We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
23
20
19
18
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
20
19
18
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews older part chain hotel beautiful pool jacuzzi tub comfortable beds bar fridge complimentary breakfast night stay lots of parking excellent stay bathrobes staycation courtyard oktoberfest conditioner upgrades lounge
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2018

Stayed here while visiting my son at one of the local universities.

It was probably the most reasonably priced place in close proximity to the University of Waterloo and Wilfred Laurier University.

Some aspects of the place are slightly dated but the service was good, the pool was clean, lots of parking and well located.

Also a short, highway drive to Stratford if attending the summer festival.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel K, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn of Waterloo & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Hi Kevin W
We are happy to have had you as a guest and we hope that you come back often while your son is in the area. Thank you for leaving us a review and please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

I recently spent a night at this hotel and for the most part found it acceptable. The hotel needs an upgrade of its rooms, they where ok but not great. The rugs were clean but had a few stains but I don't hold that much against the rooms seeing I have been in a hotel brand new (less than 6 months) and there was stains on its carpet. The a.c. worked ok but the blackout curtains (that did work) went to the floor so the a.c. was hampered with its cooling. The tv was a good size and had a good arm to swivel it for ease of viewing. But for all you travellers that like to plug in your laptop or tablet in the tv to watch a movie or game it didn't have a HDMI plug so take your vga cables/adapters with you.
The staff at the front desk were courteous but had a bit of a problem with the computer system.
I wonder if the upper management ever stick their heads out of the offices and actually look at the propetry they are managing. The reason i say this is because in both elevators in the room tower(don't know if they have more elevators that that) are still advertising last springs mother's day and Easter menus and the bar food menu for the spring.
The breakfast buffet was typical of many hotels free breakfast but had a lot of free space between stations.
The snacks at the front desk were priced fairly reasonably.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank tracybA9171WJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel K, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn of Waterloo & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Hi Tracy B
Thank you for the review. We have taken many of your points and tried to improve on the guest experience.We alwaysappreciate the suggestions and feedback from our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

The Inn of Waterloo & Conference Centre is a very basic place - basic rooms which come with breakfast.

It is well located. Reasonably close to the University of Waterloo - a 10 minutes bus ride or a 35 minutes walk. Bus stand is just outside the hotel, which is convenient.

There is a nice mall nearby (walking distance), which has some nice shops (including mobile service operators if you need a phone connection and a branch of CIBC and TD Bank if you need to open a bank account or need any other services) and a food court which helps with lunch and dinner options.

There is also a Dollarama and a Pizza Pizza place that you can walk to as well. This is a 10 minutes walk from the back of the hotel.

We had a twin queen bed room which was spacious. The air conditioning worked, which was good as it was warm for the past few days. The ward robe (really small) provided requires some effort to open. No hangars. We removed the bath robes that were on hangars and used the couple that were available. The bathroom was okay though the knob was damaged but worked. Carpets really need shampooing.

The breakfast is basic - including toast, eggs, waffles, cereals (very very small cups / bowls available to take / have cereals), juice and yoghurt. We enjoyed the juice and yoghurt. It is self service.

Simply put, the place is a two star hotel which is undergoing renovation (though no signs of it visible) for quite some time so not sure when you can realistically expect to see improvements. If you can be realistic (expect less) with your expectations, it will work for you.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Sandeep1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel K, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn of Waterloo & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Thank you for your review. Our refresh and renovations have certainly been ongoing and we are diligently working on upgrading as much as we can. Our guest satisfaction is very important to us and we appreciate guests such as yourself who stay and enjoy themselves. We hope that you will be able to come stay with us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

This hotel appears neglected and in need of an update. Has a run down 90s feel. Breakfast was powdered eggs, tater tots, and canned fruit salad. Equipment in gym in disrepair. Carpet in room stained. Mismatched sheets. Not value for what I paid. Recommend that you keep looking.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank briandwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel K, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn of Waterloo & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Hi Brian Dean W
Thank you for your review. We have looked into everything you mentioned and made some changes. We apologize for all of the inconveniences and hope that our efforts will result in a better stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed there 2 years ago when it underwent new management or owners and they were renovating it then. Went back yesterday and it's still under renovation but quality has severly suffered since our last trip. The first time was exceptional. This time was not. To start, we got there around 4:45pm to find out our room was not ready as the soccer teams staying there had not checked out yet. They gave us another identical room which we didn't mind as we just needed it to lay our heads for the night before the long trip back home. The room was very dirty. Seemed like it hadn't even been cleaned. We asked twice for them to clean it while we visited family and both times, it was not done properly. The carpet floors were all damp and smelled of urine. The bathtub,walls, counter and toilet had not seen a good scrub in who knows how long. I ran my finger in the tub in the "stained area" and was easily able to remove film. They left a dirty towel for our floor mat on the side of the tub. The faucets were coated. The shower curtain, wall and door had some weird orangey stuff on it. The carpets were also covered in dirt everywhere. We asked for them to vacuum the first time and even left the original piece of string on the floor to see if they'd actually vacuum but of course they didn't. The beds had grass on them and some dirt under the sheets. They swore they had changed the sheets. If it wasn't for the fact that we were utterly exhausted from driving all day, we would have left that night and drove back home. The pool they claim is saltwater smells so strong of chlorine. The pool water was actually milky looking. The humidity in the building was stifling. So much that the windows throughout looked foggy. The hot/cold breakfast options have been dramatically scalled back. Not nearly as appealing as the last time we were there so we took the kids and went out for breakfast before heading home. We did complain to the front desk. Felt really bad because it's not her fault. The cleaner should be fired as they lied twice about actually cleaning the room when they obviously didn't. All in all we were very disappointed with the decline of this place considering how much we loved it 2 yrs ago. Unfortunately, we will have to find another place to stay when we return next time. Hard to see in the pictures but the floor was sprinkled with black dots of dirt everywhere. I cleaned a spot on the bathtub faucet with a cloth to show front desk how easy it was to clean up properly. My camera doesn't capture all the detail but enough to see some of what we saw.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank chris d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews