We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok!”
Review of Motel 6 Whitby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Whitby
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Whitby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ok!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

The rooms are very small but for the price its ok plus they allow kids under 17 to stay free (not too many places in canada allows that) there is no swimming pool/no activities limited bed linens/pillows, Thank God we bought our own.. Its within walking distance to nice places to eat. The receptionist at the front desk is not kids friendly very nasty to kids (black lady with dreads) while u are there check out the community center there they hsve a nice play area for kids free of cost and a great pool with water slides for only $3.00 pp

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sonia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    41
    40
    12
    29
See reviews for
38
39
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Can't beat the location and amenties and value for money. The staff are extremely friendly and accommodating, really go above and beyond ensuring my stay is just right. I have stayed here a couple of dozen times for work and will continue to stay here when in town on business. Many happy returns, I look forward to returning :)

Room Tip: Ask for a wee fridge room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCCblue69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Booked a non smoking room on a busy weekend, was given a room that had a severe funk odor in it. Best described as an ashtray rotting inside an animal carcass - possibly left in the rain. Request was denied for a room change, stuck here. Went to restaurant across the street and brought back left overs to balance ontop of the tv infront of the ac vent to improve the smell. We preferred the combo of cigarettes & BBQ sauce to the turd pie we walked into. Stay elsewhere, I'd suggest a local shelter. Also worth noting, turned down the bed to sleep, several pubic hairs were found of the long variety, they were in the bed and on the pillows. I'd recommend this hotel if you are into hookers & general gross toss of that nature. Please read all reviews and don't make the same mistake - sleep in your car! 5 stars were given for a top ranked turd!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Happygo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The friendly staff and service here is amazing! When me and my family were stuck they were more than accomodating and super helpful. Thank you motel 6. I highly recommend staying here. We could not be happier with how we were treated.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skidder80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson's Point, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This hotel was a a bit disappointing. Although it looks alright from the outside, once you step it you may feel like you paid too much.
Located right on the Brock St exit in Whitby, it is a good location for someone who just needs a stop for cheap or need a cheap hotel for a night event.
I stayed here because I was in a wedding, I had already paid for a ton of stuff to prepare so i decided to cheap out on the hotel as the Holiday Inn and the Residence Inn were very pricy for that night.
When you first arrive at the front desk, the smell of cigarettes was a bit overwhelming. The front desk staff seemed like a robot, no greeting just checked us in, swiped my credit card and gave room keys. The place looked a little grimy, and had not been updated in a few years. The room itself was ordinary, tv was a dinosaur (had the box on the back and was in a very uncomfortable spot ( hard to look watch from the bed). Bed was ok for the night but any longer and it would have been an emergency trip to the chiropractor. Washroom had obviously not been fully looked at in a while, shower curtain was yellow and the toilet hadnt been scrubbed fully and the sink was starting to corrode as the tap wouldnt turn off.
All in all if you are looking for a bed to sleep in but not much else this would be satisfactory but with the number of hotels along this stretch of highway or in Whitby, this would be the last place i would stay.
I am from Whitby so I am aware of the motels and hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Choose non smoking, unless you can stand it!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ont, canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Remember to say non smoking if you can't stand the smell and tell them to put you far away from the smoking rooms because the smell seeps under the door. The bed was comfortable and clean. The bathroom needs a little help. It's a cheap place to stay if you can get a room away from the smoking rooms.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank cdcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The motel 6 in whitby, is comparable to a modern day concentreation camp. As you walk through the doors, the smell of ciguretes lingers through the air, the one staff memeber in the hotel, is very, VERY disrespectful. The comforters are ideal for a 4 year old childs room. There is a weird brown substance that is unremovable stuck to the bath tub. If you have a sliver of respect for your self, DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bbbbbbnnaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Whitby hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitby
Quality Suites
#2 of 7 in Whitby
155 reviews
Vanier
Travelodge Oshawa Whitby
Residence Inn Whitby
#1 of 7 in Whitby
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Oshawa
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Oshawa Downtown - Toronto Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Whitby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Whitby

Property: Motel 6 Whitby
Address: 165 Consumers Dr, Whitby, Ontario L1N 1C4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Whitby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Whitby 2*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Toronto East - Whitby we welcome our guests 24 hours a day with a comfortable environment at the lowest rates of any national chain. Free Wi-Fi in all modern guest rooms, and a Mini Fridge available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Motel 6 Whitby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Whitby Hotel Whitby
Motel Six Whitby
Whitby Motel 6
Whitby Motel Six
Motel 6 Whitby Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing