We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only one word....WOW!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 31 Canmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
2 reviews
“Only one word....WOW!”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We just returned from a stay at A Bear and Bison Inn. This is our third time there and each time we walk away only being able to say, Wow! The staff is outstanding, the breakfasts are delicious, and the atmosphere is tough to beat. We came home completely relaxed and revived and planning our next stay out there. Thank you Lonny, Dave, Marc and the rest of the staff for such a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainlifeCanmore, Guest Relations Manager at A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Thanks for writing such a nice comment, and the great feedback!
We really do treasure our guests who keep returning!
I think thats the highest form of a compliment!
See you next time!
Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    27
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
79
131
9
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
148 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This B and B was OK, but not what we were lead to believe on the website. It is on a main road with a sidewalk right in front. The view on the website is taken from across the street with a berm obstructing the roadway making it look like you are in the wilderness...a bit cheeky in my option. There is another B and B next door on one side and a restaurant,The Iron Goat, on the other. Just a heads up.
We stayed in room 8 and we were extremely disappointed with it. It looks like it needs a reno. The couch, which was suppose to be where our 12 year old was to sleep was broken. We were warned on check in that it was difficult to open, but we weren't prepared for what we got. The sofa bead was tilted and clearly not closed properly when we checked in. It was uncomfortable to sit on so we opened it. Problem was the bed opens up and actually touches the main 4 poster bed, so you had to climb over the beds every time you wanted to get to the door or the bathroom. Very strange set up. The bed doesn't lie flat, so your head is lower than your feet, noticeably so, with a big lump in the middle. Our daughter, who can sleep most anywhere, barely slept at all. Not much we could do about it as there is no staff at the hotel in the evening and were told to only call in an emergency. We could have used more blankets and pillows.
As well, you can hear the tub jets from the adjoining room and the plumbing during the night with the flush of the toilets. I barely slept myself. The floor was very cold...we later found out that room 8 is the only one without carpeting. A heads up would have been nice so we could have brought slippers.
On the positive side the main front room was well decorated with an amazing vista, the staff were friendly and the breakfast was tasty.

I would highly suggest getting rid of your wicker charger plates that are huge and make eating difficult as you can't get close enough to your plate. The larger plate doesn't sit in the charger 'bowl' properly as its the wrong size. My egg which was runny, dripped into the charger plate. Even the waiter was struggling to get the plates out of the charger 'basket'.

After staying at 2 other lovely B and B's in Canmore, we were all disappointed with this one.

Room Tip: Avoid the Garden Spa family room if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindiana49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainlifeCanmore, Owner at A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments! We always appreciate feedback from our guests!
We are glad you enjoyed the views from our Property, we are also glad you found our staff to be friendly, and breakfast to be tasty! We find your comment well timed as we are in the process of just finishing a room upgrade to flooring and some furnishings etc so it will be straight forward to remedy all of your concerns!
It is great to have guest opinions as another set of eyes, so to speak!, We will have all of things you pionted out,corrected corrected with in the near future.
We look forward to your next visit! Best regards lLonny Middleton chef/owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I have stayed in the Bed and Breakfast twice, each for a long weekend with a group of colleagues. Both times the service was impeccable, the food was delicious, and the atmosphere was totally relaxed. The rooms are very romantic and unbelievable comfortable. Having stayed upstairs and downstairs, I can recommend staying downstairs as it is quite a bit quieter. Downstairs is also closer to the hot tub, and I especially love the hot tub! It's a great way to soothe the muscles after skiing.

Room Tip: Stay downstairs as upstairs is noisier and a little too warm
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LLamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canmore, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 13 December 2013

My sister and I had the privilege of staying at the Inn in November for our first time!
We had never stayed at an Inn before but had always wanted to and with the Bear and Bison being so close to home, with all the great reviews , we jumped at the opportunity!
When we arrived, we were greeted with warm smiles and kind words, Marc made us feel as though we were visiting with friends!
We had a room on the lower level that was warmly lit and beautifully decorated, the Jacuzzi tub was singing our names as soon as we walked in. We had added a cheese & fruit platter with a bottle of wine to our reservation at booking, the cheese tray was more than we could have expected, complete with house made chocolate/ peanut butter fudge! and the wine was already chilling on ice. They even went the extra mile and gave us robes! Talk about feeling like queens!
We were quick to pour a glass and head for a soak in the outdoor hot tub with a beautiful snowy view of the three sisters!
Wonderfully relaxing experience, even for just one night.
The breakfast in the morning was to die for and sooooo much food! We chose the room service option and upon delivery, Leanne was great to tell us exactly what we would be enjoying for breakfast. I found my self trying to duplicate the magic on my own, lets just say its always better when someone else makes it for you ;)
At checkout, we had the privilege of chatting with the owner, Lonny ( who you can tell prides himself on making sure each guest has had the best possible experience at the Inn!) He was so easy to talk too and again made it feel as though we had been staying with friends. I was ready to move in!

The reviews don't lie people! Such a stellar experience, I hope to re live time and time again!
Thank you Bear & Bison family,
The two sisters of Canmore ;)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We spent two nights with breakfast at the gorgeous Bear and Bison Country Inn in Canmore. What a place! We weren't sure we would be able to squeeze in the time away during a busy year, but we are so glad we did. We received absolutely first-class hospitality from start to finish, and we were so impressed with the many fine details of the place, the quality of the food and the breathtaking view.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Middlemarch2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This review is long over due. We were married in late July a month after the flooding. With no road in front of the Bear and Bison we were greatly concerned that we would not have a place to stay for our wedding weekend. We had guests coming from as far as Texas and it was planned in 6 weeks so rescheduling was not an option. We walked into a facility that still had no main water. 3hrs after arriving we got the word the water was on and the facility was 100% back in action (short of missing the roads and the front landscaping). The staff were confident that they would make our day special, but they did more than that. They made the weekend unforgettable for all of our guests and their service was impecable. You did not see anyone until the moment you needed something and then they were there to help with whatever we needed. The food was amazing, the bar tending was unmatched. Mountie Marc you rock…. He will get that joke.

We were married off site and when we returned to the Inn our room had been cleaned again. Something minor that made such a impression-the last thought on your mind when leaving for your wedding ceremony is picking up your clothes, etc. in the room yet it was so nice to come back to have the room tidy, clothes folded, bathroom straightened, etc. All the little details, (like remembering the bride's favorite drink and bringing it up while she was getting ready to calm her nerves - thanks Jessica) that they put into taking care of you that makes it such a special place.

When we booked our wedding we did not care that we had the whole facility to ourselves yet once we got there we could not imagine sharing this place with anyone else. Having the place to yourself and sharing in the memories with those closest to you is what truly makes the Bear and Bison Inn an amazing place to stay. If you are fortunate enough to go and have Jessica take care of you and Marc keep your cup full, you will have an amazing time. One you are soon not to forget.
A huge thank you to all the staff for making our wedding amazing in light of the tough times they were facing. Without all of you our day would not have been as special as it was.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainlifeCanmore, Owner at A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Thanks so much for your comments! I will pass them along to all mentioned!
We do pride ourselves on making every wedding perfect! The challenges leading up to yours, were really a huge challenge!
To bring readers up to speed~ the month before this wedding arrived, Our area experienced huge flooding, (once in 300 year flood) although the Inn was untouched, we did lose road access and all utilities for 3 weeks, as well as some landscaping damage.
through huges efforts by everyone involved, we reopened after being closed for 3 weeks,
It does my heart good, to hear from you that you had a great time! Thank you very much!
I would like to thank you for supporting our business especially during sucha difficult time!
I would also like to thank all of my staff at A Bear and Bison Inn, who really pulled out all the stops to minimize the impact on our guests!
Lonny Middleton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This was a perfect spot for our work retreat. We had 8 people but it could easily work for a larger group. The rooms were nice, it had a great atmosphere and the food was outstanding. Great view and very cozy.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whipper12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainlifeCanmore, Guest Relations Manager at A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for your great comments! You bring up some great pionts!
Our food is something we work really hard at, and we sure apprecaite your feedback,
I will tell the the chef to keep it up!
You are also right about being able to host larger than 8 person conferences,
We host all kind of intimate conferences up to 20 persons, and we know it's all about the food!!! Thanks again for taking the time to write such nice comments about your experience here! Other Trip advisor guests realy apprecaite it and so do we!!!
Marc Melansen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.7 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
0.7 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
4.3 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Georgetown Inn
Georgetown Inn
#9 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
0.6 mi away
Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn

Property: A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn
Address: 705 Benchlands Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3G9, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by mountains this Bed & Breakfast style Inn is owner operated since 2002 by professional chef Lonny. All guest rooms have been designed for your comfort. 4 poster beds and jacuzzi tubs with views of the rocky mountains from either your balcony or patio. The Inn serves a 3 course breakfast with its B&B rates, you will not want to miss the food. Specialising in small group weddings (2 to 60 persons), the Inn has won awards for service and hospitality and local landscaping. Set below Lady Macdonald mountain in Canmore Alberta you can access hiking trail, mountain biking, cross country and downhill skiing within minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Bear And Bison Canadian Country Hotel Canmore
Country Inn Canmore
Canmore Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing