We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection in Canmore - Skip the hotels!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Stella Alpina B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canmore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stella Alpina B&B
Ranked #6 of 31 Canmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfection in Canmore - Skip the hotels!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile


We stayed here 9/28-10/1/13 and I can only describe it as a perfect experience. Anneke and Carmelo were perfect hosts, the best balance of professional and friendly. Our bedroom en suite looked out on a lush garden which was just starting to fade with the fall weather. There was a large jetted tub for relaxing and a separate shower in the bath. A small television with cable was in the room and free wifi was provided as well as a refrigerator and a coffee maker.

Each morning we only had to go upstairs to a beautiful delicious breakfast and had our choice of homemade breakfast items (eggs, meats, etc), fresh baked bread, French toast, fruit, juice, and coffee. Absolutely delicious and a beautiful view of the mountains from the breakfast table.

Carmelo and Anneke were very accommodating and let us use their phone to make local calls, gave us their bear spray to borrow while we were out in the parks (just in case), and told us all the best drives and and places which fit our travel goals. They had ample detailed information to give to their guests and knew the area very well as they have lived there many years.

This was the perfect place for people going to the Banff area because it is minutes from the park gates.

I would return to this little bit of paradise in a second.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
62
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ratekau, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We spent the last three days of our honeymoon at this great B&B.

The warm and friendly atmosphere, comfortable and lovely decorated rooms and the best breakfast served in town are just a few things that make this accomodation so enjoyable.

Do not hesitate to ask Anneke and Carmelo for advice, they know everything about hiking trails, restaurants or where you have the best chances to watch any wildlife.

Thank you for your hospitality, the nice conversation, the beautiful room and the wonderful time we could spend here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Carmello and Anneke were very welcoming at their beautifully situated B and B, with unobtrusive suggestions as to where to eat and what to do in the area. A scrumptious breakfast with lots of variety including an omelet made with handpicked wild mushrooms that was very flavorful. Good value, certainly, and views rivaling nearby Banff.

Room Tip: Located in one the back roads of Canmore. Use GPS.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank NSBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

On August 14, 2013 my partner, her daughter and I lucked out to be able to enjoy one wonderful night at Stella Alpina. This began our 19-day trip through the Canadian Rockies and B.C. And it was by far the nicest accommodation (not far behind, fyi, was the Blue Sage B&B in Ashcroft, BC, lagging only because Stella Alpina has such fantastic scenery). This was such a pleasant surprise. Photos of the B&B can't do justice to just how lovely a place this is. From the splendid mountains looming nearby to the incredible, beautiful interior and woodwork, to Anneke's lovely handicrafts, to the superior guest bedroom, to the pleasant garden and deck, to the scrumptious, generous breakfast and, most of all, to Carmelo and Anneke's genuine, warm hospitality...for all such reasons I rank this the very best of some 60+ B&B's I've ever enjoyed. If you are in Canmore, don't miss this one! And we will be back as long as Stella Alpina remains, at least under Carmelo and Anneke's loving care.

Room Tip: There is only the one principal guest room, though there is another room in the basement which would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple, ON
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I was in Canmore for my nephew's wedding and there is not enough I can say about this B&B. My brother on the other hand, stayed at another B&B and he was not so lucky.

From the warm welcome by the hosts (even though I arrived very late in the evening), to the very clean rooms, to comfortable beds, to the most delicious breakfasts, this B&B far surpassed my expectations. It is very evident that this is more than just a business for Carmelo and Anneke. They clearly enjoy meeting people from all walks of life. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yomel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, OK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We spent six nights at Stella Alpina in August, 2013, and can only add to the chorus of reviews that praise Carmelo, Anneke, and their terrific B&B. Our room was large and most comfortable and the breakfasts excellent (especially Carmelo's wild mushroom omelets). Our hosts had warm personalities and certainly went the extra distance to make guests feel welcome.
We can only say "Bravo!".

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TriviaLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Well where to start? If you love fantastic food, company, the best accommodation and a wonderfully relaxing place to stay, this is for you.

The lovely, lovely, lovely hosts, Carmelo & Anneke could not have improved our stay. The delicious food, the extra special effort to provide the best breakfast EVER- the value of the accommodation and comfort level was far above what we have experienced elsewhere on our travels.

We would love to return one day to this place and can't rank it highly enough. The location doesnt get better, it is the cleanest most sparkling place. Carmelo and Anneke are very special .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JarvisMrMrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
1.2 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
0.7 mi away
Georgetown Inn
Georgetown Inn
#9 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pocaterra Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
1.2 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
0.7 mi away
Lady Macdonald Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Alpina B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Alpina B&B

Property: Stella Alpina B&B
Address: 1009 9 Ave, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1Z5, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Canmore bed and breakfast is close to Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada. Enjoy Dutch/Italian hospitality at Stella Alpina Bed and Breakfast in Canmore, Alberta, Canada. Stella Alpina B & B is located just five minutes from Banff National Park and twenty minutes from Banff town site in the majestic Canadian Rockies. Anneke and Carmelo, your hosts, welcome you to their mountain home in Canmore where you will enter a world of uniquely Canadian crafted woodwork. Stella Alpina bed and breakfast is hidden away from the traffic and noise, but is just a short 2 – 5 minute walk from downtown Canmore(map). Stella Alpina Bed and Breakfast is in a peaceful wooded area of Canmore and wildlife corridor where the beautiful Bow River rushes nearby and the breath-taking views of the Canadian Rockies surround you, a perfect hidden retreat for honeymooners and celebrating anniversaries. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing