We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 31 Canmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at the Inn with friends and family for our son's wedding. The experience was phenomenal. Beautiful location, outstanding food (Lonny is a superb chef!), and remarkable service that blew us away! The entire staff were friendly and bent over backwards to make the wedding events function perfectly. Charlotte and Marc are treasures. Lonny and his team gave us a first class weekend. Everyone from the bride and groom to our guests are already talking about going back! I highly recommend A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn for a small wedding, a family reunion, or just a weekend break. You will be made to feel special. We had 3 small children with us. It probably isn't the best place for a lot of little ones, but the staff were very patient and accommodating. Again, they went out of their way to manage our various needs.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    29
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
83
136
9
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed at A Bear and Bison for our wedding anniversary and had a wonderful time. By the time we checked out, we were already imagining renting out the full inn to bring back our friends and family.

Marc went above and beyond to make sure our stay was perfect. He helped resolve a booking issue via Priceline (I've now learned to book directly with the hotel) and was an impeccable host for our anniversary weekend.

Because of some construction noise, we were offered an upgrade to a quieter room. Both rooms we saw were lovely with 4 poster beds and big jacuzzi tubs. The common area was very comfortable and welcoming.

Breakfast was the high point of our stay. Both elegant and homey (we dined in our pajama pants), the food was delicious. Not too heavy but filling enough to fuel the rest of our day exploring the Canmore area.

We will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moose Jaw, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

After a long research process, I finally found a perfect second honeymoon mountain retreat in this Inn. Starting with the prompt reply to a query email to the owner Fiona it was a decision that I knew I found just the right place! It had everything I wanted going for it and it did not disappoint! From the second we walked into the place it was jaw-dropping perfect. We were met by Dave who was very welcoming and a fountain of information that we used to enhance our stay.

Being the time of year not being peak season, the first night we had the entire Inn to ourselves which was an added bonus! Absolute peace and quiet...even the second and third nights we stayed there where the inn was gradually getting more guests were very quiet and peaceful as well. The decor was excellent and perfect fore-drop for the fabulous views of the mountain backdrops! I can not possibly utter a bad thing about the place, the people (Dave and Marc), the room (VERY comfy...we stayed in their crown-jewel Room 3), the food...oh my goodness, the food...it was extremely GOOOOOD! Not your usual breakfast faire but a slight, way more interesting and tasty twist on them. Marc made sure he came out and described every course and made sure that we were enjoying it. What wasn't to like?? Everything was great! We will FOR SURE be going back...hopefully next time we will get to meet the owners Fiona and Lonny to tell them in person what a great place they have! Enjoyed every second of the experience...thank you!!!

Marc, who assisted us upon check out, was determined to give us a discount due to the heavy equipment construction of the water viaduct just across the street. It started up every morning at 7, but didn't bother us as we were waking up at that time anyway. I told him not to worry about it as it was out of their control but he insisted as they are committed to superior customer service! If that doesn't paint a picture of 5-star customer service, I don't know what would!! Not only a great chef, but a great ambassador to this wonderful Inn, and Canmore.

Room Tip: if you want the ultimate, I suggest their best...room 3!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TNT_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainlifeCanmore, Owner at A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice comment,
We try and please every guest, so we really appreciate the feed back when we do!
I am glad you enjoyed the food, we do try and do it a little differently, whilst remaining with the limits of what people normally want for breakfast!
Thanks for your understanding about flood reconstruction going on across the street,
They have been working very hard to get the task done by the end of this month!
So we are all holding our fingers, because, we all know how construction can be delayed,It does appear to be winding down, It will be nice not to worry about this years Spring flood season!
Thanks again for a great comment!
Lonny owner and chef,
But not chef for this comment,,,lol,we do have great staff too!!!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We chose to entrust our wedding in early January 2014 to Lonny and Fiona at A Bear and Bison. We were more than satisfied and happy to recommend them to anyone planning a wedding. We spent our honeymoon at a large resort elsewhere in the Rockies and though also a great experience, the service could not be compared. What you get at the Bear and Bison is a personal touch. Fiona and Lonny clearly genuinely care that your stay goes well and that everything is done to make it just what it should be. Perfect. If you would prefer to be served by a team of seasonal workers from across Canada, the UK and Australia who were frequently disinterested/hungover then the bigger resorts can help you with that and charge a lot more for the "privilege". If you want individual care and attention to detail then look no further.

We selected the option to have the silver service/cocktail style meal which worked out perfectly. Our evening moved smoothly from hot chocolate outside to champagne inside before the canapes and main meals started flowing. It sounded a bit unusual and our parents thought it sounded strange, but it really worked well and made for a fantastic relaxed atmosphere allowing my wife and I to spend time with each of our guests who had travelled from far and wide to see us. Lonny helpfully made up a pizza to entertain the 3 kids for which I understand their parents were very grateful!

We chose to eat with our family and closest friends who were staying at the Inn the night before the wedding as well and the food was also of a very high standard. This helped everyone to have plenty of time to get to know one another. It also gave us even more time to spend with family and friends we don't get to see enough of!

Our two breakfasts were great with free flowing coffee and great food. These sit down meals with everyone staying at the inn once again gave us more time to spend with our guests. Whilst on our honeymoon we shared the breakfast room with a wedding party all in little groups and no sign of the bride and groom, we were once again really glad we had chosen to stay at the B and B!

We had just 50 guests mainly due to travel and work restrictions of the non-canadian contingent. There was LOADS of space and many more could easily have been accommodated if they could have made it.

Canmore had comparatively little snow by the evening of the wedding however the temperature was comfortable and the setting still looked amazing. The surrounding area had plenty so we got some great winter pictures. It snowed heavily during dinner and our guests awoke to a winter wonderland the following day.

Our photographer has put some more photos on his website, feel free to take a look http://lukeliable.com/posts/?post_id=1622

Completely outside of anyone's control, there was still some construction work going on in cougar creek outside following the devastating floods of last June. This did not detract from the atmosphere and enjoyment of us or our guests. We continue to receive numerous e-mails proclaiming it the best wedding they’ve been to. Neither I nor my wife would argue. It was perfect.

We arranged most of the wedding very easily from a great distance via e-mail as I was still in the UK, with regular updates from the team at the B and B. Many thanks to Lonny, Fiona and the rest of the team, we look forward to visiting again in the future!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IJohnston2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We loved our short stay at the Bear & Bison, the service and welcoming hospitality recieved was impecible. The decor is beautifully themed and you can't beat the view of the mountains. Anyone looking for quality should definitely visit this Inn, we highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmtucker89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, USA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We had the experience of a lifetime at A Bear & Bison. We held our wedding there in January, 2014 and it was truly magical. During the planning stages, Lonny always time to help me with planning the event and choices of service providers. We had very little involvement with Fiona until the day of the wedding. Wow, what a true professional. She made everything so comfortable and easy, and ran the entire evening without a hitch. We had 5 guests with very specific dietary needs, and every single one of them was served a special menu of passed hors d'oeuvres. All five of them went out of their way to thank us for the best treatment they had ever received. Did we mention that the food was out of this world (15 different passed hors d'oeuvres and 3 desserts). It just kept coming and by the 10th course people were full but just had to keep eating because it was all so exceptional. All of our friends from the US stayed at the Inn the night of the wedding and were blown away at how great it was. The views, the jacuzzi tubs in the rooms, the fireplaces in the rooms, and the delicious breakfast the next morning. My husband and I got the "munchies" at 1am in the hot tub, and we were served drinks and pizza in the hot tub. All we can say is Wow, Wow, Wow. Lonny and Fiona know their business and have turned their talents into an amazing wedding venue. We will continue to visit A Bear & Bison in years to come. We have stayed at numerous B&B's throughout Canada, and this place takes the prize. We actually received thank-you notes from our guests for being invited to the "best party they had ever been to". The dancing started as soon as the first keynote was struck and did not stop until our 3-piece ensemble stopped playing. Our friends are still talking about it. No words can adequately express our gratitude to Lonny & Fiona for making our wedding day so magical.

Room Tip: If you ever get the chance, you have just got to stay here. Great everything, from food to rooms to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BJDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We love the Bear and Bison, my family visits every year, last visit was for my sisters wedding, they did an amazing job, it was very well done, beautiful location, amazing food, the staff go above and beyond, would recommend to everyone, we wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaynjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.7 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
0.7 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
4.3 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
1.0 mi away
Grande Rockies Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
1.0 mi away
Georgetown Inn
Georgetown Inn
#9 of 28 in Canmore
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn

Property: A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn
Address: 705 Benchlands Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3G9, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by mountains this Bed & Breakfast style Inn is owner operated since 2002 by professional chef Lonny. All guest rooms have been designed for your comfort. 4 poster beds and jacuzzi tubs with views of the rocky mountains from either your balcony or patio. The Inn serves a 3 course breakfast with its B&B rates, you will not want to miss the food. Specialising in small group weddings (2 to 60 persons), the Inn has won awards for service and hospitality and local landscaping. Set below Lady Macdonald mountain in Canmore Alberta you can access hiking trail, mountain biking, cross country and downhill skiing within minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Bear And Bison Canadian Country Hotel Canmore
Country Inn Canmore
Canmore Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing