We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent meal, friendly service & friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hogshead

Hogshead
Ranked #28 of 119 Restaurants in Canmore
Price range: US$12 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Gastropub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We would like to officially introduce ourselves and invite you to unleash your inner hog! Hogshead, Canmore, was started by a group of friends, who are long time Bow Valley residents. We were looking to create a food forward restaurant where family and friends, new and old, could come together to enjoy great beers, amazing wines and fantastic foods, and we believe we have done just that! At the Hogshead, your taste buds will be dazzled with a Portuguese inspired, pub style menu, washed down by any one of our delicious beers, cocktails & wines. All of the items on our menu, including our gourmet sausages, preserves, pickles and so much more, are made fresh in house, using local meats and produce. Over the next few weeks we will be preparing a take out menu, to allow you to enjoy this amazing food in the comfort of your own home or on the go! As your newest neighbour here in beautiful Canmore, we invite each and every one of you in to find your new favorite dish!
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent meal, friendly service & friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

It was the middle of the afternoon when we stopped for a late lunch . My hubby loved the elk burger, I enjoyed the beef burger.....the chef is awesome! She makes her own receipe of pickles, meat, sausages... You will not find the dedication to great food anywhere else... She makes the buns fresh on site & has gluten free options available.... This is the place to go!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Kena123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HogsheadManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hogshead, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thanks Kena123456 for your kind words about our Chef!
Like you said, we focus on house made items as much as possible! Focaccia bread is made at Hogshead, but we must give a shout out to JK Bakery in Canmore for their delicious buns!
Hope we can serve you again soon,
Hogshead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    99
    29
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Food and Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We went to Hogshead on a friend recommendation after hiking in Kananaskis. This place is a jewel, the food is amazing and the services is top noch, thank you Abby!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marwan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HogsheadManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hogshead, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thanks Marwan C!
Glad we could fuel you up after your hike!
Enjoy your weekend,
Hogshead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Up and Coming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

All fresh and in-house made food. Some of the best pub style food I have EVER had. Our server was very knowledgable about everything from the beer, kitchen, and local area. As a local I am very happy to see a restaurant that cares about quality and the diners unlike most other spots that strive towards quick turnover. FOOD SPEAKS FOR ITSELF. Only suggestion would be to 'comfort-ize' the seating.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mg03TML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HogsheadManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hogshead, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thanks mg03TML for your awesome review!
Knowing that we are pleasing the local crowd is what we like to hear!
Have patience with us as we continue to make adjustments to the building, but we certainly hope we can serve you again soon!
Hogshead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Try the elk burger!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Great place! Unassuming from the street, almost passed by but so glad we stopped in. The elk burger is a must for anyone to try! Ingredients are fresh and the burger was juicy and delicious. Atmosphere is relaxed and appears to be popular with the locals.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HogsheadManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hogshead, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Hi Denise H,
Appreciate your feedback and thanks for posting!
Hogshead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Savory twist to anything 'typical' you may expect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Drove through Canmore for a quick meal --quick we definitely received, but with the speedy service we were surprised at the mouthwatering 'typical' foods we ordered! The Portugeuese spiced chicken wings were just as the staff promised --tender and rich in flavor! The lemon herb aioli was the perfect addition. We all ordered elk burgers (delicious!) with fries and salad and even the sides were not what you'd normally expect with a burger --very very flavorful. Spacious inside, with many screens to catch up on sports, and friendly, competent staff. Absolutely worth a visit!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jbb515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HogsheadManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hogshead, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Hey jbb515,
Thanks for the awesome comments! We are super pleased that you think we were worth the visit!
Hope to see you again,
Hogshead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hogshead also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Hogshead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing