We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More then just Sushi...and many gluten free options”

Chef's Studio Japan
Ranked #66 of 121 Restaurants in Canmore
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“More then just Sushi...and many gluten free options”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My wife was craving Sushi and so we went looking for a place where we could fuel her craving. I am not a sushi lover and so I went along reluctantly. My wife is also gluten sensitive and so we needed to be sure that there would still be options for her to eat.

There were many options beyond sushi that she and I were able to have. The teriyaki sauce is made in house and they were able to make it gluten free as well as having some gluten free soy sauce.

I enjoyed the Teriyaki dinner set which came with many delicious sides (including a small seaweed salad which was unique yet good). My wife enjoyed some sashimi and a meal as well.

The staff were friendly, took care of our dietary needs and made it a great dining experience overall.

Also...as a side...their washroom walls encourage graffiti. They are chalkboards from floor to ceiling where you can write about your dining experience or other things you love about Canmore.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AStriefler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    27
    15
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canmore, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Artistic Pleasure”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

brilliant location,, scenic views of the mountains.....delightful staff....creative dishes that leave you very satisfied.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank kbarker0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Bad Service”
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

We went for dinner and we were so disappointed with the service. For the amount of staff working and the number of people in the restaurant we shouldn't have had any issues. We asked for a modification on our dinner (even said we would pay more) and they wouldn't even check with the chef. Having to ask for more water, tea, ginger and wasabi made this experience that much worse. The saving grace was the food satisfied my sushi craving.

Helpful?
1 Thank SSJL99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airdrie, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing first experience for our kids and always amazing for us”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We found this wonderful hidden treasure about three years ago on a romantic get away and instantly fell in love from the service to the freshness of the food. everything about it was amazing. We recently took our kids there including my 4 year old and found out that they loved it just as much as mom and dad do. They each had a hot plate because they thought they didn't like sushi well guess what we had to order more because they loved it that much if anyone out there is looking for an authentic Japanese restaurant Chefs Studio Japan is the place to go. From the atmosphere to the service this place is a hidden Jem in the rustic town of Canmore.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crystal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
775 reviews
378 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We wanted to find some sushi in Canmore and found Chef Studio. It was great! The sushi was fresh and very tasty. Service was exemplary even by the high standards of most Japanese restaurants. We had a great meal with sake and found the bill to be very reasonable. We will try to get back there.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chef's Studio Japan also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Chef's Studio Japan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing