We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 31 Canmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“The Perfect Inn”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We loved our short stay at the Bear & Bison, the service and welcoming hospitality recieved was impecible. The decor is beautifully themed and you can't beat the view of the mountains. Anyone looking for quality should definitely visit this Inn, we highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmtucker89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    29
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
83
136
9
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, USA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We had the experience of a lifetime at A Bear & Bison. We held our wedding there in January, 2014 and it was truly magical. During the planning stages, Lonny always time to help me with planning the event and choices of service providers. We had very little involvement with Fiona until the day of the wedding. Wow, what a true professional. She made everything so comfortable and easy, and ran the entire evening without a hitch. We had 5 guests with very specific dietary needs, and every single one of them was served a special menu of passed hors d'oeuvres. All five of them went out of their way to thank us for the best treatment they had ever received. Did we mention that the food was out of this world (15 different passed hors d'oeuvres and 3 desserts). It just kept coming and by the 10th course people were full but just had to keep eating because it was all so exceptional. All of our friends from the US stayed at the Inn the night of the wedding and were blown away at how great it was. The views, the jacuzzi tubs in the rooms, the fireplaces in the rooms, and the delicious breakfast the next morning. My husband and I got the "munchies" at 1am in the hot tub, and we were served drinks and pizza in the hot tub. All we can say is Wow, Wow, Wow. Lonny and Fiona know their business and have turned their talents into an amazing wedding venue. We will continue to visit A Bear & Bison in years to come. We have stayed at numerous B&B's throughout Canada, and this place takes the prize. We actually received thank-you notes from our guests for being invited to the "best party they had ever been to". The dancing started as soon as the first keynote was struck and did not stop until our 3-piece ensemble stopped playing. Our friends are still talking about it. No words can adequately express our gratitude to Lonny & Fiona for making our wedding day so magical.

Room Tip: If you ever get the chance, you have just got to stay here. Great everything, from food to rooms to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BJDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We love the Bear and Bison, my family visits every year, last visit was for my sisters wedding, they did an amazing job, it was very well done, beautiful location, amazing food, the staff go above and beyond, would recommend to everyone, we wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaynjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

We were at the Bear and Bison for my son's wedding. The service was exceptional, the food unbelievable, and staff went above and beyond what was expected. If you are debating about booking here,
Just do it!! The rooms unique and the views perfect!
Highly recommended.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainlifeCanmore, Manager at A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn, responded to this review, 10 November 2014
Hi Cheryl,
Glad to hear everything went well for you're sons wedding, there are lots of choices for Banff-Canmore wedding, We are so happy they decided to Have Rocky Mountain wedding with us!
I hope they have many happy years together
Charlotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canmore, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Canmore has been my favorite destination for years and The Bear and Bison Inn is my absolute favorite place to find the comforts of home and a warm, inviting place to stay!
We have stayed at the Inn several times and never been disappointed, the staff are always wonderful and we really enjoy chatting with Lonny (the owner) every time we are there.
The breakfasts are to die for, and our favorite thing is being able to enjoy breakfast in our room as room service!
For location, in my opinion it doesn't get much better than this! If you're looking for a hotel in the wilderness then book one. As advertised, the Inn is in Canmore (not centrally located, but closer to a residential area) There is not much traffic around and you can still walk around the area and enjoy the scenery or to walk to nearby amenities.
We have stayed in several different rooms, so it is hard to pick a favorite but the beds have always been comfy, the rooms are spacious and clean. Needless to say, the views from the outdoor hot tub will not disappoint!

We recommend the Inn to everyone we know going to Canmore, and we will be back again soon!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scja8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We just returned from a stay at A Bear and Bison Inn. This is our third time there and each time we walk away only being able to say, Wow! The staff is outstanding, the breakfasts are delicious, and the atmosphere is tough to beat. We came home completely relaxed and revived and planning our next stay out there. Thank you Lonny, Dave, Marc and the rest of the staff for such a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainlifeCanmore, Guest Relations Manager at A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Thanks for writing such a nice comment, and the great feedback!
We really do treasure our guests who keep returning!
I think thats the highest form of a compliment!
See you next time!
Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This B and B was OK, but not what we were lead to believe on the website. It is on a main road with a sidewalk right in front. The view on the website is taken from across the street with a berm obstructing the roadway making it look like you are in the wilderness...a bit cheeky in my option. There is another B and B next door on one side and a restaurant,The Iron Goat, on the other. Just a heads up.
We stayed in room 8 and we were extremely disappointed with it. It looks like it needs a reno. The couch, which was suppose to be where our 12 year old was to sleep was broken. We were warned on check in that it was difficult to open, but we weren't prepared for what we got. The sofa bead was tilted and clearly not closed properly when we checked in. It was uncomfortable to sit on so we opened it. Problem was the bed opens up and actually touches the main 4 poster bed, so you had to climb over the beds every time you wanted to get to the door or the bathroom. Very strange set up. The bed doesn't lie flat, so your head is lower than your feet, noticeably so, with a big lump in the middle. Our daughter, who can sleep most anywhere, barely slept at all. Not much we could do about it as there is no staff at the hotel in the evening and were told to only call in an emergency. We could have used more blankets and pillows.
As well, you can hear the tub jets from the adjoining room and the plumbing during the night with the flush of the toilets. I barely slept myself. The floor was very cold...we later found out that room 8 is the only one without carpeting. A heads up would have been nice so we could have brought slippers.
On the positive side the main front room was well decorated with an amazing vista, the staff were friendly and the breakfast was tasty.

I would highly suggest getting rid of your wicker charger plates that are huge and make eating difficult as you can't get close enough to your plate. The larger plate doesn't sit in the charger 'bowl' properly as its the wrong size. My egg which was runny, dripped into the charger plate. Even the waiter was struggling to get the plates out of the charger 'basket'.

After staying at 2 other lovely B and B's in Canmore, we were all disappointed with this one.

Room Tip: Avoid the Garden Spa family room if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindiana49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainlifeCanmore, Owner at A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments! We always appreciate feedback from our guests!
We are glad you enjoyed the views from our Property, we are also glad you found our staff to be friendly, and breakfast to be tasty! We find your comment well timed as we are in the process of just finishing a room upgrade to flooring and some furnishings etc so it will be straight forward to remedy all of your concerns!
It is great to have guest opinions as another set of eyes, so to speak!, We will have all of things you pionted out,corrected corrected with in the near future.
We look forward to your next visit! Best regards lLonny Middleton chef/owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.7 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
0.7 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
4.3 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
1.0 mi away
Grande Rockies Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
1.0 mi away
Georgetown Inn
Georgetown Inn
#8 of 28 in Canmore
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn

Property: A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn
Address: 705 Benchlands Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3G9, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by mountains this Bed & Breakfast style Inn is owner operated since 2002 by professional chef Lonny. All guest rooms have been designed for your comfort. 4 poster beds and jacuzzi tubs with views of the rocky mountains from either your balcony or patio. The Inn serves a 3 course breakfast with its B&B rates, you will not want to miss the food. Specialising in small group weddings (2 to 60 persons), the Inn has won awards for service and hospitality and local landscaping. Set below Lady Macdonald mountain in Canmore Alberta you can access hiking trail, mountain biking, cross country and downhill skiing within minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Bear And Bison Canadian Country Hotel Canmore
Country Inn Canmore
Canmore Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing