We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big disappointment”
Review of Hostel Bear

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostel Bear
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Big disappointment”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I don't like liars. Website advertised a free breakfast (toast/waffles) and 24 hour coffee available. There was neither of these things. Girl at reception rudely said they hadn't done the breakfast in months and seemed annoyed that I had even asked.

This hostel is average in a lot of ways (hot sweaty rooms at night, loud noises from the train at all hours, a bar that never opened over an entire weekend) I don't understand how hard is it to update your website to give accurate information? Will not return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kellie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    50
    32
    24
    19
See reviews for
17
26
40
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

They gave away our booking even though we arrived at 5pm. They had another room but in a 10 bed dorm. Dirty and very hot (30 deg) there is a rain line outside with train passing all night. When mentioned to the staff the next day they could not care less about any of our issues. Not a place I will recommend or stay at again.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 80jimbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Canmore hotels

Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Flat out one of the worst hostels I have ever stayed in. First of all argued with me about my reservation and wanted to charge more than booking price, The location backs onto a freight rail line along which long trains thunder and rattle all throughout the night, general room cleanliness is appalling and the horrific lack of appropriate climate control in the rooms (WAY too hot, in the order of 30+ degrees celsius) made it impossible to sleep. Requests to reduce the temperature were met with rude denials by staff. If you're considering staying here, just.....don't. You will regret it sorely.

Room Tip: Don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lachlan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Hostel Bear with my boyfriend and I was completely unimpressed. The private room we booked filthy--garbage wrappers on the floor in plain site and dirt and dust everywhere else. I also found the morning manager to be incredibly rude and I got a bad impression when the evening staff complained about the pour management of the facility to me. The room was also incredibly loud, however most of that noise was due to a passing train that rumbles by once an hour.

The rooms here are cheap and it shows. If you are ok with dirty, loud, and rude management the Hostel Bear would be ok to book. To give the hostel credit, there is a nice kitchen and the rooms are big and comfortable.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Chelsea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Wonderful Hostel Experience. Had a private room. Large, coolest and biggest bunk beds ever. Clean, friendly staff. Fun and interesting people staying there. First time at a hostel. Large kitchen, easy to follow system. Rules clearly posted.

Room Tip: Pick a single private room if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airdrie, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I stayed there for one night with my boyfriend and it was pretty good, the staff was nice and helpful and the location is good. And our room was good too, comfy beds and clean. The only thing that I didn't like was that there was no breakfast, never had that in a hostel before, but apart from that everything was great!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeyC1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nordegg
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We were pretty excited to stay in The Hostel Bear because how nice it looked, the price, and the decent reviews. My husband had stayed there a couple years ago during high season and said it was great. This time however we were pretty disappointed. The room was great, we stayed in a private room with our friends and it was really nice to have space and a private bathroom, even though the temperature in the room was through the roof over night (we just opened the window and let some of the snowy air in). We expected to have the bar open - seeing as it was a Saturday night - but unfortunately it was closed, and there was no real notice of the fact that it's only open if they have the licensed staff (which makes sense, but we were definitely anticipating having a few drinks and not having to worry about driving home!). The common areas were nice, but they seemed to be doing renos and it was a little untidy in certain areas. Lastly, the kitchen was great and fully equipped, but we were greatly disappointed when we didn't get our complimentary breakfast of waffles. We were really bummed out, especially because it clearly states on the website that it was included. Needless to say, we had a good and comfortable stay, but we had misguided expectations based on the website.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicBarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.7 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
0.6 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
0.3 mi away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#16 of 29 in Canmore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#13 of 29 in Canmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.0 mi away
Georgetown Inn
Georgetown Inn
#9 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Bear

Property: Hostel Bear
Address: 1002 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N6, Canada (Formerly "Bear Country Lodge")
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Bear 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canmore’s newest hostel! Conveniently located one block from downtown Canmore. The Hostel Bear sleeps 170 guests. The spacious dorm rooms sleep 4-10 guests, with privacy curtains and night lights on each bunk, in addition each room has its own an en suite. Private rooms are also available. Amenities include large fully equipped kitchen, free wireless access and a large common lounge. Our friendly, helpful staff are here 24 hours a day to ensure your stay exceeds expectations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hostel Bear reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Bear Hotel Canmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing