We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay someplace else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lodges at Canmore
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Stay someplace else”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Upon arrival, we have noticed a general lack of cleanliness to our room and public areas of the resort. The beds are "mattresses" with a sheet over. Springs are poking through. Two twin beds for my husband and I. Just talked to the girl at the font desk who "knew nothing" of how to reach the management. We went to the management office at 4pm and no one was there. Went back at 4:30, still no one. They are not answering our calls either. Ridiculous.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacilyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya W, Manager at The Lodges at Canmore, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for the review Jacilyn A
I am sorry to hear that you received twin beds for your husband and you during your stay. While some units do have twin beds they are located in the smaller bedroom in our two bedroom suites. Which is ideal for guests with children, however we do also have suites with queen or king size beds in both bedrooms.

I would like to apologize for the service that you received from front desk, and I will be speaking with all front desk staff concerning this lack of communication. Our procedure with Bellstar Hotels & Resorts is to have a manager on duty which all guest services agents are aware of and how to contact a manager should the need arise at anytime during the day.

If you would like to speak to me further on this please contact me at front desk.

Sincerely,
Tanya Whelan
Guest Services Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    120
    59
    29
    21
See reviews for
151
75
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

While the cost was very reasonable, the quality of the facility leaves much to be desired. The front metal face feel loose from the oven door and its sharp edge posed a danger. It was fixed right away when we talked to the front desk. We did have to walk down to the desk as the phone would not connect us. The main problem was there was only a portable air conditioner in the living room which could not begin to cool the apartment. It was not on when we arrived at 4:00 o'clock so the apartment was quite hot and did not begin to cool down until after midnight. We were then the middle of September which turned out to be very warm in Canmore. I can not imagine it would be bearable in this unit in the summer. We did like the underground parking, and the Internet worked great.

Room Tip: In warm weather, choose a room that has air conditioning and is not on the West side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilablyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya W, Manager at The Lodges at Canmore, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for your review ilablyth;
I was sorry to hear that you had a maintenance issue in your suite upon arrival to your suite, but happy to hear that the issue was fixed right away for you.
Our phone system at The Lodges at Canmore is a little different from most hotels/resorts. With all of our suites having their own phone numbers, you do have to physically dial the phone number for front desk which is on the welcome letter upon arrival to all guests.
While not all of our suites are provided with air conditioning, the ones that do have this amenity are generally only in the main part of our suites as the property does not have a built in air conditioning system.
I would like to welcome you back to a Bellstar property again in the future, might I suggest our sister property Fire Mountain Lodge, as all suites there have air conditioning throughout the entire units as well units that guarantee a premium view of the mountains!
Sincerely,
Tanya Whelan
Guest Services Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatty, Saskatchewan
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed at the Lodges at Canmore in Aug. We rented a 1 bedroom with loft. Our unit was very nicely decorated it was located in the Cougar building. There was plenty of room for 4 adults and 1 child. There were a few problems with the check in. Check in is at 4 and we arrived at 4 and our place was not ready or cleaned. We had to wait for an hour before we could get into our unit. We waited in the parking lot and they phoned us on our cell when it was ready. They oven in our room didn't work either, but we didn't need it and we did tell the front desk and they sent maitanence over to look at it. We told him that they could fix it when we left.

Room Tip: These are privetly owned and some are rented out through the front desk or privetly and some people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrightwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya W, Manager at The Lodges at Canmore, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for the great review wrightwright! I am glad to see that you enjoyed staying our two bedroom loft units. They are a guest favorite as these types of suites are on two different levels and are a little more spacious than our standard two bedroom suites.
I am sorry to hear that you were unable to check in at our standard check in time of 4:00 p.m. but happy to see that we got you into your suite quickly.
Thank you for notifying us at front desk regarding the maintenance issues in this suite.
I would love to welcome you back to The Lodges at Canmore in the future.
Sincerely,
Tanya Whelan
Guest Services Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Minnesota, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed there for 5 nights. The accommodations were O.K.
Wifi was spotty at best.
Location is south of Banff by 15-18 miles or so. Next time we would get something closer to the main attractions...... Banff, lake Louise, Jasper.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DnSJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya W, Manager at The Lodges at Canmore, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for your review DnSJones; I would like to welcome you back to Canmore in the future, perhaps I could recommend staying in our Grizzly Lodge which is our newest building at The Lodges at Canmore, or perhaps our sister property Solara Resort & Spa. As a return guest you will receive 15% off to any Bellstar Resort.

Staying at Canmore is a luxury for a lot of guests as we are only a short drive to attractions such as Lake Louise or Jasper, while still having the scenery & quietness provided in Canmore. Don’t forget all the attractions available in Canmore as well, such as our Ammonite Factory or all the hiking trails.


Sincerely,
Tanya Whelan
Guest Services Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We have stayed at the Lodges at Canmore twice. The first time was just OK as the two bedroom unit we had seemed a bit run down. We gave it another shot this summer and will NEVER stay there again.

We booked a two bedroom loft this time. The first thing we noticed was the general lack of maintenance in the halway of the third floor (we were in room 326) - it appeared as if luggage carts had been scraped into the walls and not repaired. We checked out our room and the carpet had numerous stains on it. That was not the worst part though - I thought it smelled like cats (my whole family has cat allergies) and my fear was confirmed when I saw the cat scratching post. We all became allergic and checked out early (we just stayed one night - we did ask to move, but they were fully booked) because of it. Why they would not warn guests of this is beyond me - it's not such a rare allergy that it needn't be mentioned.

To give an idea of how dirty the unit seemed, please see the attached picture of the fan blades - disgusting. Cat hair and dust all stuck to the edges - seriously gross. The wall beside the main floor bathroom had gouges in it that were partially repaired. The deck chairs in the tiny balcony have degraded to the point that the green plastic came off as a chalky substance when you sat on them - we had to put towels down first. No apparent pride of ownership.

I can't believe they can charge over $250 per night there.

When we left early, they were good enough not to assess a penalty and gave us a 15% discount because of the cat thing, but really I'm not happy that I paid anything for that stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya W, Manager at The Lodges at Canmore, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for your review Rob C, I am sad to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at The Lodges at Cannmore, and would like to apologize that you were in a pet friendly suite especially with all of your party having allergies to cats.
Regarding the maintenance of the unit, your comments have been passed onto our engineering department as we are currently going to be doing our annual deep cleans of the suites.

If you would like to speak to me personally concerning your past stay at The Lodges at Canmore I would be more than happy to talk to you.

Sincerely,
Tanya Whelan
Guest Services Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on an RCI Timeshare exchange for 12 nights. We were allocated a good sized 2 bedded unit but it was very dark inside and we needed the lights on at all times of the day.

Having stayed in over 50 different resorts worldwide we were disappointed at the level of cleanliness and responses to our complaints. The windows were dirty inside and out but they then only cleaned the living room ones not bedrooms. The barbecue grill was filthy on arrival but that was sorted. The bedroom carpet only gets a perfunctory clean , there were bits of paper around the edges and quite a bit of general dust.

We were 2 glasses short but that report was not passed on till a week later. The mid stay clean only happened after it was requested twice. Initially we had to ask for extra toilet paper, there were no kitchen supplies till we reported it and they were never able to 'source' a single tea towel.

While the hot tub in our building was good, the jets do not work in the one next to the pool.

However the beds are comfy and there is ample hot water. The resort is handily placed to be able to walk along the pretty creek into town.

We will probably accept an exchange here next time we visit our family in Calgary but I wish we had the option to choose the unit.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cinn52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya W, Manager at The Lodges at Canmore, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for your review Cinn52, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at The Lodges at Canmore in our Elkhorn RCI units. With regards to the lack of response from both front desk and housekeeping, I do apologize on behalf of all our staff as this is not our standard procedure.
I am happy to notify you that our main hot tub is now operating to its full capacity with jets working,
On your next visit to family in Calgary, we would like to welcome you back to Elkhorn at The Lodges.
Sincerely,
Tanya Whelan
Guest Services Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Our family of 4 stayed here for 7 days in August 2013. 2 bedroom 2 bathroom 900 sq foot unit which we rented privately through another online company and the owner. On 2nd floor of 4. Excellent communication and the check in and check out process were a breeze. We actually stayed in the Grizzly Bear portion of the place.
Very comfy beds and pillows and couches. Nice modern TVs in each bedroom as well as the living room. Great kitchen which we used quite a bit. No A/C but on hot days we used the stand up fans provided and by night time all cooled down due to the native weather in the mountains. We used the pool and hot tub on our floor. Sound proofing was great between units. We did hear screaming kids from the pool area during the rare hot days, so we closed windows or doors and all was well. Quiets down at night. Wifi was spotty. Front desk was great to so-so, depending on who was on duty.(level of experience.) We basically used the unit as a base to do day trip. Slept very well.. The place does have a lot of units and people so if you're looking for solitude or "atmosphere" this isn't for you. Friday and Saturday nights got a bit noisy due to many people BBQ and imbibing, on their small balconies. It is a 5 minute drive from the stores and restaurants. Compared to Banff, this place is very reasonably priced and therefore a very very good value.

Room Tip: See if you can get a unit not facing the pool or the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chaimlit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya W, Manager at The Lodges at Canmore, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for the great review chaimlit! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Lodges at Canmore. While you did stay in a privately owned unit, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the amenities provided at our property and the friendliness of our front desk staff. I would like to welcome to a Bellstar property in the future!

Sincerely,
Tanya Whelan
Guest Services Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.1 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
0.2 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
4.7 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grande Rockies Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#14 of 28 in Canmore
535 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#16 of 28 in Canmore
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodges at Canmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodges at Canmore

Property: The Lodges at Canmore
Address: 107 Montane Rd, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodges at Canmore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodges at Canmore provides the ideal mountain resort experience for active families and friends with everything you need in our fully furnished 1- and 2-Bedroom vacation rental condominiums. Not just lodging, enjoy all the comforts of home with gourmet kitchens, living spaces with TVs and DVD players, washer/dryers, enough room for all of you, plus an outdoor pool, hot tub(s), a fitness centre and central BBQ area. All this plus the awe-inspiring views of the Rocky Mountains! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Otel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Lodges at Canmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodges At Canmore Hotel Canmore
Lodges Canmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing