We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Restaurant, Good Atmosphere …. Large groups a little challenge”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Tomate Blanche

La Tomate Blanche
Ranked #7 of 213 Restaurants in Brossard
Price range: US$25 - US$50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Boul de Rome
Transit: Au coeur du Quartier Dix/30
Jackson, Tennessee
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant, Good Atmosphere …. Large groups a little challenge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

We had reservations for this restaurant for a group of 20 on a Wednesday night at 7:00pm. There was plenty of room in the place they had set up for us. The seating space was adequate. The only down side from this experience was that the management should have assigned more servers to our large table.

Drinks were slow to be served and a little confusion and only 1 waitress took the order for the whole table (20+ minutes to do so because folks do not have their selection ready). However, the rest of the evening was great. The restaurant had suggested a 3 course meal. Two different appetizers, 3 main entrées and 2 desserts. All which were well presented, prepared and tasteful.

Overall, for a large group as this was I think they did very good. My compliments and recommendations to the establishment. Price-wise, I do not have a rating because our company sponsored the dinner  …

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sts9292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    80
    36
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
montreal
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great food, but unfriendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

We had a great meal at this Brossard restaurant. The veal was exquisite, the salmon wonderful and the (pricely) wine list quite impressive. However, such a great experience could have been much more wonderful if we had had attentive service. Food and drinks were delivered quite mecanically to us, our waitress didn't even have the shadow of a smile although she was polite, but realy we could have been a number, no genuine attention... too bad.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Montrealflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good italian food, needs a new Maitre D”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

Tomate Blanche is an interesting choice if you're seeing a show at Etoile Dix30. It is on the expensive side (a bit too much for what it's worth), but you can't beat the convenience of walking to the theatre after dinner. You can even park downstairs and take the elevator right to the second floor to enter the restaurant.
You will find everything one expects from an italian restaurant worthy of the name, risotto, pasta, osso bucco, tempting fish and sea food dishes, etc.
There were 5 of us last night, we had the salmon tartare, seared foie-gras, duck risotto, sea food linguini, another pasta dish, and veal parmigiana. Everything was very good.
Service was on the slow side. It seems that this restaurant is not run as well as its price range dictates when it comes to managing the dining room. Before we got our main dishes, they screwed up and brought us the main dishes that were ordered by another table. We knew we hadn't ordered black cod, so the mistake was quickly corrected, but it's a sign that something's wrong in the way they're organized. Also they mismatched the plates on every service (serving the wrong plate to the wrong person around the table). No biggie, but again not what you expect from a 200$ meal for 3. Didn't ruin the experience, just gave us a feeling of "dommage..."
Pros: Food. Interesting menu, well executed in the kitchen. Good wine list, with a comprehensive list of bottles at 39$. Nice selection of Toscan wines. Wines by the glass. Nice decor. Location if you activities bring you to Quartier Dix30.
Cons: Service OK, but just not up to par. Expensive. Location if you're not into huge lifestyle shopping centres like Quartier Dix30.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mon_onc_steph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good service, nice ambiance but.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012 via mobile

We had a business dinner on a Tuesday evening. Food was very good but quite expensive for what you get. Ambiance was very nice however the service was extremely slow. I don't know if they were under staffed but we had to keep waving at our waiter to try and get his attention. When we did get him to come to us he wasn't very friendly....quite curt actually. Won't go back again....too many other gteat choices of restaurants in the area.

Helpful?
1 Thank Denfor17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Level Contributor
177 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

Waiter was "out of it". Plain water became sparkling. Ages before drinks orders taken. Dessert menus arrived while we were finishing appetisers. No finesse. Antipasto and caprese salad excellent. Osso bucco was fab but gremolade was ordered on side and wasn't, black cod divine but luke warm. Tiramisu lacking rum and brandy! Cannolli ok. All In all food nice, service patchy for a quiet Thursday night.

Helpful?
Thank Cassandra595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Tomate Blanche also viewed

 
Brossard, Quebec
 
Brossard, Quebec
 

Been to La Tomate Blanche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing