We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Average Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Waterloo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed at the Courtyard Marriott St Jacobs this past weekend for a night away for our anniversary. It was ok but truthfully nothing special.

The staff at the front desk seemed to be students and all were pleasant and efficient. The room was nice enough but again, nothing special. The only thing that stuck out in my mind was how old the elevator seemed! Beds are comfortable and I liked that they had two different pillows at each place in the bed so you could choose which one was more comfortable.

The room layout was a bit odd but it worked.

Breakfast was included in our room but we checked out then went to breakfast and were told that since we had already checked out there was no way to find out if our room had in fact included breakfast. I was surprised that the staff member at the front desk didn't mention anything since we said we were on our way to breakfast and then that the bistro attendant didn't offer any type of solution, just that our room was labelled as vacant so we couldn't get breakfast. We were in a bit of a rush so didn't even bother, we just went to a restaurant in the Village which had a great brunch buffet.

All in all, it was an average hotel.

Room Tip: The fireplace was a nice touch but in June, not needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AEB414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William M, General Manager at Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2015

Good day,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear it was an enjoyable one!

While there are numerous hotels in the area to choose from we thank you for choosing ours to stay at. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the Waterloo/ St. Jacobs area!

William MacCallum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

351 - 357 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

This is a brand new operation and the staff were very efficient. Free wi-fi at a Marriott, times have changed.
Nice coffee shop and free newspaper, price is a bit high but no competition yet- Hilton nearing completion next door should bring down the price.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Davidlowe46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William M, General Manager at Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2015

Good day,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear it was an enjoyable one!

While there are numerous hotels in the area to choose from we thank you for choosing ours to stay at. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the Waterloo/ St. Jacobs area!

William MacCallum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

What a great change from the old Best Western! The rooms were nicely appointed and very clean, not huge but just fine. We rented four rooms and one ended up being a one bedroom suite. Nice size living room/bar prep area for entertaining, again not huge but just right. Great little bistro downstairs with good food. I really like the atmosphere in this hotel. The location is super from the farmers market and outlet stores. Not far from Kitchener Waterloo busier areas. Very friendly staff throughout. Quite an enjoyable stay really. Not cheap but not outrageous either. I like the small intimate feel as well. I believe the farmers market is open Thursday and Saturday with Tuesdays added in the summer.

Room Tip: Try for the suite if you are there for more than a few nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrissy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William M, General Manager at Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2015

Good day,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear it was an enjoyable one!

While there are numerous hotels in the area to choose from we thank you for choosing ours to stay at. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the Waterloo/ St. Jacobs area!

William MacCallum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This hotel is newly renovated, so everything is new and clean. Very close to the University of Waterloo. The room was spacious, clean, quiet, nicely decorated...bed was comfortable. Definitely staying here when we're visiting the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheechhas3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William M, General Manager at Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2015

Good day,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear it was an enjoyable one!

While there are numerous hotels in the area to choose from we thank you for choosing ours to stay at. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the Waterloo/ St. Jacobs area!

William MacCallum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

My partner and I stayed overnight in this hotel because we wanted to go to the Farmer's Market in the morning. We stayed in a spacious room with a nice comfy king bed. It is very clean, quiet and comfortable. The location is close to an outlet mall and on a nice sunny day, one can walk to the market.I do not think breakfast is included in the price(which I think is a little steep).

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank courtice8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William M, General Manager at Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2015

Good day,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear it was an enjoyable one!

While there are numerous hotels in the area to choose from we thank you for choosing ours to stay at. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the Waterloo/ St. Jacobs area!

William MacCallum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

I just paid 250 dollars for a very small room in a hotel that doesn't even have a pool or sauna, I was watching TV and checking my mail and suddenly the Internet and TV connection went off, I call front desk several times 6 with no answer, at the 7 call they told me that they have a problem with the service and that they called the provider (Rogers); remain the whole night with no tv and no Internet, really disappointed of this place, will never stayed here again. Look somewhere else folks this place is not worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Adriantoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa G, Manager at Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to relay your recent experience at the Courtyard by Marriott Waterloo St Jacobs. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced due to the internet and cable outage we experienced between the hours of 12:30am and 5:30am last Saturday. We strive to answer guest’s calls within 3 rings and if we are not able to it’s our goal to call a guest back within 15min. During this event associates were attempting to resolve the technical difficulties so did mean that calls were missed but attempts were made to return any missed calls. Despite the outage being area wide and beyond our control we understand how frustrating it can be for guests and it’s our objective to have every guest satisfied with their stay. For this reason we were offering compensation for guests affected by the outage; please feel free to contact me to make such an arrangement. It’s my hope that we are able to resolve this disappointment for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

Marriott recently gutted the old Best Western St. Jacobs and has modernized this hotel as a new Courtyard. Clean rooms, friendly staff, a free shuttle to local businesses and a Starbucks cafe in the lobby. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PGorms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William M, General Manager at Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2015

Good day,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear it was an enjoyable one!

While there are numerous hotels in the area to choose from we thank you for choosing ours to stay at. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the Waterloo/ St. Jacobs area!

William MacCallum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterloo hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waterloo - St Jacobs
0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Waterloo/St. Jacobs, Ontario, Canada
3.3 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Waterloo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterloo
1.7 mi away
The Inn of Waterloo & Conference Centre
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Waterloo Ontario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs

Address: 50 Benjamin Rd, Waterloo, Ontario N2V 2J9, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Waterloo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Waterloo
Price Range: £65 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Marriott Waterloo St Jacobs (formerly the Best Western Plus St Jacobs Country Inn) has been recently renovated & features the Bistro Restaurant serving made-to-order breakfast (6am - 10am) & dinner (5pm - 10pm) daily. Lunch available Saturdays. Also features a full-service bar. All guest rooms have a small fridge, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus St. Jacobs Country Hotel Waterloo
Best Western St Jacobs Country Inn Waterloo
Best Western St Jacobs Country Inn Hotel Waterloo
Waterloo Best Western St Jacobs
Country Inn Waterloo
Best Western Waterloo
Waterloo Country Inn
Best Western Saint Jacobs Country Inn Hotel Waterloo
Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing