We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Waterloo
Certificate of Excellence
Guelph, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, pleasant stay”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I stayed in the Marriott Courtyard St Jacobs on a free voucher last month. I was impressed with the room and the look of the hotel. The lobby is really nice, and the Bistro has a really good breakfast tacos and Starbucks coffee. It also has a bar open until about 10 pm. It is located next to the St Jacobs Playhouse and very near Jacks restaurant. A short drive away is the town of St Jacobs which has some charming shops, and the St Jacobs outlet stores are even closer. St Jacobs is a nice place to get away for a night in the summer especially. This winter visit was a nice night away for a change of scenery..

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ornella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa G, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your comments about your recent visit to the area. We are very lucky to be part of the St Jacobs community in all it has to offer. I hope you have an opportunity to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    93
    21
    11
    6
See reviews for
55
95
5
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lindsay, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

A hotel that has exactly the breakfast options I want--I love it! I don't want fancy buffets or even sit-down service when I'm travelling on business; I just want to be able to get really good coffee (they have Starbucks) and a simple bagel or yogurt or fruit or breakfast sandwich, all of which they offer. I love the location on the edge of Waterloo and close to scenic countryside, and the renovations and new decor are really lovely. Sparse on in-room information, but I guess they figure you'll look it all up on the free in-room Wi-Fi. Would be a nice spot for families in the summer visiting the farmers' market ans surrounding area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeeCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa G, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your compliments about The Bistro Restaurant, guestrooms, Wi-Fi and location. We hope you can come back to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
404 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel overnight while attending a friend's anniversary party. We were told that this was a Best Western Hotel before and was renovated approximately a year and a half ago. Great location which is not far from the highway exit and down the street from the St. Jacob's Farmer's Market, although the address is Waterloo. The hotel is very clean with modern decor. The rooms are spacious with comfortable beds and clean. We ordered snacks from the on site restaurant and received our food promptly. Breakfast was included with our room stay and provided quite a few options. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ProfessorOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa G, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share you kind words. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you as our guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed 1 night after a party in Waterloo.
Check in fast, friendly.
Hotel has just been renovated so looked awesome.

Area is nice, we went for a short hiking along a river in St. Jacobs, visited local stores, had lunch in a Benjamin's restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simplythebest365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa G, Manager at Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thanks for your review. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and in the beautiful St. Jacobs area. There is lots to experience here, so we hope you'll come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I travel a lot on business and stay at many marriotts in the USA and i have to say this is one the nicest ones that i have seen. I would definitely recommend it to whoever is in the area. great beds!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank satap1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa G, Manager at Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
We really appreciate your kind words. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Great location, next to St Jacob Theatre. Hotel is clean, and modern. Front desk were very friendly, helpful and efficient. Rooms were well appointed, but the AC/heating system was noisy.

The Bistro staff could use some customer service training. They were uninterested and not the least bit friendly. On 2 occasions, I waited at the counter for service, then finally went to the “staff only” door to the kitchen to alert them that there were customers waiting. Very unapologetic, and reluctantly took orders.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Shipsortrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa G, Manager at Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are always striving to do better and your feedback helps us to do just that. We're glad to hear that your stay with us was overall a positive one, but were sorry to hear about your experience with the Bistro. Please be assured that your comments will be shared with our Food and Beverage team.

Hopefully we will see you again on your next visit to the area, and the team at the Bistro will have an opportunity to redeem themselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

What a great place! Clean, modern, and the service was top notch.

Everyone was super nice and friendly. The cleanliness of the rooms and common areas was the best I have seen. The beds were first rate, comfortable, and had sheets with high thread counts.

Starbucks' coffee available in the cafe for a good price. Food was a little high priced for the quality, but it is a hotel!. Evenings (5-7) including a free appetizer. Nice place to unwind and work!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sawdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa G, Manager at Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your review. We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and are especially pleased that you singled out our wonderful and hardworking staff. We take great pride in our service, so your recognition means a lot to us. Hopefully we'll see you again on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterloo hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waterloo - St Jacobs
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Waterloo/St. Jacobs, Ontario, Canada
1.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Waterloo-Kitchener
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Waterloo
1.7 mi away
The Inn of Waterloo & Conference Centre
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Waterloo Ontario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs

Property: Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs
Address: 50 Benjamin Rd, Waterloo, Ontario N2V 2J9, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Waterloo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Waterloo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Marriott Waterloo St Jacobs (formerly the Best Western Plus St Jacobs Country Inn) has been recently renovated & features the Bistro Restaurant serving made-to-order breakfast (6am - 10am) & dinner (5pm - 10pm) daily. Lunch available Saturdays. Also features a full-service bar. All guest rooms have a small fridge, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus St. Jacobs Country Hotel Waterloo
Best Western St Jacobs Country Inn Waterloo
Best Western St Jacobs Country Inn Hotel Waterloo
Waterloo Best Western St Jacobs
Country Inn Waterloo
Best Western Waterloo
Waterloo Country Inn
Best Western Saint Jacobs Country Inn Hotel Waterloo
Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing