We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous experience!”
Review of Paintbox Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paintbox Lodge
Ranked #1 of 31 Canmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
SWIFT CURRENT
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fabulous experience!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Everything about this place was great. I could go downstairs in the morning with the scent of a warm and wholesome breakfast awaiting me. Rooms were lovely, beds comfortable. Location is great too as I could walk about the downtown area and enjoy the culture of the community. Staff were all knowledgeable and friendly, my room well kept. Price was a little out of my budget but the accommodations were worth it considering I stayed at another hotel down the road for a night due to no vacancies at the Paintbox Lodge for one of the nights I was in Canmore and that place was disgusting. If I am back in Canmore I will always call them for a room first! 5 stars!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara_Renner, Owner at Paintbox Lodge, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you for writing a view and glad you enjoyed your stay. For great value, consider coming back in the midweek, quiet season when our rates are discounted by more than 25%.

Midweek Quiet Season:
October 13, 2014-December 18, 2014.
January 4th, 2015-May 14, 2015.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    19
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
60
126
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Prestbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Lovely friendly stay in a wonderful suite and love the environmentally conscious delivery. It was top quality and a great start to our trip in Western Canada. The home baked bread and muffins for breakfast were special.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara_Renner, Owner at Paintbox Lodge, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Glad you loved our simple breakfast. One of our cooking classes is a sourdough bread baking class with Aviv from the Sidewalk Citizen Bakery. We bake homemade sourdough for our guests and we think it is the best bread in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, OH
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Canmore is a little town outside Banff and a wonderful place to stay if you want the mountains but not the people. Paintbox Lodge sits in the heart of Canmore with all the town's amenities well within walking distance. The rooms are large, comfortable and tastefully decorated. Comfortable beds, modern bathrooms and super staff. Breakfast was amazing and I loved smelling the fresh baked goods and egg dishes in the morning. Kate was our hostess and she did everything possible to make our stay a pleasant. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Artist's Loft. This room had two bedrooms, one bathroom and gas log fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara_Renner, Owner at Paintbox Lodge, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you for your review and letting passing your first hand experience to other travellers. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I looked for weeks to find a quaint place to stay in Canmore/Banff area that was not too expensive & not a chain. The most important factor for us was that we didn't want to feel like a number or that our only personal space was our room.Thanks to a lengthily search on TripAdvisor I booked Paintbox Lodge.
We arrived after 5pm so had to call to receive the code for the front door.
*note: it is not clear where to park or locate the main door from the street so keep an eye out for their sign. Also, research beforehand on where to eat & what to do in Canmore. We did not find any literature on this in the room or at the desk.
Grateful to have a hot breakfast waiting in the kitchen-- didn't realize that we should have noted our allergies (nuts & gluten). This meant we were limited to eggs/coffee each day.
Overall we had a great stay.
We would happily make Paintbox Lodge our first choice in an upcoming stay if we ever get the chance to visit Canmore again!

Room Tip: A larger room isn't "more" here as even the smallest room has everything you would nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mildjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara_Renner, Owner at Paintbox Lodge, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review and we always appreciate our guests suggestions to be improve. When you come back, we promise to have added your recommendations to enhance all of our guests experience.

We have gluten free bread and home made gluten free muffins available on request. All of our homemade baking is done with Highwood Crossings products which is a local organic non-GMO farm. Our house made granola is made with Highwood Crossing oats which contain gliadin (a protein that contributes to the formation of gluten). According to Highwood Crossing, they have many clients with gluten-sensitivities who are able to enjoy the oats and we have found that our guests with gluten sensitivities have tolerated our granola. However, we always recommend that you conduct you own trials to determine what foods are right for your specific condition and diet.
We recommend our guests let us know their dietary restrictions in advance and in the future, will add this request to our our booking form to ensure all our guests are well fed.

When you return, look forward to our room information sheet which a local graphic designer student is working on. Included will be all our favorite places to eat and things to do in the Bow Valley.

The Paintbox Lodge is a small hotel and our staff is not onsite 24 hours a day. For guests arriving after 5pm, we make special self check in arrangements. If staff has stepped out, we encourage our guests to call us as staff is always happy to help with any questions or concerns you may have.

We look forward to your return and again, thank you for helping us be better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This boutique hotel is a hidden gem. The location was perfect! We rented out the entire hotel for an office retreat and I can't say enough about our experience. The hotel was a perfect setting for the mountains, the staff was awesome and our overall experience was excellent. We did the Mercato Kitchen Party Cooking Class in the hotel kitchen and it was the perfect - highly recommend. The hotel also offers on-site parking, bikes for guests and is less than 1 block from main street (great shopping) and a walk way along the water. Our staff also included breakfast and it was amazing! We can't wait to stay here again!

Room Tip: I got to look at all the rooms and they were all great. The main floor bedroom would be perfect for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara_Renner, Owner at Paintbox Lodge, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Glad the Paintbox was the perfect fit for your office retreat. Our lodge is perfect for private bookings for 5-18 people and private cooking classes add an interactive and fun addition to our guests stay.Thank you for spreadiong the word!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Spent a night in this amazing lodge on my bicycle ride across Canada. Gini and Kate were super nice, so helpful and made an amazing breakfast. I wish i had a chance to meet the owners who are from what i hear are extraordinary individuals. Great location with anything you need within walking distance. I can't say enough good things about my experience there. I will return when my ride is complete while vacationing in the beautiful town of Canmore! Thanks for everything guys!
Chris

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara_Renner, Owner at Paintbox Lodge, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Good luck with the rest of your cycling across Canada Chris. We are happy you loved our lodge and our staff and look forward to going for a spin with you when you roll back into town again. Happy trails!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Paintbox Lodge was an amazing spot, the staff all very helpful and friendly , the rooms are very unique and cozy , the beds are extremely comfortable. Very rustic little place. We stayed for the weekend, and added the cooking class "Battle Abbey" to our stay, it was a fab experience ! The chef was excellent and the food !! The breakfast was also very delicious with so many choices and all homemade the sourdough bread was soooo good !! The Paintbox Lodge is great for a romantic getaway , girls trip or family trip ! I can't wait to go back !!

Room Tip: We had Suite One that opened up to the garden and had wooden swings and fire pit
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mellanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara_Renner, Owner at Paintbox Lodge, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Glad to share our little hotel with your girls getaway. Cooking Classes are a great outing and a great way to enjoy the flavour of our community. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.9 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
0.8 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
0.8 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
1,098 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#14 of 28 in Canmore
535 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paintbox Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paintbox Lodge

Property: Paintbox Lodge
Address: 629 10 St, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2A2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Paintbox Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paintbox Lodge is an intimate boutique hotel nestled in the heart of downtown Canmore owned by Olympic medalist, Sara Renner and World Cup Champion, Thomas Grandi. The Paintbox Lodge is a reflection of the local champions - relaxed, welcoming and professional. Experience one of our five unique, comfortable suites and rooms. Conversations flow easily around the harvest table while guests enjoy a complimentary mountain breakfast with a latte. Sign up for a scheduled cooking class, or book a private cooking class, harvest table dinner or tapas party for you and your friends and family. Come play, (or simply relax) in our backyard paradise. Gift certificates available for hotel stays and cooking classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Paintbox Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paintbox Hotel Canmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing