We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mini vacation ...”
Review of Paintbox Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canmore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Paintbox Lodge
Ranked #1 of 31 Canmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Very unique decor in each room, nice to have continental bfast and great atmosphere. Also good to borrow movies for the room. Appreciated Kate with her warm and friendly personality. Downtown, so you could walk around and check out all the sites, including the big screen TV outdoors to watch the 2014 winter Olympics.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara_Renner, Owner at Paintbox Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Glad you enjoyed our small movie library, breakfast and staff. We have a very limited cable selection. Since the Paintbox is located in the heart of downtown, there is always lots going on from our door step and we are happy you stumbled upon the amazing outdoor screen the town of canmore had for our winter carnival and olympic watching. Come back for the Cross Country Skiing and Biathlon World Cups in February 2016 for more outdoor big screen sporting action!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

We recently had a very small, winter wedding at the Paintbox Lodge in February. Throughout planning our wedding, the staff were a pleasure to work with and had a laid back approach that fit our style perfectly. Leading up to the wedding, the staff went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. The rooms were cozy and comfortable and the breakfast was amazing! We held our ceremony in their reception area, which gave us a warm, intimate atmosphere. The wedding dinner was delicious! Everyone is still talking about the food! We felt as though the staff were part of the family, and we are so happy we decided to have our wedding at the Paintbox Lodge. We will definitely be back for a visit as soon as we can! Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charity R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara_Renner, Owner at Paintbox Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Great. So pleased you had a great wedding. We specialize in small quiet season weddings and compliment the special occasion with food made with love. Come back for an anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My boyfriend and I decided to spend a couple of days out of the city so we booked reservations for one night in the Painter's Valley room in Paintbox Lodge. Located in downtown Canmore, Paintbox Lodge was in close proximity to restaurants, coffee shops, and even a pet emporium.

When we arrived, we were welcomed so warmly by the owner (Gini, I believe) and shown our room. The room was cozy, tidy, and exactly as pictured. The owner took the time to remember our names, making the experience so much more personable than what you would get at a motel. There was tea and coffee available all day at their coffee bar, as well a platter of homemade muffins that anyone could grab if they wanted. Breakfast the next day - incredible. Everything was homemade, the bread, the yogurt, the egg soufflé, the muffins. There was even a manual juice maker so that you could have freshly squeezed orange juice.

All in all - I definitely recommend Paintbox Lodge. We were treated so well and the owner was so accommodating. Although it is pricey, I think that is worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara_Renner, Owner at Paintbox Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for your review and we are thrilled you had a great stay. Gini is our assistant manager and our staff is so wonderful they care about the place and our guests as if they were owners. Thank you Gini and Kate! Come back again and remember that we have reduced midweek rates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

The Paintbox Lodge is located right off main street in Canmore. We parked our vehicle on Friday and did not use it until we left on Sunday morning. Just perfect!
Our room was cozy and clean. Breakfasts were fantastic! Loved the cooking class with Marianne Abraham on the Saturday night as well.
Staff were great, friendly, helpful and relaxed. It all added to the whole experience. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hgtrvlbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara_Renner, Owner at Paintbox Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Car free holidays are our idea ultimate travel experience and our central location makes it possible. Glad you enjoyed your holiday on foot and will be back for more. Spread the word and keep in mind we have complimentary town bikes when ski season is over.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We loved our stay at the Paintbox! The staff are incredible, the location is superb, the rooms are cozy and the kitchen is breath taking!
We felt right at home the second we arrived. Our favourite part: Eating breakfast (which was incredible BTW) in our socks because we were so settled in.
We highly recommend the Paintbox to anyone looking for a couples getaway or an awesome place to host event where you need a state of the art kitchen and an intimate atmosphere.
We will be back many many times!

Room Tip: It doesn't get better than the Loft!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara_Renner, Owner at Paintbox Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and feeling at home at the Paintbox. Our kitchen is the heart of the hotel and we have lot's of regularly scheduled cooking classes and private dining options. Glad to hear you will be back and will look out for your funky socks at breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

My wife and I had to go to the music store in downtown Canmore and thought we would make it a midweek two night getaway. After enjoying the hot springs in Banff and a short hike we went to the Lodge and were greeted by Kate who welcomed us although we were there an hour before check in. She told us what we needed to know about the lodge and informed us there was a cheese and cracker plate in the fridge which was a very nice touch. We stayed in the Painters Valley room which was clean and a nice size for us with a very comfortable bed. Kate and Gini made excellent breakfasts for us and made us feel very welcome. The Lodge is located in downtown and is only minutes away from several restaurants and lots of interesting stores. The walking trails in town are also quite ample. We asked Kate about hiking outside of Canmore and ended up going to Grassi Lakes which was about an hour hiking total. The lakes are small but very beautiful with the mountains on one side and the valley on the other. Our overall experience in Canmore was excellent and would definitely stay at The Paint Box Lodge again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara_Renner, Owner at Paintbox Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

We love our midweek quiet season getaways. Not only do our guest enjoy our midweek rates but we also provide a complimentary cheese platter for 2 night stays. Power to the people who can escape midweek!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Paintbox is the perfect blend of rustic that you would expect when choosing to stay in a "Logde", modern that lets you simply relax and not worry, and cozy with style. The deep bath tub was a unexpected and pleasant surprise that I enjoyed thoroughly with my cup of fresh tea from the main kitchen downstairs. The staff are genuine and obviously love the place, the owners are local, the included breakfast is home-made and excellent, and the efforts at sustainable and local sourcing are commendable. You are right around the corner from downtown Canmore and can walk anywhere in a minute or two.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara_Renner, Owner at Paintbox Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. All of our rooms have deep soaker tubs that our guests enjoy after a day of adventures in the mountains. Glad you enjoyed them, along with our location and breakfast. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.9 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
0.8 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
0.3 mi away
Georgetown Inn
Georgetown Inn
#8 of 28 in Canmore
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
1.4 mi away
A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn
1.4 mi away
Creekside Villa
Creekside Villa
#5 of 31 in Canmore
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paintbox Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paintbox Lodge

Address: 629 10 St, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2A2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Canmore
Price Range: £93 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paintbox Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paintbox Lodge is an intimate boutique hotel nestled in the heart of downtown Canmore owned by Olympic medalist, Sara Renner and World Cup Champion, Thomas Grandi. The Paintbox Lodge is a reflection of the local champions – relaxed, welcoming and professional. Experience one of our five unique, comfortable suites and rooms. Conversations flow easily around the harvest table while guests enjoy a complimentary mountain breakfast with a latte. Sign up for a scheduled cooking class, or book a private cooking class, harvest table dinner or tapas party for you and your friends and family. Come play, (or simply relax) in our backyard paradise. Gift certificates available for hotel stays and cooking classes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Paintbox Hotel Canmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing