We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loud with cold, flavourless food.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Brock House

The Brock House
Ranked #11 of 314 Restaurants in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Loud with cold, flavourless food.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We went as a family for my father's birthday. The set up of the restaurant was not very well thought out. There are no sound buffers at all. We were almost having to yell across the table to hear each other as the bar area was sooooooo loud. My appetizer was cold and rubbery. My steak was overcooked and flavourless. The best part of the meal was the potatoes.....and I don't really care for potatoes!!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Charity H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    109
    59
    36
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

If your looking for a place to go for a special occasion brunch this is great. They have usual breakfast fare. Plus custom made omelets, too your own waffles with many topping available. We've been many times and never disappointed always leave stuffed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sunsandlover77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Food is acceptable but overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Beautiful and inviting outside and in, with a fantastic u-shaped wooden bar. Food is good to very good, but is a little overpriced compared to other local restaurants.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shaelster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Food was not bad but poor and slow service. Took forever to get through dinner. Menu wasn't imaginative.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Moocha007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
495 reviews
312 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Awful...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Just went here for my mom's birthday dinner on Sunday. She chose the place although I am not sure why as we had had a meal there previously and it wasn't good. I ordered the meatball panini and she ordered the roast beef and yorkshire puddings starter.

It arrived almost immediately which worried me as that makes me think that it was just sitting there in the kitchen. My mom had one bite and then not another. She did not like it- she thought that it was basically store bought yorkshire puddings and it was bad. The server (to her defence) offered to get her something else but my mom declined. My meatball sub was just alright. Honestly I would have prefered to go to Mcdonalds over this place.

My mom's meal was compted which was nice of them but honestly I would have just preferred a great meal to celebrate my mom's birthday vs. a free one. We ended up going to Dairy Queen after to get a blizzard. How sad is that!!?

I said it once and I will say it again- if you want a quality, fresh meal worth the money you pay for it, go to Chatterpauls...

Would I return? No.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovedgreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Brock House also viewed

 
Whitby, Ontario
Whitby, Ontario
 

Been to The Brock House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing