We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really...a Bellstar??”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fire Mountain Lodge
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“really...a Bellstar??”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We have stayed at another Bellstar property in Canmore in which we have had fantastic stays. We needed a third bedroom and so chose this Bellstar as it offered a third bedroom option. That was our first mistake...thinking the service and quality would be the same. Be aware...this is really a motel...with outside doors leading onto one long coridor with one flight of stairs. First of all there is no staff on site, which means you check in in another resort and also have nobody there to turn to when assistance is required. The room was all it said it would be....but the quality of the room is not the standard we have seen at Blackstone. Walls dented/rug burned/carpeting unravelling/rack in oven didn't fit this oven so couldn't lift it off the bottom as it would not stay. No flat cookie sheet to use in the oven for something as simple as baking a frozen pizza. Shower nozzle in the main bathroom had a mind of its' own so had to constantly adjut it to keep water flow on you. No water pressure in either shower. Fridge hummed loudly all the time. VERY loud for the person sleeping on the hide-a-bed. And if that isn't enough you can definitely hear the train 4 times a night! This is not the case with the Blackstone (which is just up the hill). With no staff on the property the partiers had the stairwell all to themselves as late as they wanted!!!!! No need to adhere to the quiet times as there is nobody there to monitor that. Sure we could "call the number at the other property" but there is no phone in the master bedroom and waking up the lucky people that may be sleeping to go get my cellphone and the number was not an option! Lastly, the hottub faces a 9 foot fence...with no views/was luke warm at best with jets one could barely feel. Looked VERY tired. Bottom line..not worth the money. The Bellstar label was deceiving. Never again!

Room Tip: Do not stay in this hotel unless you are lulled by the sound of the train going by 4 times a night o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 156DonY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_FireMtnLodge, Manager at Fire Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Hi DonY,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor. We do offer 24/7 on call service from our neighbouring property, the Lodges At Canmore. I will have maintenance look into the shower & oven issues you experienced.

Kind regards,
-Adrian
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    42
    18
    9
    12
See reviews for
64
16
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mannheim, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We stayed for one month in a nice two bedroom suite with two bathrooms and great views of the surrounding mountains.

We had a big Gas BBQ on the balcony we used frequently and a cosy gas fireplace in the living room.

After a day on the slopes the hot tub was very relaxing for us!

The main street with its shops and restaurant is in walking distance.(Thai Pagoda Restaurant with a hugh beer selection is our favorite!)

The staff was very friendly and helpful.

One thing would be great: If you come for a month a "midstay cleaning" would be nice in the wintertime!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_FireMtnLodge, Manager at Fire Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Hi JR,
I am delighted to see you had a great stay at Fire Mountain Lodge, appreciating our mountain views, BBQ, balcony, gas fireplace and Hot Tub! We are happy to offer a mid-stay clean for a reasonable charge. Happy to see you found our staff friendly and helpful.
Hope to welcome you back someday soon. Thank you for the wonderful review!

Kind regards,
-Adrian
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed at the 3 bedrooms suite and it was very nice, except the wifi signal is very weak and just available in several area. The kicthen is full equipped and the room is very clean and comfortable. We've enjoyed our stay but hope the wifi would be improved.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_FireMtnLodge, Manager at Fire Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Hi Robert H,

I am glad you enjoyed our clean, comfortable and well equipped suites. I will address your Wi-Fi comments with our technicians. I am glad to say the majority of the property has fairly comprehensive coverage, but we will certainly look into any improvements we can make.

Kind regards,

-Adrian,
Guest Services Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at Fire Mountain Lodge for a week this winter and absolutely loved it. We had a three bedroom suite which was more than enough room for us. The beds were very comfortable, the kitchen was very well equipped and the entire place was beautifully decorated and charming.

Even though they were very busy, we didn't hear our neighbours at all. It was quiet and peaceful - just what we were looking for in a getaway.

It was so nice to wake up everyday and look out the huge windows and all you see are mountains.

Room Tip: We had one of the pet friendly rooms. But they are all great with the same view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_FireMtnLodge, Manager at Fire Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Hi Ann G,

Thank you for the really positive review of our wonderful property. As you correctly pointed out, all of our suites offer amazing mountian views. I hope we can welcome you back for another relaxing mountian retreat sometime soon.

Kind regards,
-Adrian
Guest Services Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

This was our second time staying at Fire Mountain. Apart from a couple of minor inconveniences our stay was great. The parent company Bellstar Resorts owns several properties in Canmore. Each one of them is unique in both their amenities and price. The fire mountain lodge has more of an appearance of a high end motel. .You enter your suite from an outside pathway. If your like us and you travel with pets, you'll have no choice but to stay in a 3 bedroom unit. They only have a couple of units that can accommodate pets. The unit themselves are very nice. a queen bed in the master bedroom with a TV and en-suite. The other two bedrooms each had a double bed with a TV in one of the bedrooms. The living room was quite spacious and even came equipped with a XBox. I suggest a upper unit, that way you won't hear people walking above you. the second floor also provides a better view of the mountains. If you are a senior or have difficulty with stairs.. I would suggest an alternate resort. Finally, the parking at Fire Mountain is horrible. the have support columns every 10 feet and expect two cars will fit.. the stalls are extremely narrow.
Bellstar has a very strange and complicated billing system. Your room rate can change from day to day depending on when you made your booking. Be careful to review your bill before you leave. At another Bellstar resort they overcharged us by $160.00. Thankfully, they were easy to deal with and immediately corrected the bill..

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor.. unless you have mobility issues, then choose a main floor suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdnsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerFML, Manager at Fire Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 24 November 2011
Hi Cdnsun,

Great to you see you enjoyed Fire Mountain Lodge once again. We do offer alternative parking in the lot next to the lodge. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this positive review, and hope to see you again at Fire Mountain Lodge.

-Adrian
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Came here for the first time and was pleasantly surprised. Huge condo with amazing balcony overlooking the mountains. Very quiet, close to main street, friendly staff. Only complaint-no hot water and the larger condo's are never available for only 1 night. I didn't think a 2-night minimum booking is necessary. But, I would def stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 213 has an amazing balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esg772016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerFML, Manager at Fire Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
Hi Shaun77,
Thank you for your review! We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our spacious condos with amazing views! Our property manager has looked into the problem with the hot water heater and parts have been replaced. Minimum bookings are occasionally required on some of the weekends, due to high demand. Please check back with us - we are more than happy to help you find the perfect accommodation. See you soon at our Fire Mountain Lodge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ollerton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

I have to start by saying we were pleasantly surprised by this lodge, it is lovely and huge with so much room and the decor and cleanliness were amazing and you had everything you needed and more which was great as some places only give you 6 of this and 6 of that but this lodge had everything and not white either which was a refreshing change, our car was parked right outside our door which was wonderful and the rooms had tv's in all of them and we had a gas bbq on the balconey which we used, the balconey was a little small but the size of the lodge made up for that, the beds and pillows were cosy but the only thing we found was the duvets are winter duvets and we were roasting we thought there might be a blanket in the drawer for the summer time but there wasen't so we improvised and took the duvet out of the cover and used the cover, we did have air con but it is to loud to keep on all night especially with kids,we also heard water running at 5 am and 6am i thought it was someone up early but my husband said it was the water sprinklers coming on automatic to water the grass, bit early. other than that we had a fab time here and we would most certainly go back. all of canmore is within walking distance which was great.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment but i think they are all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hairymonkeyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerFML, Manager at Fire Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
Greetings to Medicine Hat! Thank you very much for your glowing review. As a Bellstar managed property, we strive to provide exceptional experiences and we are very happy to hear that you had a fantastic time at Fire Mountain Lodge. The Strata Management of Fire Mountain Lodge advised us that the sprinkler timers are set to the early morning hours to minimise evaporation thus to conserve water. We hope to be able to rearrange the timing to get you a better sleep next time. Thank you for your input about the blankets we anticipate finding a solution with our property management. We truly hope to see you again very soon at Fire Mountain Lodge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
1.2 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#12 of 28 in Canmore
523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Windtower Lodge & Suites
Windtower Lodge & Suites
#23 of 28 in Canmore
591 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
0.4 mi away
Georgetown Inn
Georgetown Inn
#8 of 28 in Canmore
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fire Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fire Mountain Lodge

Property: Fire Mountain Lodge
Address: 121 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2X2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fire Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fire Mountain Lodge mixes the amenities of a resort experience with the privacy and independence of your own condo. Stunning views of the famed Three Sisters peaks, Lawrence Grassi Ridge and Rundle Mountain draw the breathtaking outdoors into every room, while the urban-inspired interiors entice you to stay for good. Resort Amenities •Outdoor hot tub (open year-round) •Exercise room with men's and women's change rooms •Covered parking •High speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fire Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fire Mountain Hotel Canmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing