We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was okay...”
Review of Canmore Crossing

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Canmore Crossing
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It was okay...”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed here Nov 1-Nov 3rd. We stayed in a one bedroom condo with a pull out bed in the sofa, in building A. We paid $124 per a night. I will say for what you get, it’s an excellent price. You have an entire condo to yourself. I compared this condo to other condos in the area, and you are going to be paying at $100 on top of that price per a night for a condo. You will even pay more $124 than that for some basic hotel rooms in Canmore and Banff.
The décor was up to date, dishwasher, keyless entry to the condo, bed sheets were fine, Extra towels on hand. Excellent view of the sister mountains from the living room and private deck. We made use of the private deck and BBQ, which was really nice. The condo included cable TV and a DVD player. The bed was HARD, the second night we ended up sleeping on the pull out bed in the sofa. But that is personal preference when it comes to how hard or soft you like your bed. You do have to check in at a building that is a 5 minute drive from your condo. They give you a piece of paper that has your number code for entry into the building and room. It was nice not having to worry about carrying a key with you. And for those people who complain about the keyless entry and forgetting/losing the numbers, just think it’s the same as having a key and losing it. At least with the codes you can save it in your phone or write it on your wrist etc. before you leave the condo. Checking out all we had to do was phone the front desk and tell them we were leaving.
My only suggestion/complaint to the condo management… When we got there the roof top hot tub in building A was freezing. We went to rooftop hot tub C and that was shut down for renovations. We called front desk about this, and there wasn’t anyone to come and turn the heat up in building A hot tub, which was a disappointment. The hot tub inside B was working just fine, but a little crowded as it had to suit for 3 buildings. You should either 1. Advertise that hot tubs will be down during renovations/ Have someone on hand to turn the heat up on the roof top hot tub OR 2. Advertise that the roof top hot tubs are out of service during the winter months, however, there is one hot tub inside building B serving for all 3 buildings. That way your customers are not set up for disappointment and have something to complain about.
We ended up driving to Banff and sitting in the Hot Springs. If we knew in advance that the roof top hot tubs were cold/out of service, we would have paid the difference to stay in another hotel or condo that had a soaker tub or hot tub. Instead we ended up paying the extra money to go into the hot springs, and driving in stormy weather. When we would have preferred to stay in that night, seeing how we did a lot of driving during the days.
If you are looking for somewhere to relax, cook, etc. this place is excellent for the money value. If you are looking for something with a soaker tub or functioning hot tubs, I would suggest paying the extra money to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Krista B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya W, Manager at Canmore Crossing, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thank you for your review Krista B;
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the layout of our condo style suites available at Canmore Crossing from the full kitchen with all the amenities from home, a full living room with a queen size pullout couch; and of course all guests favorite each suite has its own balcony.

The access code system has been implemented for our guest convenience as keys can demagnetize during their stay. With the check in desk at another location this has alleviated most concerns and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed this convenience.

I would like to apologize that no notice was put up with regards to the two outdoor roof top hot tubs being closed down and I will be following up with Canmore Crossings property management. These two hot tubs are indeed kept open during the winter season. Once a week the hot tubs are cleaned but only one per day so that at least two hot tubs are opened at all times.
I would like to welcome you back to a Bellstar property again in the future; perhaps I might suggest our sister property Fire Mountain Lodge which is a smaller property with one outdoor hot tub, and has suites that guarantee a premium view of the mountains.

Sincerely,
Tanya Whelan
Guest Services Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    10
    8
    2
    5
See reviews for
15
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed in a 4th floor unit for a week in late September. The view of the Three Sisters and the other mountain peaks was stunning through the huge window! The condo was modern, clean, and well-cared for. It had one bedroom and bathroom on the main floor, one open bedroom/bath in the loft area (also with another window to the mountains). The building was very quiet during our stay, no noisy neighbors! The kitchen was well-stocked with matching dishes/utensils, all the cooking utensils we needed and was open to the living area with a gas fireplace. The beds were excellent! The place has underground parking, 3 hot tubs (we only used the one next to our unit and were the only ones there every time) and keyless entry. Everything was well set up and easy. Canmore Crossing is very close to grocery stores and other conveniences, and Canmore itself if a great central location from which to explore the beautiful Rocky Mountains! I can highly recommend this condo and would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We booked through Owner Direct and got a great one-week rental deal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya W, Manager at Canmore Crossing, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thank you for the great review Marlene V! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Canmore Crossing, with the unique set up of our two bedroom loft suites which are all located on the top floor of the building. We pride ourselves in providing exceptional resort experiences to our guests and I am glad to see that we achieved this goal during your stay! Our two bedroom loft suites are spacious, as well all our suites are clean, well cared for, and have a full kitchen provided with all amenities that you can find at home!
All of our suites provide one underground parking stall, there are two roof top outdoor hot tubs, one indoor hot tub and a fitness room all easily accessible to all of our guests should they like to venture from building to building with the common access code provided at check in!
If you’re looking for convenience of being within walking distance to our grocery stores, or being close to the heart of downtown Canmore without all the added noise this is the property for you!
I would love to welcome you back to Canmore Crossing in the future, and as a returning guest you will receive a 15% discount from our Best Available Rate.

Sincerely,
Tanya Whelan
Guest Services Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Wanting to be close to the centre of Canmore for our two night stay we booked a one bedroom suite at Canmore Crossing. The location didn't disappoint but virtually everything else about the facility did. Generally it was in desperate need of an update. The rug was stained, the bed linens were paper thin, the museum piece television sat up high above the gas fireplace, the bulb out on the patio was burned out, the tap in the kitchen dripped, and the hot tub was out of service. The parking spots in the garage were too cramped even for our compact car. And the design of the keyless door and elevator system was cumbersome and unnecessarily complex. On the plus side the kitchen was very well stocked with every possible cooking utensil and the supermarket, liquor store, and Starbucks were steps away though this did mean that the unit looked out onto the mall parking lot. Check in is at a different location so there is no one from management on site to deal directly with any questions or complaints. We love Canmore but will stay elsewhere on our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya W, Manager at Canmore Crossing, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for review of Canmore Crossing;
I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your one bedroom suite at this property, and will look into the updating of the bed linens and the tv’s.
I will pass on all maintenance items regarding the suite to our engineering team. With regards to the hot tub, once a week property management closes down one for a day so that they can clean out the hot tubs. However there are three hot tubs provided at Canmore Crossing, one in each building. Two being roof top hot tubs, and one indoor.
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the convenience of this location being so close to the heart of downtown and all the amenities, such as both grocery stores & liquor stores being two minute walk from your unit.
With the code system at Canmore Crossing and front desk being at another property sometimes guests feel as though we are not “there” for them. Our front desk at The Lodges at Canmore is open 24 hours a day 7 days a week, and if any of our guests require assistance we are happy to accommodate them.
Might I suggest in the future booking at either The Lodges at Canmore, or our sister property Solara Resort & Spa which both have our front desk staffed at all hours. Both of these locations is a little farther from downtown, but well worth it being either a two minute drive to downtown or a 10-15 minute walk.
Sincerely,
Tanya Whelan
Guest Services Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed on fourth floor in block B with great views of the mountains. The loft makes it feel more spacious and the heated floor is a nice feature. Common area include the hot tub and that is about it. Very convenient location to Safeway and Starbucks! Dislikes: no pool for kids. No a/c even though the afternoon sun is very hot and the evenings are chilly! Overall, a reasonable place to stay with a family.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBugsEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya W, Manager at Canmore Crossing, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
I’d love to welcome you back to Canmore Crossing TravelBugsEB! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the views of the glorious mountains which surround Canmore . Our loft suites are a unique unit which is on two different levels and is quite spacious. The common areas that are provided is in each building is a hot tub, in both our A & C buildings there are roof top hot tubs, and in our AB building is an indoor hot tub & fitness centre.

While we do not have a pool on site at Canmore Crossing, might I suggest booking at our sister property The Lodges at Canmore which has an outdoor pool and three outdoor hot tubs. As a return guest with a Bellstar Resort you will receive a 15% off discounted rate.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed the convenience of our location. Unfortunately not all units at Canmore Crossing are provided with Air Conditioning, however for guests enjoyment we are more than happy to have fans brought to suites.

I would love to welcome you back to a Bellstar Resort in the future.

Sincerely,
Tanya Whelan
Guest Services Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Three of us stayed in a 2 bdrm condo in building A. The room was clean and had everything we needed. Great location and we walked everywhere. The single and double beds weren't awesome but we would definitely consider staying here again for another weekend away. There were fans provided but it did get pretty warm in the room. AC would be nice but we just slept with the windows open.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya W, Manager at Canmore Crossing, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you for the great review Kim G! Glad to hear that you enjoyed staying at Canmore Crossing. The convenience of the location is a guest favorite as you are a two minute walk to either Safeway or Sobeys and a five minute walk into the heart of Downtown Canmore. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the twins in the second bedroom, however we do have two bedroom units that have queen beds provided in both bedrooms, just make sure when making the reservation that you request that specific bed configuration. I am glad to hear that we were able to provide fans in your suite during your stay, as our main goal is the comfort and enjoyment of our guests. I would like to welcome you back to Canmore Crossing in the future.
Sincerely,
Tanya Whelan
Guest Services Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brimpton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We stayed in 403 building c. The condo itself was very nice and well appointed. I did find some of the potential penalty charges a little intimidating i.e lose a key will cost $200 etc. The temperature in the unit was too warm for us even though the heating wasn't on unfortunately you couldn't open the window at night as the noise from the trains were so loud. great views of the mountains.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janos T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya W, Manager at Canmore Crossing, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thank you for the review Janos T;
I am glad to read that you enjoyed the layout of the condo suite that you stayed in during your stay at Canmore Crossing. This property is based almost in the heart of downtown within a two minute walking distance to grocery stores, and a five minute walk to downtown Canmore.

We have now changed our protocols regarding check in for Canmore Crossing. We now ask guests to check in at The Lodges at Canmore front desk, and from there we will provide guests with the access codes during a guests stay as we do not provide keys.

I was sorry to hear that you found the unit overly hot, we at front desk try to make all of our guests stay as comfortable as possible and would have been happy to provide a fan to your suite for that extra comfort.

While the property is located close to the train tracks, the amenities provided at Canmore Crossing far out weight the noise that can be heard. Guests enjoy spending time in the two outdoor roof top hot tubs, or the indoor hot tub as well as our fitness centre. Not to mention that you’re within walking distance to all the hot spots in Canmore.

I would like to welcome you back to Canmore Crossing in the future, and as a repeat guest you will receive our preferred guest rate and is available at any Bellstar Hotels & Resorts property.

Thank you,
Tanya Whelan
Guest Services Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okotoks, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We just stayed in one of the rental suites at Canmore Crossing.

There is no front desk so you are emailed 2 different codes to get into the parking lot and into your suite. Remember to hit the LOCK button on your suite door after you enter the code (when leaving) so that the door locks! The building is fairly clean.

The unit itself was pretty standard. The dishwasher was broken. The beds were just ok (but there sure is a lot of bedding in the closets!). The BBQ was dirty. The WIFI was spotty at best. And the channel changer was missing. We were traveling with 4 kids so having the remote for the TV would have been a nice thing to have!

The parking situation was annoying. We had 2 spaces available to us but the second night someone else parked in one of our spots. We called the building management and were told that we'd have to park outside, across the parking lot at Safeway. They made zero attempt to find the person that parked "illegally" in our spot. They told us that if we parked in another spot (most of which had remained empty all weekend) that someone would call the cops on us and have the vehicle towed. Not impressed.

We still managed to have a great weekend but would not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank lakureyri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya W, Manager at Canmore Crossing, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Dear lakureyri,
Thank you for your response on Tripadvisor. Canmore Crossing is a unique property that is located just steps away from downtown conveniently located within walking distance to both grocery stores, numerous trails for hiking and biking, as well as some of the best shopping in Canmore! These units boast some of the most magnificent views of the local mountains, there are also two roof top hot tubs for our guests enjoyment!
While Canmore Crossing does not have a front desk on site, the rental units guest services are based out of The Lodges at Canmore front desk. Our team at the Lodges are there for all of our guests 24hours a day and are always happy to assist with anything our guests need. If our Canmore Crossing guests have any queries or concerns we ask that they contact us directly and immediately, our numbers are on each of the phones in the units as well as the confirmation that we send with the codes. We apologise for the oversight and inconvenience of the dishwasher and remote control, we have since rectified both of those concerns. We are working with our teams to ensure that these details are not missed prior to our guests arrival.
In regards to your situation with the parking we are sorry to hear that parking was an issue during your stay and it absolutely should have been rectified while you were onsite! Our Guest Services Agents would have been more than happy to assist you and find a resolution. If guests call the property manager rather than ourselves, the rental manager, it is difficult for us to assist in a timely manner. Depending on the unit size that is rented will determine the number of parking stalls allocated, for instance a two bedroom would have one underground space and one stall allocated outside. A three bedroom would have two underground stalls and one stall allocated outside. We do provide underground parking to our guests with assigned parking. Most units do have one parking stall which is why we are happy to provide parking outside as most guests bring more than one vehicle during their stay.

We would love to host you and your family once again at Canmore Crossing or perhaps one of our other resorts that you and your family may enjoy! Please feel free to contact myself directly if you would like to discuss your stay in further detail and allow us to assist you in planning your next Canmore vacation!

Yours In Hospitality,
Tanya Whelan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
1.0 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
0.9 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#14 of 28 in Canmore
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grande Rockies Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
5.5 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
1,099 reviews
0.3 mi away
Georgetown Inn
Georgetown Inn
#9 of 28 in Canmore
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canmore Crossing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canmore Crossing

Property: Canmore Crossing
Address: 1120 Railway Ave, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1P4, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Canmore
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Canmore Crossing 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Canmore Central ResortDive into Canmore’s year-round lifestyle with your family and friends! Canmore Crossing provides everything you need to enjoy a true mountain resort experience steps from downtown Canmore with all the independence and comfort of your very own condominium. Spectacular views to Canmore Alberta’s Three Sisters mountains and surrounding peaks will draw you into the great outdoors, while the comfort of Canmore Crossings’ fully-stocked and equipped resort accommodation invites you to stay! Exceptional Canmore Lodging Experiences •Support staff through sister resort Fire Mountain Lodge•Two enclosed roof-top hot tubs (with full sun roofs)•Secure, heated underground parking•Optional housekeeping services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Canmore Crossing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canmore Crossing Hotel Canmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing