We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second time a the Alt”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ALT Hotel Quartier DIX30
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Brossard
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Second time a the Alt”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

This is actuall the thrid time I have been here but the second review I have done on this hotel. This time I got a much larger room on a low floor, frankly I like the higher floors but the room was much larger than previous trips and the thimg I abolutly love about this hotel if the stand up shower, not stepping over the wall of the tub here, and a great shower head, OK so I easy. Anyway even with the bigger room there was no more furniture so it may have looked larger then it was. I still like the higher room and the stand up shower.

Room Tip: The higher the better, hotel is located in a LARGE shopping area so if you are a shope-a-holic this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rumrummer314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at ALT Hotel Quartier DIX30, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Rumrummer314,

Thank you for posting a second review about your stay at our ALTernative hotel!

We value our regular guests and we appreciate that you took the time to write very positive comments regarding our property once again!

We take pride in knowing and writing down our clients preferences. In that sense, I invite you to send me an email (sgadbois@althotels.ca) in order for me to add your high floor preference to your profile and perhaps exchange more details regarding your previous stays.

Sincerely,

Simon Gadbois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    143
    40
    10
    4
See reviews for
46
100
21
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Bright, clean, colourful hotel. The Dix30 Mall area hosts a plethora of restaurants and shops.
The young ladies at the reception desk were warm, inviting, and very helpful.

I was in the area on business and had scheduled a room for 9 days. Opening the door to my room, I was surprised at the styling. It was ok, but I didn't get a "warm feeling". I started to unpack.....tiny closet....no dresser...only 1 drawer in the base of the bed.

The bathroom was large and I loved the glass shower - beaufiful. I loved the corner windows my room had. Lots of daylight -- bonus.The pillows and bed were amazing -- very comfortable.

Now - being there for planned 9 days - and being an active person, I went to the lobby to inquire about two very important things....coffee for the morning (there is a Kuerig machine in the room but no cups, coffee, tea etc) and to find the fitness room.

I was directed to the wall in the lobby where flavours of single Kuerig coffees were in abundance -- then was told I had to buy them... $2 ea + tax and they would give me the (paper) cups when purchased. Really?

I asked about the Fitness room -- there isn't one. You can however, use Gold's Gym which is attached to the hotel along the block. But - there is a fee...although, you get 50% off the drop in fee. :( Lets see....9 days x drop in fee = $100 ++. Guess I won't be hitting the gym much.

Disappointment set in. I loved the area. But the "little things" that count were not offered here.
I purchased 2 individual coffees, got my 2 cups, and headed back to my room. For such a trendy, modern place, and the fact the cost involved in a Kuerig machine in the room - puzzled me why the customer be nickled & dimed for a cup of coffee? It's been several years, and many business trips since I have stayed somewhere without this feature. A little thing....but thats what a good customer experience is all about.

In the morning, I was to meet my co-worker in the lobby - there is a coffee shop attached to the hotel lobby we would have a coffee/breakfast at before we headed to the office.....it was closed?! Now, although there are many little restaurants in the mall, it was the "close, convenient" one we wanted to use. We left - and hit the closest Tim Horton's.

Sharing my disappointment, my co-worker and I moved onto our work day. On our way, we found another hotel, and dropped in. This hotel was only a few kms away and included coffee makers in the room, a large, homey suite, and included breakfast...for the same price (and had a fitness room and pool). We returned to the Alt within 30 min - and checked out. The ladies at the desk, were helpful but did not seem too sad or disappointed to see two of us checking out of our 9 day (each) booking.

The Alt is a nice hotel, very modern, and probably perfect for a one-night stay. Not recommended for multi-nights or business-trip stays.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McFadKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at ALT Hotel Quartier DIX30, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear McFadKim,

We really appreciate your constructive feedback.

First of all, we want to thank you for the very positive comments regarding the look and design of the hotel. As the hotel industry is always evolving, we strongly believe it is important to remain trendy and visually interesting.

Most importantly, I really enjoyed reading your analysis about living a long term experience with us. Your feedback definitely points out the elements that need to be worked on. We are in the process of implementing free coffee in our rooms and travellers like yourself surely help our project to move forward as this little extra makes a considerable difference especially for long term stays. As far as the gym services, as we have a great relationship with Gold Gym, I am sure a special package for long term guests could possibly be created.

I am really sorry to hear that you finally chose another hotel, especially if you appreciate our front desk staff. However, your general point of view is valid and will significantly help improve our services.

Best regards,

Simon Gadbois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

We were so pleased to see the treats for our little one, as this place was built for pets, who had their owners with them. It was a great use of space, and comfort was easy. We look forward to the next visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraldobarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at ALT Hotel Quartier DIX30, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Geraldobarrie,

How wonderful to read your review!

We feel that your animal should experience a service as personnalized as the one you receive.

In that sense, we really enjoy spoiling our client's pets and we are looking forward to see you again.

Thank you very much for your comments!

Best regards,

Simon Gadbois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Great hotel, very posh and so close to the mall area. There are so many great restaurants around. Very convenient and very well priced. I especially loved the restaurant on the 2nd floor (if I remember correctly), it was sooo great.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeatriceTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at ALT Hotel Quartier DIX30, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear BeatriceTO,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us!

We are very glad that you underlined the variety of restaurants we can find in the shopping mall as it could be perceived for the travellers as a great shopping spot only.

There are wonderful restaurants to discover and I am sure this will convince you to come back.
In fact, you know that you will always count on our hotel at a reasonable price!

Warmest regards,

Simon Gadbois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed witht he family on a Saturday night. Only spent one night, so my review is based on that. Here are first the pros: excellent location amongst shops and restaurants for all budgets, free easily accessed parking, very cool modern design, super comfortable beds, bathroom like a mini spa.

the cons: a bit noisy (heard cars and tractos cleaning parking lot during the night, very basic. No in room fridge or microwave, no pool, no gym. Absolutely nothing to do in the hotel with a family (there is a small bar in the lobby but never saw anyone there). The TV chanels were mostly French.

Overall a comfortable and funky place to spend the night.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenilee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at ALT Hotel Quartier DIX30, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Google Translation
Chère jenilee2,

Nous sommes bien contents de savoir que vous avez apprécié le design de nos chambres lors de votre séjour. Votre descriptif démontre bien que notre offre en termes d’hébergement se démarque et qu’elle propose toujours un séjour ALTernatif, bien distincte des hôtels traditionnels. J’ai particulièrement aimé le comparatif de la salle de bain avec un mini spa!

Nous sommes également très reconnaissants que vous ayez inclus dans votre avis ce qui vous a déplu pendant votre séjour. Ceci nous permet de se concentrer sur les aspects à améliorer. Tout d’abord en ce qui a trait aux bruits, nous allons vérifier attentivement si les camions de déneigement ont pu causer les distractions durant votre séjour en janvier et nous essayerons d’apporter les ajustements nécessaires.

Pour ce qui est des fours micro-ondes et frigos, nous pouvons en fournir sur demande afin d’accommoder les familles. L’absence d’une piscine suit l’esprit de simplicité « chic, sans artifices » des hôtels ALT voulant que nous nous concentrions sur les éléments essentiels dont le confort dans les chambres afin de permettre aux voyageurs de bénéficier d’une tarification abordable tout au cours de l’année.

Merci d’avoir partagé vos commentaires avec nous.

ALTernativement vôtre,

Simon Gadbois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

I Stayed there for one night with my wife. I guess being amongst high end stores, and high end restaurants, you would expect something above average for the hotel. Check in went very well and smoothly , front desk staff was helpful. Paid 12$ for a can of coke, a can of mineral water and a an energy drink. The room was clean , nicely decorated, never been to a hotel where the shampoo bottles and liquid hand soap bottles were BOLTED down both next to the bathroom sink and in the shower. Guess they really don't want people to steal shampoo. Found the keurig machine, and since I read a previous review saying there was such a machine, I brought my own kcups... however there is no mug, no sugar / whitener. Only two glasses in the bathroom, not even a plastic glass to be found anywhere. Had to go to the bar at the lobby to get wine glasses. Very basic hotel , could be considered a Motel if there weren't as many floors. Oh ya, went out for supper and came back around midnight or so, walked in the front door and was greeted by a not very smiley , well built , intimidating security guard. We smiled and said Hi, I guess he was going through some kind of protein withdrawal or something but he never acknowledged us. I would stay again but only if there was a special rate, there are other options much better than this one, not that far away.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie B, General Manager at ALT Hotel Quartier DIX30, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Warren M,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us.

The concept of ALT Hotels is to offer the basic luxuries: great service, comfort & design at one unique rate all year long (even during Grand Prix weekend). Unfortunately, while reading your comments, it seems that we did not explain our services in detail on your arrival and unfortunately it tamed your experience with us.

Our services, minibar items, coffee and tea cups, wine glasses, coffee mugs, etc ... are available and centralized at the front desk. The prices for non-alcoholic beverages varies from 2$ to 4,50$ so if you see that we have made a mistake, please contact us and we will correct it.

As for our bathroom amenities, we have opted in the last couple of years for containers with a pump (instead of small plastic containers for eco-friendly purposes) and the best way for us to have them in place is by fixing them in stainless supports.

We will address the greeting you received from the security guard as I totally agree with you that he should be as friendly to our guests as the rest of our staff is.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to have the pleasure of having us as our guest in a near future.

I take this opportunity to wish you & your loved ones and Happy & Healthy New Year from the ALT team.

Sincerely,

Julie Brisebois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

The Alt hotel is a great hotel! It is very modern, with new technologies, and gorgeous bathroom with wonderful fruits and passion bathroom products for guests to use! you're given a very healthy tasty breakfast that can easily be eaten there or on the go, it gets delivered to your room every morning!
The only downfall to this hotel is that if you're staying with your family their lobby does turn into a nigh club sort of setting at night with loud music that plays into the night.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaceythurston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brossard
Hotel Brossard
#1 of 10 in Brossard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Comfort Inn Brossard
#5 of 10 in Brossard
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Inn & Suites
#4 of 10 in Brossard
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Le Sud-Ouest (Southwest District)
ALT Hotel Montreal Griffintown
Econo Lodge Brossard
#8 of 10 in Brossard
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ALT Hotel Quartier DIX30? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ALT Hotel Quartier DIX30

Property: ALT Hotel Quartier DIX30
Address: 6500 Blvd de Rome, Brossard, Quebec J4Y 0B6, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Brossard
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Brossard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — ALT Hotel Quartier DIX30 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being ALTernative means moving in new directionsALT is the balance between modernity, a dynamic and colourful ambience, comfort, and well-thought out location.At ALT, eco-responsability means doing away with room service, valets and doormen: ALT focuses on your needs, on the essential things that bring added value to your stay.Our "service light" approach allows us to offer guests a unique rate: the same price, every day, all year round!When you choose ALT, you are opting for a hotel with centralized free WiFi access and much more!The ALT Hotel banner belongs to Groupe Germain Hospitality, a Canadian family owned company, pioneer of the Hotel-boutique concept, with its headquarters in Quebec City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your ALT Hotel Quartier DIX30 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alt Hotel Brossard
ALT Hotel Quartier DIX30 Brossard, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing