We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marra's Way Sushi

Marra's Way Sushi
Ranked #75 of 119 Restaurants in Canmore
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dartmouth, Canada
2 reviews
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We went here during a girls trip away - they had a great special on for all you can eat sushi. The place was packed with locals - a good sign everyone loves it. A must is to try the Ahi Poke roll - awesome! The staff were busy but so friendly and encouraged us to take our time and enjoy! We went back a couple of times it was so great!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MargieB43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    17
    10
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The worst sushi place in Canmore”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

I don't understand why people say this is the best sushi. They must never had any sushi before. The quality is very poor, no rice on tiny roll sushi and fishy(=possibly old). If you eat their sushi without dipping tons of soy sauce, you can tell how bad they are. Even their marinated sushi was fishy to me.
Also the head chef had no idea about what "gluten free" was. My friend had a gluten allergy, but they don't carry real gluten free soy and served different product which is not supposed to be used for gluten free.
If you want to get full at this place, you have to spend at least $30 with poor quality sushi. Felt like I was in IKEA kitchen too.
Can't recommend this place to my family and friends. Will never go back!

Helpful?
1 Thank Loco T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fast, Friendly, Affordable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

A great fresh, fast and friendly stop. Eating in or taking out is so easy. The owner operators are so consistently friendly and appreciative.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 842Paula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Will become regulars here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

Nice atmosphere, casual, friendly, clean. Food is ready made, or you can order from the menu, which is what we prefer. Sushi tastes very, very good here. And the chicken teriyaki and tofu teriyaki - best I've had in quite a long time. For $5.99, it's actually a good helping of chicken with some vegetables. Service is friendly.

I've been to Chef's Studio Japan in Canmore and Sushi House in Banff (the one with the train) many times, and both places are very good and I recommend them, but Marra's Way Sushi is becoming a favourite for it's reasonable pricing, varied selection and enjoyable food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cherie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Satisfied bellies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Went for lunch and sushi was freshly made. Like that you can eat right away since you go grab your own pre made plates of various sushi and can also order from the the menu. They have highchairs for small children too. Not everything on the menu was out for selection but you can order it. Mostly maki rolls, and no sashimi that I saw. Liked that the rolls were sparing with the sushi rice. Spent $30 for two adults and we were stuffed!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ceci_L707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marra's Way Sushi also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Marra's Way Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing