We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but no staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fire Mountain Lodge
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Reviewed 24 May 2007

Got off to a bad start when we arrived to find a notice on the door informing guests that check-in had been transferred to The Lodges at Canmore, which is a block down from Fire Mountain. The resort was empty for the majority of our stay so this was perhaps unsurprising. When we enquired if we would be able to use the facilities at the Lodges of Canmore (they have an outdoor heated pool with lovely views of the Three Sisters Peaks) we were told no, and the receptionist simply shrugged her shoulders when we asked why when we were expected to share their reception.

As it happens, the hot tub at Fire Mountain was not working for the majority of our stay so we were finally granted permission to use the pools at both the Lodges at Canmore and Bellstars other sister resort Mystic Springs.

The interiors were clean, almost new, cosy and well equiped. Avoid the unit at the far end of the building as it is much smaller than the others. Our two bed condo had one and a half baths although most of the units have two full baths and one half bath and the second bedroom barely had enough room to walk round the bed. The rest of our party had larger condos, which were much more spacious, for the same rate.

The cleaning staff were also borrowed from the other resorts meaning sporadic service. We stayed for almost two weeks and there was no full service and linen change, only garbage removal and clean towels daily, if we were lucky. A full service is available at a charge, this is not the norm for accommodation of this type.

If you are staying here mid-week, in the off season then save yourselves the endless trips to the Lodges at Canmore and stay there instead.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Skibee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 115 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2006

My wife, son, and I were very impressed with Fire Mountain.

The layout provides you with room to strech out. Our unit was on the top level which afforded great views from all windows. The decor and color scheme were very warm and inviting.

The kitchen featured a granite counter and stainless/black appliances which looked great. It included all the necessary pots, pans, and utensils (unlike some other suites I've stayed in). As well there was a Broil King grill on the spacious deck which we used a number of times. It was really nice being able to go to the local Safeway or Sobeys, pick up groceries (and a bottle of wine), and prepare our breakfasts and dinners (nice break from overprocessed restaurant food).

The living room was very spacious an had a gas fireplace and plasma tv with a DVD player and XBOX (which was used heavily by my son).

The bedrooms each had their own full washroom and the linens where top notch.

The in-suite washer and dryer came in handy as did the high speed internet.

Fire Mountail staff were very friendly and helpful.

I would strongly recommend Fire Mountain to those with small families. With three beds, two and a half baths, and over 1,000 sq. ft. you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank brucedavidf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2006

These new condos are very comfortable and upscale. When you're inside the condo, you should be extremely comfortable. We were in a 2 bedroom, 2 1/2 bath condo on the upper level. The layout for the upper condos is living area on 1st floor, bedrooms and full baths on 2nd floor. According to the floor plans on the website, the lower level condos are reversed - living area above the bedrooms and full baths. The entry to the upper level condos is up a flight of stairs, while the entry to the lower level condos is at ground level.

The living area has a gas fireplace and comfortable furniture, dining area, nice kitchen, closet, laundry with stacked washer/dryer, and a half bath. Also, a door to the deck area, which has great views of the mountains, and gas grill and table and chairs. The upstairs bedrooms were good size, and the master had a VERY comfortable king size bed. The full baths upstairs were ordinary, but definitely great having a bath for each bedroom.

The bedrooms upstairs have peaked windows. There are black-out drapes for the lower portion, but none to cover the upper part of the window. We had no problem sleeping with light coming into the room, but if you are someone who needs full darkness to sleep, you will want to ask about the lower units - I don't think they had the peaked windows. The bed was very comfortable.

There is no elevator available in the complex, so all luggage has to be carried up the stairs (if you are in an upper unit). Someone who has trouble with stairs would probably not be comfortable in the units, since the bedrooms are all on a different floor from the living area. There is a sleeper sofa in the living area, but that may not be for everyone.

While the parking is covered right outside the units, it is very tight parking. It is laid out with 2 parking spaces between each set of stone columns. If you are driving a car of any size, not a compact or small mid-size, you will have trouble parking and getting out of your car, if there is another car in the double space. Even with a smaller car, you will have some trouble if there are 2 cars in the space.

The property is 2 "lots" away from the main drag - the Bow Valley Parkway - but we didn't hear any traffic - so no problem there. The lot right in front of the units is an empty lot right now, which is not terribly attractive, but we just focused on looking up at the mountains! The complex sits in front of the Oh Canada Eh! show building, but we didn't have any noise from that either, other than the tour buses at loading and un-loading time. None of that was late enough to be any bother. There is building going on next to the complex, which you can hear when you're outside, but no problem inside. Views from all the windows were terrific - mountains in any direction you looked!

We stayed here for our last 2 nights in the Rockies, and were very comfortable (after we got our bags up the stairs!). The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend the condos, with the exceptions noted above. I would rate the condos Excellent except for no elevator, and the parking situation.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank newretiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2006

We were pleasantly suprised by this upscale condo. You can't tell this from the exterior, but the condo is brand new and equipped with all kinds of luxuries. The kitchen, the linen and beddings are just great. They also provide dish washing liquid and detergent! It is great view from bacolny and all rooms. Very clean! The receptionists are very friendly. We stayed for a week, and highly recommend this property to anyone.

Stayed: September 2006
2  Thank Colinwei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Yara Seabra Alm... A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.1 mi away
Mystic Springs Chalets & Hot Pools
0.1 mi away
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
0.1 mi away
Windtower Lodge & Suites
Windtower Lodge & Suites
#20 of 28 in Canmore
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
0.2 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
1.2 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#12 of 28 in Canmore
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fire Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fire Mountain Lodge

Address: 121 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2X2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Price Range: £118 - £320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fire Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fire Mountain Lodge mixes the amenities of a resort experience with the privacy and independence of your own condo. Stunning views of the famed Three Sisters peaks, Lawrence Grassi Ridge and Rundle Mountain draw the breathtaking outdoors into every room, while the urban-inspired interiors entice you to stay for good. Resort Amenities •Outdoor hot tub (open year-round) •Exercise room with men's and women's change rooms •Covered parking •High speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fire Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fire Mountain Hotel Canmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing