We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunset Resorts Canmore
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I booked this hotel through Dealfind which was $150 for a 2 night weekend stay ($99 for a 2 night stay during the week) and they also gave us a $100 gift card to a local restaurant in town. The catch? Sit through a timeshare presentation. They promise they aren't pushy. We'll see.

We arrived around 8:30 on a Friday night and easily found the hotel. There was one person at the front desk who was helping out someone else who had just arrived as well so we had to wait a little bit but not too long. Check-in was quick and informative. After that there was another gentleman who gave us a quick two minute tour of the common area which included a place to watch TV on a big screen, games room including a pool table and foosball table, and a fitness room with a decent amount of equipment. He then asked us when we wanted to attend the presentation as they had availability on Saturday or Sunday morning.

We then go to our room and to my surprise it was just a typical hotel room. For some reason I thought it was going to be a suite which is what the photos showed when I booked the deal. I guess I didn't read the fine print close enough. Not a big deal since it was only two nights and we didn't plan on cooking, but just misleading. It did have a mini fridge and a microwave so that's a win. The important part is that the room was clean. The bathroom seemed renovated with a newer vanity and tub. The floors in the room were laminate and also looked fairly new. I've read that the A/C does not work properly but luckily the weather wasn't too hot out so the room stayed at a perfect temperature for the most part.

Prior to the timeshare presentation they gave us a tour of the neighbouring property called the Grande Rockies Resort, which is where the members of the club stay. Much nicer than Sunset Resorts. I've never been to a timeshare presentation so I wasn't sure what to expect. In the end, I didn't really feel pushed into purchasing anything but what they did say made sense.

One thing of note, they give you two key cards to your room (which also can be used to access the garage). They also give you one physical key to access the property from outside or inside the garage. I'm sure it'd be easy to just make the key card technology available everywhere. It's also odd that they give you two key cards but only one physical key.

I wouldn't pay regular price for this hotel (apparently close to $200 a night?) but if you come across this deal and don't mind sitting through a timeshare presentation then go for it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wesleywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

We took this resort through an Intervale timeshare exchange. We checked in at the resort's front desk then went to lunch. When we returned we tried to get into our room with our bags and groceries but were told we were in the wrong part of the resort and were sent to another office for Sunset Resorts which apparently runs the timeshare reservations. They said they had a room but it was on the first floor, we said no! Then they tried to give us a room on the second floor which not only faced a parking lot but smelled. Finally they found one last room that was acceptable, not great but okay.

The bed was comfortable but the pillows were awful. There were lights that were burnt out, broken shades, beat up kitchen cabinets and the high tech showers that had no instructions and if you put the fan on in one bathroom it also ran in the other bath room. The hallways are dark and dingy, the resort is laid out like a maze making it difficult to find your way from place to place.

The next day the fun continued as were couldn't access the building because the key code had been changed by the resort and the timeshare section didn't bother to get the new code so they jimmied it open with a rock. They told us to call if we needed anything but the phone couldn't connect with the Sunset Resorts desk!

Finally as we prepare to check out neither front desk were able to print out our boarding passes. Total incompetence.

The good: unit was small but very comfortable for the two of us. Canmore is a good location to explore the Banff area, lots of closet space and much to our surprise all the kitchen appliances worked.

This place is in need of a total makeover. Stay somewhere else!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank LL28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed here on a time share exchange for a week. It is a very good hotel on the edge of
Canmore well within striking range of Banff and the park. The rooms were a bit warm even with the windows open and the shades drawn to keep the sun our (and this was May with night time temps in the mid-30's F so plan for it to REALLY warm in the summer). We did not spend much time in the resort as we hit all the high points of the park. There is a pool and hot tub in the resort across the parking lot (which cost an additional $50 CDN for the week) which requires a trek across the frozen tundra in winter. There is a game room of sorts in the basement and the staff put on several activities that we did not have time to enjoy. Covered basement parking is convenient in winter and enhances security but the parking spaces are tight and many people took up 2 spaces so it was a pain parking. The resort is close to the highway and train tracks so it was quite noisy as we had to keep the windows open all night to reduce the room temp.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side might be a bit quieter but rooms on the west and north sides have the view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The building is modern and nice but there were a number of things that we became disheartened with. The heat in the condo was unbearable. Only 2 little tiny windows to let air in, had to shut the pilot light off on the Fireplace, turned the heat dial to cool and still sweated. The thermometer read above 25 continually day and night. Thankfully my sister met us two days after arriving so I phoned ahead to have her brings shorts to wear inside and 2 fans. It helped slightly.
The second thing was the dirty rugs. I wore sandles continually because of the filthy rugs.
Third was the sheets were extremely uncomfortable not silky smooth. I actually got a sore on my hip from sweating in the hot bed and rubbing on the rough almost sharp sheets.
Fourth Didn't provide paper and pen in the room for grocery list or what not. Asked for it and the manager sitting at a desk at a computer didn't even turn head towards the front desk person that inquired just said "NO!"
Fifth Toilet paper so rough it was like sand paper. Haven't used paper that rough since visiting in Eastern Europe when it was still under communism.
Sixth, no hot tub or swimming pool. Habve to pay $25 for the one in next building that I believe is owned by them. Plus have to pay for towels.
I would not return or recommend this facility.
Camore is a lovely town with lots of walking trails and cycling trails. It is worth going to the town but please stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: If you must stay here ask for a 3rd or 4th floor room that has a balcony so you can open the deck do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ilovegod1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alain C, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Resorts Canmore, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you we appreciate your comments as our goal is to constantly improve. Our building is very well insulated which serves us well during the winter season but unfortunately the air conditioning unit doesn’t kick in until the temperature consistently reaches 12 C. Due to this the Spring season can be a little tricky. That being said, it does take some time for the whole building to cool down once the A/C is on and as soon as the temperature drops again, the A/C stops working or there is a possibility for it to freeze up. The best thing you could have done in this situation is to turn the room temperature control to off and open the windows to air out the room. It normally doesn’t take a lot of time to cool off as we’re in the mountain. We also provide fans if necessary please just call our front desk.

Our housekeeping team does their best to ensure the cleanest rooms possible. If any stains are noticed they do attempt to clean them but if they happen to miss any please always contact our front desk so that we can rectify this immediately. We are also in the process of replacing the units that have carpet with hardwood flooring and at this point there are only a few units left to do.

As far as our amenities in the room, we receive our supplies from one of the biggest hotel suppliers in Canada just like a majority of the hotels in the area do. Our sheets are standard quality as well our toilet paper but we’ll look into this as per your suggestion. We do not provide any paper/pens in the rooms as most guests these days use their smart phones but we don’t think that it would be a bad idea to keep some handy.

Please note that we negotiated access to the adjacent buildings pool and hot tub for our guests at a discounted rate of $25/day or $50/week per condo. The towels are included in this fee. We are very pleased to be able to offer our guests this amenity as other facilities in town are a lot more costly.


If one of our front desk agents was rude or abrupt please email us at memberservices@paradiseresortclub.com immediately as we take this very seriously. We will identify the problem and rectify the situation as soon as possible.

We hope that after receiving answers to your points above you will reconsider coming back and spending another vacation with us. We would love to earn your future business.


Thank you
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

We booked this through an offer we found on Dealfind. Our room was sweltering even with the window open. Our room was nothing like the pictures online and seemed to be under renovation. Green masking tape on the floor, paint missing...
Everywhere seemed to smell like stale beer. We moved to another hotel for our second night.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Jaime M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alain C, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Resorts Canmore, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Our Dealfind promotion was a great success but unfortunately, the contractor who was hired to renovate some of the units wasn't able to complete them on time. We did our best to accommodate all of our guests and this is why you were moved. We apologize for any inconveniences. Maintenance was able to rectify the heating issue as a valve malfunctioned. Please note that this promotion was for our hotel rooms and not for our condo units.

Sincerely,

Sunset Resorts Canmore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We had called to book a 2 bedroom suite, but then it wasn't available when we confirmed the booking, so we had to book two 1 bedroom suites. They were farther apart than expected, but it still worked out alright. The reception upon arrival was friendly and helpful. We received (per suite) 2 cards to get into the building, parkade and pool, and 3 cards for the room - one of which must be kept near the front door to keep the power in the suite on. They said we'd be charged $25 per key if one of these 10 keys went missing - yikes! The kids enjoyed the water slide, the hot tub wasn't very hot (probably because it goes outside as well, which was a neat feature). Our hallway was being fixed I assume, as there was drywall removed and torn/peeling wallpaper all the way down the hall, although we didn't see anyone working on it - it was that way for all 4 days.
Our suites were a little smaller than I expected, but still worked out fine. For a suite for 4 people, I was surprised that it only had a dining table for 2, as well as 2 bar stools for the kitchen counter. There was ample storage in the kitchen including a full (empty) pantry. The kitchen was well appointed, and everything worked perfectly. However, they had very minimal cooking utensil and a medium-small pot and pan. There was no salt or pepper (which is typically a staple in suites with kitchens) and only 3 dishwasher detergent pucks. We called to ask for more, and more than an hour later we didn't have them, so we went down to the office. We were told they would bring them right up, but it was over 3 hours until we actually could run the dishwasher. It says that there is some house cleaning service during our stay, but they only emptied the garbages. They didn't make the beds, wipe anything or replace supplies (like toilet paper) but they did leave a big roll of garbage bags on the kitchen counter (?). The bathroom was small and the door wasn't lockable (in either suite's bathroom or bedroom), but the shower was a delight - a full steam shower with back jets, a foot spray and a radio. Lovely! having a washer and dryer in the suite was a great bonus too.
The suite had a regular phone which had no service and a cordless phone that always said "charging" but died as soon as you picked it up. We told the front desk, but nothing was done, so we had to use our cell phones, even to call the front desk or another suite. The brochure said each suite had a blu ray player, so we picked up some blu ray movies for the trip. One suite didn't have any player at all. We mentioned it on the first day, and they brought a dvd player on the second day, but it wasn't blu ray so we couldn't play any of the movies we'd brought.
There was a small door in the middle of the bedroom wall. It was supposed to be locked, but it was open and exposed the mechanics inside the wall (a pipe with a valve shut off). Without the key, this couldn't be closed.
The bed and the pull-out sofa both had great pillows and a luxurious duvet, so sleep was great. The bedroom was cold because the window was frozen shut with a small gap that let in cold air. The window handle was covered in frost on the inside. The fireplace did a great job of keeping the rest of the suite toasty warm. We used the BBQ and it worked great.
We still had a wonderful vacation, and probably wouldn't have been bothered by these things if it hadn't been such an expensive place to stay for us.

Room Tip: We asked to be fairly close to the pool, which was great for the kids to walk there. There wasn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingfamily009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed at a Sunset Resort Condo over New Years, 2013. We had a 2 bedroom condo, one large room with a queen bed and one tiny bunk room with bunk beds. There was a full kitchen and very nice living/ dining area. Because we were skiing etc every day, having the washer and dryer was a real luxury. The living room had a nice pull out sofa but due to the relatively small size of the condo, I would recommend it as a 4 person unit, not 6. The staff were friendly and there was a hotel/resort only a few steps away with a large swimming pool/hot tub/water slide. It was only $50 per week for pool access and this was well worth the price. A hot soak after skiing was welcome and our 11 & 17 year olds enjoyed the pool and slide. The condo is very close to downtown Canmore's restaurants and pubs so we had no trouble walking home after a couple of drinks with dinner. Our condo had been newly renovated and was very stylish. There were 2 flat screen TVs. We brought our own music system but there might have been music programs on the TV. The bathroom was small but well appointed and the entire condo was very clean. It would have passed anyone's white glove test. My only negative comment is that the key system was complicated with 2 keys and a parking pass card needed to get into the condo. Even when you've entered the parking garage with your pass card, you were stuck if you didn't have the elevator door key. The keys could be more clearly marked for ease of use. The condo provided a few dishwasher tabs and a bit of laundry soap to get you started (nice) so it's worth packing a bit more of each so you don't have to buy a big supply.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PGHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.7 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
0.8 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#12 of 28 in Canmore
576 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#14 of 28 in Canmore
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
0 mi away
Grande Rockies Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
1.6 mi away
Grand Canadian Resort Vacation Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Resorts Canmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Resorts Canmore

Address: 109-1151 Sidney St, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3G1, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Canmore
Price Range: £92 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Resorts Canmore 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sunset Resorts Canmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Resorts Canmore Hotel Canmore
Sunset Hotel Canmore
Canmore Sunset Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing