We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait to visit again!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Falcon Crest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Falcon Crest Lodge
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Decatur, Alabama
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Can't wait to visit again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2009

My husband and I traveled to Canmore on our honeymoon. We selected the Falcon Crest based on it's web site and the reviews on trip advisor. We were not dissappointed. The room was clean and the view was beautiful. The staff was really nice and the cleaning service left us new shampoo and washing detergent when we ran out. My husband and I made a deal to go back before our two year anniversary. I know where we will be staying!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m1a1p1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    927
    275
    43
    16
    15
See reviews for
325
633
26
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2009

We spent the weekend and were more than impressed with the room and the staff. The staff were friendly and helpful from the moment we walked through the door. The room was impressive with a luxury feel to it. It's a short 10min walk from downtown Canmore. Canmore is a wonderful small, scenic rustic town with lots to offer. The perfect weekend getaway to a very peaceful and stress-free environment. I would strongly recommend the Falconcrest Lodge!!!

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanaRegina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2009

Date: January 31st, 2009

I read all the reviews on here about this hotel so decided to give it a try. I have to agree with the previous replies here the building is beautiful and the rooms are quite nice inside, as well the front desk staff was very friendly.

Why this room is getting only a 1 star rating from me is my wife and I barely slept all night because it was like an inferno in the room all night. It was -1C temperature outside for the high during the day and we never once turned the heat on after checking in and yet it was just boiling in the room.

We called the front desk during the night as it was hard to breathe in there it was so hot but we didn't want to leave the balcony door open all night as the screen door lock was broken. Two members of the hotel staff came up to the room and acknowledged the heat problem and said "it's a common complaint we get". They were helpful in finding something for us to block the patio door open to let some air in while we sleep. But this was hardly ideal to sleep in.

My wife and I slept about 2 hours all night. We cancelled our plans for what we were going to do in the mountains the next day and went home early. Having some health conditions as it is I was quite sick all of the next day from getting little rest.

I asked the front desk staff if there could be a reduction on the bill considering we didn't have a good rest and it was a hotel issue that caused it, something their own staff acknowledged. They told me to contact the manager the next day which I did. While he was polite on the phone he said he went to the room and it was fine. I was offered a room upgrade next time I stayed and I declined as I told him with how bad the stay was and the physical cost I paid for it the next day I would not be returning and chancing going through that again. I was told that was all that could be offered and that there would be no reduction of the bill as there is no heat problem. Very dissapointing when the hotel's night staff made it very clear to us that heat problems are a common complaint there.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank MapInHand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitalityexecutive, General Manager at Falcon Crest Lodge, responded to this review, 4 February 2009
The Falcon Crest Lodge features a centralized heating and air conditioning system that provides warm or cool air to each suite, according to the individualized setting. Upon each guest's departure, staff set the thermostat to 18 c to ensure a comfortable temperature for the next guest's arrival. Due to the large centralized system, changes to the thermostat setting can take up to 20 minutes to realize in the guest’s room. In the event that the suite became too warm due to a high heat setting on the thermostat, it would take some time for the HVAC system to adjust to the new setting and for the room to cool down. Note: Air Conditioning systems will not operate below 5 c, and on this particular night the outside temp was -1 c. The Engineering department diagnosed the heating & cooling system in the room upon learning of the problem the following day & found the system to be working perfectly. If there was a mechanical problem with the room’s heating, and we could not find a mutually acceptable solution at the time of the problem, a complimentary stay or refund would have been offered. Our goal is to always ensure our guests experience unparalleled service, cleanliness and luxurious accommodations while staying at the Falcon Crest Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2009

We stayed at the Falcon Crest from December 20th to 30th. We were initially a little worried when we got to the front desk and the clerk expressed surprise that anyone would stay there that long! I suddenly had visions of some nasty cheap motel, but was lucky enough to be able to breathe huge sigh of relief when we opened the door to our one bedroom suite. The pictures here don't do it justice, as the lighting is much warmer in reality. It's quite roomy, with good storage space and a fantastic bathroom with a good-sized tub and huge shower and nice little touches, such as carefully-presented towels and toiletries.

I chose the Falcon Crest because it was important for me to be able to cook and bake during the Christmas holidays: to really make this place 'ours' for the festive period. This property didn't disappoint. The oven easily held a 10lb turkey and a 7lb ham, as well as all the trimmings - a real kitchen, not a too-small unit passing itself off as one. We were allowed to put up a full Christmas tree as well, which was another bonus.

We were lucky enough to have a mountain view, which I pushed for in my initial reservation and again when I confirmed a week before our arrival. To be honest, the view is what made it for us.. and I can understand why people who have stayed in rooms without views would feel short-changed, particularly in the cold winter months when only die-hard winter sports enthusiasts are likely to want to be outdoors all day.

The Falcon Crest lived up to all my romantic notions of a 'home in the rockies' for the holidays and, despite what the clerk said, when it was time to go we felt we could have spent even longer there.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank winterqueen78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2009

Loved the falconcrest lodge - it was extremely clean. We stayed in a one bedroom suite which had a clean tidy kitchen with good appliances. The walk in shower was huge. Comfortable living room area and bedroom. We did not have a view of the mountains - just building work but we stayed over the holidays and therefore there was no work or noise though I imagine on regular weeks/weekends, this may be a problem. Gym and hottub areas well kept and tidy. Heated underground parking is a bonus especially if you are planning to go to the mountains for skiing etc. Would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Liked — Own kitchen - felt like an apartment
  • Disliked — View
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CalgaryTraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2008

My husband and thought we needed to get away for a couple days so spend some quality time with eachother and unwind from our busy lives. As soon as we arrived we knew we had picked the right place. The lady at reservatrons desk was disarmingly happy, helpful, knowledgable and she really went out of her way to ensure our happiness. We styaed in a one bedroom suite. It was amazing. The large, fully stocked kitchen was prefect for staying in and making our own meals. The countertops were a beautiful granite as well as the coutertops in the oversized bathroom which also had a seperate tub and a large shower. We had a nice view of the mountains and the outdoor hot tubs were so relaxing and clean. Our suite was spotless and I must also comment on how confortable the beds are. Overall our stay was even better then we could have imagined and we would recconmend the resort to eveyone. Thank you to the staff at Falconcrest Lodge, your smiling helpful faces made our stay even more enjoyable. We planb on coming back every few months frokm now on!!!!

  • Liked — I liked how comfortable and clean the rooms were. I also loved how attentive and caring the staff was.
  • Disliked — Maybe wish other resorts around it had not started building because the moutain views are limited but still there!
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kristenandjaime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kitchener, ontario
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2008

August 2008 was our second time staying there (first was Oct. 05). There is nothing better than being on the balcony after dark with a glass of wine and hearing the coyotes calling to each other in the distance. The far distant sound of freight trains was soothing as well (though infrequent). Making our own meals added to the relaxation - no rushing out of the suite to find breakfast if you slept late.
My only complaint is the pine tree that blocked our view of the middle Sister. Offending trees shouldn't get in the way of mountain views! (kidding of course).
We'll be back to Canmore just as soon as we can!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dvsbfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.1 mi away
StoneRidge Mountain Resort
4.5 mi away
Copperstone Resort
Copperstone Resort
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pocaterra Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Georgetown Inn
Georgetown Inn
#8 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#13 of 29 in Canmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
1.4 mi away
Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falcon Crest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcon Crest Lodge

Property: Falcon Crest Lodge
Address: 190 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3K5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Canmore
#1 Green Hotel in Canmore
#2 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
#2 Business Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Falcon Crest Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are searching for luxurious mountain accommodations located within minutes of Banff National Park, the Falcon Crest Lodge in Canmore offers the perfect setting for your next Rocky Mountain Retreat. Your mountain adventures begin at the Falcon Crest Lodge. Only a five minute drive to Banff National Park, the hotel is also just a short walk from downtown Canmore. Indulge with our hotel features and amenities including granite countertops, fluffy duvet comforters, pillow top mattresses and unparalleled service when you stay at Canmore’s finest hotel. Stay at the Falcon Crest Lodge in Canmore, Alberta and understand why our guests say we are “Soaring to New Heights in Hospitality” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JackRabbit Systems, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Falcon Crest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falcon Crest Hotel Canmore
Falcon Crest Canmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing