We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Paintbox Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paintbox Lodge
Ranked #2 of 31 Canmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on our honeymoon in 2007 and loved it then so came back this year for our anniversary. What a delightful place! Made good use of the complimentary town bikes and espresso machine! We stayed in the studio suite which is quite small but still very adequate and comfortable. If staying for more than 1 or 2 nights I would recommend a suite other than the studio. The breakfast in the morning was gourmet and delicious! This Inn is very close to everything downtown. The only perceivable downfall to this place is the lack of mountain views as it is downtown. I would highly recommend this place if you're coming to the Rockies!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank shiveringcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara_Renner, Owner at Paintbox Lodge, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Glad you enjoyed the new additions of town bikes and our Miele coffee machine. The Studio and Painter Valley Rooms are our smallest suite and we have 3 larger suites for those who need more room or groups travelling with more than two. Being nestled in the heart of downtown, we do have an urban mountain view. As you discovered, our complimentary town bikes can take our intrepid adventurers to places where the scenery will knock your socks off! Hope to see you back for more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    17
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
53
119
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Blissfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed here for our honeymoon in July/Aug 2014. We had a wonderful experience and enjoyed the beautiful room and great customer service. We stayed in the artist suite which has a balcony over the front yard.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara_Renner, Owner at Paintbox Lodge, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
The Artist's Loft is our recommended room for a romantic evening and honeymoons. Fireplace, balcony and cozy bed. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we see you again for anniversaries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I book The Paint Box for its location and size. I was very pleased with all it had to offer. The staff is warm and welcoming and very helpful. The rooms were spacious and clean the bed cozy and comfortable. The breakfast was abundant and delicious. The quiche was lite and fluffy, fresh sour dough bread hot and tangy, muffins deliciously warm and varied in flavours from coconut to pumpkin, fresh squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit, homemade yogurt, coffee, tea fresh and aromatic a great way to start your day of hiking, shopping, biking, photography and adventures. Then complete your day with a peaceful retreat to rest and rejuvenate for your next journey. Don't forget to visit the artist in the area there are many talented artists. I had not been to this part of Canada before it is stunningly beautiful and well located to visit Banff National Park.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara_Renner, Owner at Paintbox Lodge, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Your description of your stay sounded very delicious, restful and inspiring. Wonderful. So glad we could help you enjoy this special part of the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We attended a cooking class as a corporate event. The group really enjoyed the afternoon; Chef George and Kate made us feel at home, they were so knowledgeable and friendly. Our food was AMAZING!!! We were all extremely satisfied with the experience. We would do it again.

A comment that was made by a few of the group members: it might have been nice to learn a little more about "how" to cook some of these dishes, rather than just watch and talk. Some of us were less experienced in the kitchen and were hoping for a big more instruction, even if we were not doing the cooking. Talking about which pan to use, why; how much product to put in the pan so not to overload; how long to cook and how to tell when it's done, etc. Just some constructive feedback. Still, the afternoon was very enjoyable.

THANKS!!! :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara_Renner, Owner at Paintbox Lodge, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Private Cooking Classes are a fun corporate event. Glad you enjoyed the food and the company. Thank you for the feedback and I will pass along your suggestions to Chef George. Our cooking classes are demonstration style. We encourage our chefs to read the crowd and balance groups who want formal instruction versus groups who want watch and socialize amongst each other. Based on your feedback, we will be sure to encourage our participants to let us know what kind of class they want at the beginning of class. Thank you again for taking the time to make us better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

The Paintbox Lodge was everything we hoped for and more! We stayed in the Cabin Suite. The room is spacious, the bed very comfortable and it opens to a garden. After a close walk to town or a hike in the mountains, it was wonderful to come back to the comfort of the lodge. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the complementary morning breakfast was wholesome and delicious and the cooking class was a definite highlight! Another must: enjoy their bikes and tour the many paths around Canmore. This place was hard to leave, I will definitely stay at The Paintbox Lodge again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara_Renner, Owner at Paintbox Lodge, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Glad you discovered our cooking classes and enjoyed cruising on our complimentary bikes. Our quiet season midweek accommodation rates start on October 13th and cooking classes are also discounted 25% during our midweek quiet season. A little more incentive to come visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Beautiful quaint lodge that includes a homemade healthy breakfast & bikes. The owners and employees made us feel at home and the location was fantastic. Located in the heart of Canmore, we could bike to a trail, spend a couple of hours hiking, then walk into town for dinner. Loved every moment and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara_Renner, Owner at Paintbox Lodge, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your review. The Paintbox location is amazing. From our doorstep, our guests can experience Canmore's best restaurants and shopping and also escape to nature on the river path. Also, glad you enjoyed our simple breakfast too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed every moment we spent at the Paintbox! It was my third time enjoying their delicious cooking class and second time staying over night. It's always a friendly atmosphere whether you are checking in or sitting eating your breakfast. The classes are wonderful! The morning breakfast is fresh and also tastes amazing. Our suite was rustic, comfortable and lovely for a getaway in the mountains. I would recommend the Paintbox to anyone!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara_Renner, Owner at Paintbox Lodge, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Glad you enjoyed our cooking classes and our small hotel. We love hosting cooking classes with chef's from the valley and beyond. It is an nice way to get the flavor of the community. Looking forward to seeing you again! And thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.9 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
0.8 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
0.3 mi away
Georgetown Inn
Georgetown Inn
#9 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pocaterra Inn
5.4 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paintbox Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paintbox Lodge

Property: Paintbox Lodge
Address: 629 10 St, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2A2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Paintbox Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paintbox Lodge is an intimate boutique hotel nestled in the heart of downtown Canmore owned by Olympic medalist, Sara Renner and World Cup Champion, Thomas Grandi. The Paintbox Lodge is a reflection of the local champions - relaxed, welcoming and professional. Experience one of our five unique, comfortable suites and rooms. Conversations flow easily around the harvest table while guests enjoy a complimentary mountain breakfast with a latte. Sign up for a scheduled cooking class, or book a private cooking class, harvest table dinner or tapas party for you and your friends and family. Come play, (or simply relax) in our backyard paradise. Gift certificates available for hotel stays and cooking classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Paintbox Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paintbox Hotel Canmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing