We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hostel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Bear

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Bear
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average Hostel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Location is good (if you don't mind the noise from the highway and the train) as well as the common areas. Everything else is really average. Cleanliness, staff and so on. The front desk staff is very often not at the front desk which is annoying if you have questions. The rooms would be quite nice, but the beds are definitely quite uncomfortable. Overall: expensive place for what you get.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank sandrostr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    48
    32
    24
    19
See reviews for
17
26
38
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Othis, France
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Hot rooms. Staff was nice. Weird that bathroom didnt have a lock. 10 minute walk from downtown. Nice big kitchen to cook your meals at. Hostel seemed nicer looking at the name, than it actually was. But it was a good&cheap place to stay at when visiting Canmore and recommend others to do that.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Not_Important1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

This hostel has a great common area, but the rooms were tiny, the top bunks dangerous (splinters and danger of falling), the key cards weren't working, we couldn't use their PC, the reading lights weren't working... cleanliness was average. Noisy as it is located between highway 1a and the train line. Not coming back for 35$!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Samtpfoetchen88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Canmore hotels

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I've been to Hostel's all over the world and by far the Hostel Bear in Canmore Alberta is the best! The staff and the guests are all amazing..very clean and tidy plus the location is perfect! I love this place and will return again and again

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Yesterday was my food is gone in the fridge.
My food is was abandoned into the trash.
(Milk, orange juice, eggs, cheese, Cola)
because don't written the check-out date.
so I again buy shopping and wrote check-out date.
but in the morning my new products was abandoned.
(breads. mayonnaise. Ketchup. olive oil. Peanut butter, corn flakes)
staff said looking for your food in the free share corner,
but just i find peanut Butter, It was used.
but i don't find ketchup and olive oil. it is new product!!!!
It keep staff? or garbage?
I can not understand.
Do you understand?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 경화 성
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barriere, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed here for one night on my way through from BC to Alberta and found it pleasant. Nice log decor, black leather couches in common room, key card access to rooms, full ensuite bathrooms with a shower/tub in each room, and decently sized kitchen and eating area with lots of fridge space, and helpful staff. Oh, and the internet was fast! The $35/night is a bit expensive for a six bed dorm, but it's still a heck of a lot cheaper than anything else you'd find in Canmore. There are curtains on the lower bunks for privacy, but no ladders to get up to the top bunk, so be prepared to climb! A convenience store and fast food is nearby, a grocery store within about a 15 minute walk, as well as other amenities. As others have mentioned, the train tracks are right behind the building, but the trains go slowly and don't blow their horn, so it's just the rumble you have to put up with, which didn't bother me too much. Glad to have a budget option in Canmore, and would stay again! :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Decent value for the cost.. Staff are helpful, lots of potential for better service with more help.. A great location to explore the national and provincial parks in the area. The county parks have the best amenities and access to wildlife.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.7 mi away
StoneRidge Mountain Resort
0.6 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
0.0 mi away
Georgetown Inn
Georgetown Inn
#8 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#16 of 29 in Canmore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pocaterra Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Bear

Property: Hostel Bear
Address: 1002 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N6, Canada (Formerly "Bear Country Lodge")
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Bear 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canmore’s newest hostel! Conveniently located one block from downtown Canmore. The Hostel Bear sleeps 170 guests. The spacious dorm rooms sleep 4-10 guests, with privacy curtains and night lights on each bunk, in addition each room has its own an en suite. Private rooms are also available. Amenities include large fully equipped kitchen, free wireless access and a large common lounge. Our friendly, helpful staff are here 24 hours a day to ensure your stay exceeds expectations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Bear reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Bear Hotel Canmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing