Saturday night for a reception / party.

We stayed the 2nd night in room 109 with no complaints and no loud music and a 3rd night stay (a separate booking) on the 3rd floor after requesting a quieter room and found it to be very quiet with a wonderful view of the mountains.

Canmore is a great town and central to Banff and Kananaskis. I'd certainly recommend this hotel. Just be careful not to stay in rooms near 109 if there is a party booked in the room below.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bjrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2008

We've just returned from a three night stay at the BW Pocaterra Inn in Canmore. For under $200 in high season, we had a clean comfortable room with two queen beds, a gas fireplace, mini-fridge, microwave and balcony. The room is averaged sized and quite large enough for two guys on a golfing trip.

On the plus side:
We noticed that the bathroom sink was draining slowly. We mentioned it to the front desk and it was repaired while we were out, even though the hotel was full. I found the beds to be quite comfortable with pillow tops and three queen sized firm pillows. There was very little noise from the corridor or neighbouring rooms. Wireless internet was included and gave us a strong signal and good speeds. The included self-serve continental breakfast had good variety and convenient hours. Staff were friendly and helpful.

On the minus side:
The pool, however, is more of a splash landing area for the waterslide and not really suitable for swimming. I also thought that the pool hours were a little inconvenient, closing at 22:00. I'd have like to have used the hot tub in the evening. Also, if the hotel is full, so is the parking lot and the spaces are quite narrow. We had to circle the lot after returning from a late night in Banff.

This is a good budget stay with a good location, convenient to downtown, the hotel strip, Banff and Kananaskis. And the rooms are more than adequate for our purposes, golfing all day and having a comfortable place to crash at night. Bestwestern also has a variety of rates so finding a good rate is easy. Their AAA/CAA relationship is probably your best bet.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank EDM_Stowaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2008

Two thumbs up for the Pocaterra!

For $250 in July, we got a huge, clean, very up to date room with a king size bed, jacuzzi tub, flat screen TV, fridge and microwave. The bed was oh so comfy and everything was clean, clean, clean. We were very pleased and 100% satisfied with our room. Had we been staying for longer than one night, we probably would have asked for a room with a balcony, but for one night it was fine.

The service at the hotel is excellent. Although we were not able to check in before 4pm, the front desk staff were very friendly and helpful.

There is also a complimentary breakfast which is about average as far as that kind of thing goes. There are tons of restaurants within walking distance or a very short drive.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TravelwKiddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2008

A great stay in a great room. Clean, neat, very nicely decorated.
Good simple breakfast.
Pool and spa were nice.
Steam room not active.

Wireless internet was not working... we were told the technicians would be out to work on it. I'm convinced that it only needed the modems to be rebooted.

Very good location. New and nice and not too far from Lake Louise.
Simple fridge, and microwave were available -- as were lots of good eats at the Safe way deli across town.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank baywalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2008

Spent two nights here on our drive from Vancouver to Calgary.Conveniently located on main road from Banff to Calgary.
Liked Canmore which is quieter and less hectic than Banff.The hotel was spotless with very attractive decor.Our room was spacious and well furnished with extras like the lovely gas fireplace,refrigerator,microwave and flat screen television.Although the hotel was full it was very peaceful and after a good night's sleep we awoke to spectacular views of the ice-capped Rockies. Breathtaking! Added extras were the indoor pool,hot tub and water slide. We also appreciated the free internet access in the lobby and the very good complimentary breakfast. It was good to see they use china crockery and stainless steel cutlery and not the customary cardboard and plastic, which seems to be the norm in most hotels.Staff at reception were friendly and helpful especially in recommending places to eat. We really enjoyed our meal at 'Chez Francois', a short walk away.We would thoroughly recommend this great value hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Return75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
1.6 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
1.5 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#14 of 28 in Canmore
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#15 of 28 in Canmore
1,001 reviews
1.2 mi away
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
6.0 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Pocaterra Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pocaterra Inn

Address: 1725 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1L7, Canada (Formerly Best Western Plus Pocaterra Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Canmore
#9 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range: £69 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Pocaterra Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the towering peaks of the Canadian Rockies, the Best Western Plus Pocaterra Inn is your ideal lodging choice while visiting Canmore Alberta. From the warm welcome in our lobby to our spacious guest rooms, you are sure to experience superior service while staying with us.Our hotel features tastefully decorated guest rooms with a multitude of amenities including stunning views of the surrounding Rocky Mountains, fireplaces, free high-speed wireless internet, microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, and LCD TV’s. Guests can enjoy our daily complimentary hot continental breakfast and access to our business centre, fitness facility, games room and meeting rooms. In addition, our hotel features a whirlpool, steam room, sauna and indoor swimming pool with a large waterslide perfect for the whole family to enjoy.Just minutes away from Banff National Park the Best Western Plus Pocaterra Inn is a great place to explore the Canadian Rockies, natural hot springs, lakes, glaciers, canyons, and ski resorts. When visiting Canmore Alberta, the Best Western Plus Pocaterra Inn will make your stay feel just like home, but better. Our relaxing atmosphere, tastefully appointed rooms and friendly hospitality are the perfect complement to your visit to the Canadian Rockies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Pocaterra Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pocaterra Hotel Canmore
Best Western Canmore
Canmore Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing