We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Paintbox Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paintbox Lodge
Ranked #1 of 31 Canmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The Paintbox Lodge is fantastic. I stayed there for one night only (sadly), however had a very positive experience. The Lodge is right in the centre of town, Thomas was so helpful & I loved the time I spent talking with him & my stay in general.

Rooms are superb. Canmore is a little oasis in the Rockies. Breakfast was divine. I highly recommend Paintbox & look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissJulia01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara_Renner, Owner at Paintbox Lodge, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for your review. Canmore is truly a special place and we are glad the Paintbox could be part of your great experience. Come visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    19
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
61
126
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I rented out the lodge for our wedding, and it was perfection. It was the perfect venue for a small wedding, and Mallory was so accommodating and friendly and helpful! The food was done by the in-house chef, and everyone absolutely loved it! We will definitely return in the near future, as well as the attendees of the wedding who would not stop raving about the lodge!!! So beautiful there!! Mallory and the other staff were so friendly with the kids attending too. This is an amazing place to go for romantic getaways and family/friend gatherings!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara_Renner, Owner at Paintbox Lodge, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Congratulations on your wedding. We host weddings in our quiet season and our venue is perfect for intimate gatherings. We can accommodate up to 18 overnight guests and we have many options for in house dining. Thank you for taking the time to write the review and we hope to see you back for an anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Paintbox is a warm lodge in an idyllic setting located in the heart of Canmore. Everything was walking distance and the staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. I stayed in the studio room and enjoyed a deep sleep. The room was cozy and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast was better than any cafe in town. I enjoyed homemade quiche, warm pumpkin spice muffins, freshly squeezed orange juice, homemade granola and yogurt and freshly ground coffee. The entire experience was first-class. I would highly recommend the Paintbox for all occasions, business, a weekend getaway or a solo adventure.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara_Renner, Owner at Paintbox Lodge, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
We are happy the Paintbox breakfast was a highlight! Breakfast is simple, fresh and healthy. We try to source as local ingredients as much as possible. Our eggs are from happy organic chickens and our grains are also organic and both are from Alberta. Come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The Paintbox Lodge provides a beautiful and comfortable stay, right near the heart of the town center. The rooms are wonderful - warm, cozy and very well kept. The breakfast was delicious, very fresh with a true "home-cooked" feel. The managers and staff were so kind and friendly, it created such a welcoming feel. I would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara_Renner, Owner at Paintbox Lodge, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Glad you felt at home at the Paintbox and enjoyed all Canmore had to offer. Thank you for complimenting our staff. We are lucky to have such incredible people on our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed this past thanks giving weekend at the Paint box. The staff were great, the room was wonderful. I loved sitting in the lobby by the fire place in the evening.
We were in the heart of Canmore and could just step out side to explore the shops
Breakfast was wonderful, My favorites were the home made yogurt and fresh baked scones. A very relaxing place to stay. Many wonderful touches made it feel very welcoming.

Room Tip: with only 5 rooms be sure to check on line which one suits your needs. We were in the wilderness sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara_Renner, Owner at Paintbox Lodge, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Our lobby is pretty cozy and glad you found your spot in front of the fire place. Our location is perfect for exploring downtown Canmore. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High River, Alberta, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I attended a fabulous cooking evening with my good girlfriend on a Friday night and stayed at the lodge to go on a great shopping day with out our husbands the next day--(great boutiques in Canmore)The lodge was awesome and was like being a member of the family--not only to staff but other travellers--The room was huge and quaint! Only had issues with the fireplace staying lit?? would happily go back and have another cooking class and retreat!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara_Renner, Owner at Paintbox Lodge, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay and Cooking Class @ The BOX. Chef George does a great job and please do come back for another class. We will make sure the fireplace stays lit too! Gratitude for your business and taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The Paintbox Lodge was a wonderful place to stay over the weekend as we celebrated our daughter's wedding. We used one suite the morning of the wedding for the bride and her attendents to dress. Then later in the day the manager of the lodge was not the least bit bothered (or did not appear to be) when the whole of the wedding party arrived at the lodge after being rained out of our photoshoot. The loddge itself was a wonderful setting for the pictures.
We enjoyed very spacious and comfortable rooms and a nice breakfast. Coffee and some muffins were available during the day.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara_Renner, Owner at Paintbox Lodge, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Congratulations on your daughters wedding and we are happy you enjoyed the lodge. We specialize in small quiet season weddings. Wedding groups rent the entire lodge and included in the price is hosting onsite weddings and possible back up ceremony site (or photo shoot) in case of bad weather. We have space for up to 45 people. We would love to see some photos. Come visit us again for anniversary celebrations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.9 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
0.8 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
0.8 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
1,098 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#13 of 28 in Canmore
536 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paintbox Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paintbox Lodge

Property: Paintbox Lodge
Address: 629 10 St, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2A2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Paintbox Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paintbox Lodge is an intimate boutique hotel nestled in the heart of downtown Canmore owned by Olympic medalist, Sara Renner and World Cup Champion, Thomas Grandi. The Paintbox Lodge is a reflection of the local champions - relaxed, welcoming and professional. Experience one of our five unique, comfortable suites and rooms. Conversations flow easily around the harvest table while guests enjoy a complimentary mountain breakfast with a latte. Sign up for a scheduled cooking class, or book a private cooking class, harvest table dinner or tapas party for you and your friends and family. Come play, (or simply relax) in our backyard paradise. Gift certificates available for hotel stays and cooking classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Paintbox Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paintbox Hotel Canmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing