We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”
Review of Hogshead

Hogshead
Ranked #28 of 121 Restaurants in Canmore
Price range: US$12 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Hogshead, Canmore, was started by a group of friends, who are long time Bow Valley residents. We are a casual and inviting food forward restaurant where family and friends, new and old, could come together to enjoy great locally crafted beers, amazing wines and fantastic food in our beautiful mountain setting. We believe we have done just that and invite you to come and discover your new favourite!
Houston
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

We ate dinner here on our second night in Canmore based on Trip Advisor reviews. Honestly, there are a lot great places to eat in Canmore! The food is fresh and delicious. You won't be disappointed. Service is perfect!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank huff42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    103
    31
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canby, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Good Food in a Quiet Pub”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We ate at the Hogshead Pub a little off time (lunch about 2:00) and the place was relatively quiet which was nice after a bad experience in another loud pub down the street. Service was great and quick and the food was very tasty. Prices were quite reasonable for a tourist town. All in all, a good pub experience.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A rare gem in The Rockies”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We tried the Hogshead after seeing they were number one on tripadvisor after only being open for 2 months; we were not disappointed. This unassuming restaurant styled pub uses nothing but fresh homemade selections. This reduces the number of items available on the menu but what is there is unbelievable as is the service. Fresh compotes and preserves were tangy and delicious, the elk & raisin sausage was sweet and spicy, one of the best I have ever tried in my life! The Hogshead cuts and smokes it's own bacon and again, the best tasting bacon I have ever tried and I love my bacon! Smoky, crisp, and a perfect compliment to the hash browns sautéed in duck fat. I washed it all down with a locally crafted Pilsner. If you don't eat here when in Canmore, you are making a huge mistake.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Salezdude99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Satisfaction with a smile”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Just returned from a vacation in Banff and Canmore. Never been to the area and I was wide open to suggestions of places to see and eat at. One of our stops along the way was the Hogshead restaurant. Heard from others to give it a try. We were pleasantly surprised by the friendliness of the staff and the excellent cuisine. We were told it has been open only a couple of months but it is definitely a place that with its staff and selection of menu will be there to stay. The interaction with waitresses made the entire experience so enjoyable. Also their willingness to direct us to other restaurants and tourist attractions showed that they care about not just the reputation of their establishment but also making our vacation as enjoyable as possible.
Before going there we also checked on Tripadvisor and read the negative reviews. It always interests us to see both sides of the coin. We saw that the height of the benches had been adjusted. As for the wait, I can say that any good meal is a meal worth waiting for. We timed the service and the longest we waited was just over 30 minutes. If that seems to long I do recommend the Tim Horton's a small distance away. Coffee and donut in ten minutes, yummy!!!
We did go to a few other restaurants and I will do reviews on those as well. Safe to say that our three meals at Hogshead more then added to our holiday experience. I suggest you feel free to ask any of the staff for directions to other attractions.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank NormanVoisine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HogsheadManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hogshead, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thanks so much NormanVoisine,
We appreciate the feedback on all aspects of the business, and we are super happy we hit the mark for you and your family!
Safe travels home,
Hogshead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Extremely Warm Welcome”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We were visiting the Town with friends who live in Calgary we decided a stop for lunch was needed and found the Hogshead. The young lady was extremely welcoming and went to great pains to explain the different beers, she brought us samples of several to help us make up our minds. So armed with several different beers we ordered some platters of meat and cheese with fresh bread they were all delicious so much so that we ordered a further platter and more bread! Would certainly recommend as the Staff and Food was excellent and will definitely visit again when we are next in Canada.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Jayne_M333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HogsheadManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hogshead, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Hi Jayne_M333,
So glad that we were able to enhance your Canadian experience!
Thank you for taking the time to write your thoughts on our page. We certainly hope to see you next time!
Hogshead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hogshead also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Hogshead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing