We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In great need of maintenance and cleaning” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lodges at Canmore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lodges at Canmore
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“In great need of maintenance and cleaning”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We have stayed at the Lodges at Canmore twice. The first time was just OK as the two bedroom unit we had seemed a bit run down. We gave it another shot this summer and will NEVER stay there again.

We booked a two bedroom loft this time. The first thing we noticed was the general lack of maintenance in the halway of the third floor (we were in room 326) - it appeared as if luggage carts had been scraped into the walls and not repaired. We checked out our room and the carpet had numerous stains on it. That was not the worst part though - I thought it smelled like cats (my whole family has cat allergies) and my fear was confirmed when I saw the cat scratching post. We all became allergic and checked out early (we just stayed one night - we did ask to move, but they were fully booked) because of it. Why they would not warn guests of this is beyond me - it's not such a rare allergy that it needn't be mentioned.

To give an idea of how dirty the unit seemed, please see the attached picture of the fan blades - disgusting. Cat hair and dust all stuck to the edges - seriously gross. The wall beside the main floor bathroom had gouges in it that were partially repaired. The deck chairs in the tiny balcony have degraded to the point that the green plastic came off as a chalky substance when you sat on them - we had to put towels down first. No apparent pride of ownership.

I can't believe they can charge over $250 per night there.

When we left early, they were good enough not to assess a penalty and gave us a 15% discount because of the cat thing, but really I'm not happy that I paid anything for that stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya W, Manager at The Lodges at Canmore, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for your review Rob C, I am sad to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at The Lodges at Cannmore, and would like to apologize that you were in a pet friendly suite especially with all of your party having allergies to cats.
Regarding the maintenance of the unit, your comments have been passed onto our engineering department as we are currently going to be doing our annual deep cleans of the suites.

If you would like to speak to me personally concerning your past stay at The Lodges at Canmore I would be more than happy to talk to you.

Sincerely,
Tanya Whelan
Guest Services Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    119
    56
    26
    21
See reviews for
143
70
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on an RCI Timeshare exchange for 12 nights. We were allocated a good sized 2 bedded unit but it was very dark inside and we needed the lights on at all times of the day.

Having stayed in over 50 different resorts worldwide we were disappointed at the level of cleanliness and responses to our complaints. The windows were dirty inside and out but they then only cleaned the living room ones not bedrooms. The barbecue grill was filthy on arrival but that was sorted. The bedroom carpet only gets a perfunctory clean , there were bits of paper around the edges and quite a bit of general dust.

We were 2 glasses short but that report was not passed on till a week later. The mid stay clean only happened after it was requested twice. Initially we had to ask for extra toilet paper, there were no kitchen supplies till we reported it and they were never able to 'source' a single tea towel.

While the hot tub in our building was good, the jets do not work in the one next to the pool.

However the beds are comfy and there is ample hot water. The resort is handily placed to be able to walk along the pretty creek into town.

We will probably accept an exchange here next time we visit our family in Calgary but I wish we had the option to choose the unit.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cinn52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya W, Manager at The Lodges at Canmore, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for your review Cinn52, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at The Lodges at Canmore in our Elkhorn RCI units. With regards to the lack of response from both front desk and housekeeping, I do apologize on behalf of all our staff as this is not our standard procedure.
I am happy to notify you that our main hot tub is now operating to its full capacity with jets working,
On your next visit to family in Calgary, we would like to welcome you back to Elkhorn at The Lodges.
Sincerely,
Tanya Whelan
Guest Services Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Our family of 4 stayed here for 7 days in August 2013. 2 bedroom 2 bathroom 900 sq foot unit which we rented privately through another online company and the owner. On 2nd floor of 4. Excellent communication and the check in and check out process were a breeze. We actually stayed in the Grizzly Bear portion of the place.
Very comfy beds and pillows and couches. Nice modern TVs in each bedroom as well as the living room. Great kitchen which we used quite a bit. No A/C but on hot days we used the stand up fans provided and by night time all cooled down due to the native weather in the mountains. We used the pool and hot tub on our floor. Sound proofing was great between units. We did hear screaming kids from the pool area during the rare hot days, so we closed windows or doors and all was well. Quiets down at night. Wifi was spotty. Front desk was great to so-so, depending on who was on duty.(level of experience.) We basically used the unit as a base to do day trip. Slept very well.. The place does have a lot of units and people so if you're looking for solitude or "atmosphere" this isn't for you. Friday and Saturday nights got a bit noisy due to many people BBQ and imbibing, on their small balconies. It is a 5 minute drive from the stores and restaurants. Compared to Banff, this place is very reasonably priced and therefore a very very good value.

Room Tip: See if you can get a unit not facing the pool or the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chaimlit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya W, Manager at The Lodges at Canmore, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for the great review chaimlit! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Lodges at Canmore. While you did stay in a privately owned unit, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the amenities provided at our property and the friendliness of our front desk staff. I would like to welcome to a Bellstar property in the future!

Sincerely,
Tanya Whelan
Guest Services Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Property is newer, looks great from the exterior and well laid out with lots of potential. We stayed in a 2 Bdrm suite that was not looked after very well. The carpets were badly stained and worn, the pull out couch was missing fabric on the buttons, the duvet covers were lumpy with all the filling in various clumps and no filling in spots. When we checked in 2 of 3 light bulbs were burnt out in the kitchen making it very dark, and 1 of 3 burnt out in the ensuite. We let reception know and requested maintenance but nobody showed up until the next day. The public corridors were dirty and dirty linens were left piled next to the elevator overnight both evenings we stayed. We were there for a wedding and other friends staying nearby at the Blackstone and at Stoneridge were in much better properties.

Room Tip: We stayed ion the Couger Lodge. If staying in this lodge ask for a room facing the interior of the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 295Kri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya W, Manager at The Lodges at Canmore, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you for your review 295Kri, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at The Lodges at Canmore. We do strive to keep all of our units at The Lodges at Canmore up to date and modern and I will be passing on these words to our Executive Housekeeper concerning the condition of the suite as well the common areas.

While I am glad to see that the lights in your suite were changed, I am sorry to hear that it took so long to have them changed or even that they were burnt out upon arrival as this is not our standard procedure at The Lodges at Canmore.

I would like to welcome you back to The Lodges at Canmore in the future, might I suggest booking a premium suite? With booking a premium suite this guarantee’s that you will be stayng in our Grizzly Lodge which is the newest building at The Lodges at Canmore.

Thank you.

Sincerely,
Tanya Whelan
Guest Services Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Canmore hotels

Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We have stayed many different times at the Lodges and loved it before. Not so much this time around. We received a very small and dated 2bdr suite - both beds extremely squeaky as well as the inside doors. I understand that the furniture is owner dependent, but at some point it needs to be changed.
The worst part of it: the cleanliness has really gone downhill - the floor was quite dirty and sticky in the family room, we could find all sort of crumbs from previous visitors, and the hallways on the staircase were dirty as well. There have been all sorts of stuff spilled and now dried out on them. Some of the tiles are starting to brake down.
The staff is all new, slow and seem unaware of many things about the place.
They have 3 hot pools, but 1 was out of order, one had barely warm water in it and you could not start the jets and the 3rd one had hot water, but only about 2ft of it on the bottom of the pool.
We stayed on phase II before. Now the suite was on phase I - I will not stay on phase I again (aka wolfe lodge). I may try phase II one more time... maybe each building has different cleaning staff...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya W, Manager at The Lodges at Canmore, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for your review Roxana N,
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your past stay with us at The Lodges at Canmore. While all of our suites are each owned individually we do strive to have all suites up to date for the enjoyment of all our guests. I would like to apologize on behalf of the housekeeping staff as the suite was not cleaned to our usual standards at The Lodges at Canmore, and will be passing on your words to our Executive Housekeeper regarding the cleanliness of both your suite and common areas.

While our front desk staff is quite new we at front desk are striving to provide Exceptional Resort Experiences and I will be speaking to them about our property and all the amenities provided on site.

I am happy to announce that all three of our hot tubs are all operational again. I would like to welcome you back to The Lodges at Canmore in the future, might I suggest booking in our premium suites where it will guarantee you will be staying in our Grizzly Lodge which is the newest building that The Lodges at Canmore provides.

Sincerely,
Tanya Whelan
Guest Services Supervisor
Lodges at Canmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We have stayed here too many times to count. Always stay here in summer. The Lodges are nestled in the Rockies. The views are amazing. The fresh air is breath taking. The pool is great for kids. The fitness centre has very good equipment. I think there are 3 hot pools but we mainly use the pool side one. The premises are very clean. The whole area is very safe and great for families. Rooms are condo like so you just wish you could quit your job and never leave. It's within walking distance of the downtown area and also close to a lot of nice walking trails along the creeks and rivers. It's such a fun, family friendly, relaxing place so that's we have come about a dozen times.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yeesh8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya W, Manager at The Lodges at Canmore, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Welcome back to The Lodges at Canmore Yeesh8! I am always happy to welcome back repeat guests who enjoy coming to stay year after year, and enjoy the peace and serenity offered in Canmore. From the crisp mountain air, to the breath taking mountains surrounding the whole town there is a true feeling of being at “home” in our town.

Our resort provides one outdoor pool and three outdoor hot tubs on site, as well a fitness centre located in our Cougar Lodge. I am glad to hear that you enjoy the cleanliness of our property, and will pass on your kind words to our caretakers who take great care to make sure all our guests enjoy their stay both inside and outside of the resort.

While we are not located in the heart of town we are a quick walk to the main part of town, having both the convenience of being close to town and the enjoyment of quiet of our location. I look forward to welcoming you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zichron Yaakov, Israel
Level Contributor
199 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We had to make last minute changes on a Saturday night while travelling in the Banff area in July, it was very difficult to find a place. Someone referred us to the Lodges at Canmore which resulted to a nice surprise. We were traveling with 3 teenagers and stayiung is two rooms in hotels. We arrived late at night and got a two bedroom apartment, it was well equipped. there was no AC and we needed an extra fan (which we could get). The Lodge is comfortable, clean, well equipped and well priced. We spent only one night but it is a good choice if ypou are travelling with a family in the Banff Canmore area.

Room Tip: Ask for extra fans for summer days
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya W, Manager at The Lodges at Canmore, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for the great review Simon317! I am glad to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay especially considering it was such short notice! Our two bedroom suites; are a great place to stay for families. From our outdoor pool and three outdoor hot tubs, to the spaciousness of our two bedroom suites which are provided with two separate bedrooms, two full bathrooms, a kitchen with all the amenities provided from home, and a living room with a queen size pullout couch the Lodges at Canmore strives to make guests feel like they are in their true home away from home. While not all of our suites are provided with air conditioning, should a guest request to have a fan brought up to their suite our friendly front desk staff is happy to accommodate guests and have them as comfortable as possible during their stay! I would like to welcome you back to The Lodges at Canmore in the future, and as a repeat guest you will receive a 15% discount.
Sincerely,
Tanya Whelan
Guest Services Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.2 mi away
StoneRidge Mountain Resort
0.1 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge
Falcon Crest Lodge
#2 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Windtower Lodge & Suites
Windtower Lodge & Suites
#18 of 29 in Canmore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Copperstone Resort
Copperstone Resort
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
0.5 mi away
Georgetown Inn
Georgetown Inn
#8 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pocaterra Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodges at Canmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodges at Canmore

Property: The Lodges at Canmore
Address: 107 Montane Rd, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodges at Canmore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodges at Canmore provides the ideal mountain resort experience for active families and friends with everything you need in our fully furnished 1- and 2-Bedroom vacation rental condominiums. Not just lodging, enjoy all the comforts of home with gourmet kitchens, living spaces with TVs and DVD players, washer/dryers, enough room for all of you, plus an outdoor pool, hot tub(s), a fitness centre and central BBQ area. All this plus the awe-inspiring views of the Rocky Mountains! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Lodges at Canmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodges At Canmore Hotel Canmore
Lodges Canmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing