We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat late or book early”
Review of Crazy Weed

Crazy Weed
Ranked #6 of 121 Restaurants in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$42
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: bow valley trail
Description: This Canmore destination restaurant established in 1997 by Jan and Richard Hrabec is renowned for its eclectic approach to food, wine and ambience. Dishes at Crazyweed utilize local ingredients. The menu includes gluten- and dairy-free options, and is vegetarian friendly. Crazyweed's contemporary décor includes big windows, mountain views and an open kitchen with wood burning oven. The restaurant boasts an intimate patio and ample parking. CBC food critic John Gilchrist called Crazyweed a "10 out of 10," and it has been featured on the Food Network's You Gotta Eat Here.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Eat late or book early”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

A modern purpose built restaurant not far from but not in the centre of Canmore. Ample car parking close by.
Very popular and rightly so. Excellent food, meat balls recommended as a shared starter by super French waiter (how cool is that!) My jerk chicken was delicious and not too hot. The complex accompaniment superb. Thai chicken also recommended with the clean fresh taste of coriander (cilantro.)
Perhaps a little more work required with puddings as selection was limited to 4 and we were disappointed banana fritters had run out leaving just 3 none of which appealed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Avante540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    538
    233
    98
    42
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Wonderful local restaurant”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Excellent food. Good for romantic evening or families. A wonder place to eat after a day of skiing One of the best restaurants in Canmore

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SimoneCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“What a difference”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Reviewed Crazy Weed before and not overly impressed but what a change. This year we have barely stopped travelling and I'm thinking the lunch at Crazy Weed may have been the best of anywhere. And that includes France and a lot of Europe. The tuna sandwich was cooked to perfection with a nice salsa type topping and duck fat fried potatoes all nestling on a bed of sharp, fresh arugula. She went with the fresh greens salad and was equally impressed. The service was quick and attentive. It's a nice ambiance with minimal clean-cut décor. It is not cheap but probably about right for Canmore. A large glass of wine ran at $20, a little pricy for lunchtime.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AJ&ERtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food great service!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I loved the new dishes. I think the highlights here are the shrimp toast and the calamari. Our waitress, Elisa, was prompt and professional. You can tell she loves her job. One of our favorite restaurants in the valley.

Helpful?
Thank Wolfy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, AB
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Amazing Food, Beautiful Atmosphere - Must Visit!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I have been hearing so many great things about CrazyWeed - and we thought, why not check it out. We arrived on a Friday with no reservation - but luckily there was a spot on the patio. We were kindly served at entry and the first hour, our service was great.

We ordered two appetizers and 3 main courses between the both of us. The menu was so delicious that we could not settle on just 1 each! We chose the Calamari (which is a must to order, especially if you love Calamari) and the Kung Pao Chicken Wings. Both were great starters and we got within 20 minutes from the kitchen. We ordered our dinner at the same time, as it was getting busy. I got the Gnocchi (which was soooo full of flavour), the Rib Eye Steak (with amazing flavorful potatoes) and hubby got the Pork Chop which he devoured. He really loved the potato cake below it.

Sadly our server was quite lacking - but I did notice the other servers were a bit more on top of things. It took over 30 mins to get served after we finished dinner - and although hubby did not want to wait to order dessert - we still did. The fried banana with ice cream just hit the spot! Sadly the hot chocolate was bland and flavorless.

We then waited another 30 minutes after to get our bill and finally decided to pay at the bar - we had waited way too long as our server chatted up other tables and completely forgot about us. So it would have ranked a high 5 stars if our service did not dwindle near the end so drastically - and we are pleasant people!!

I would definitely eat here again with no hesitation! Remember to make reservations though!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunjoyjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crazy Weed also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Crazy Weed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing