We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, clean accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Waterloo
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean accomodation”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Situated right beside the St Jacob's theatre, this hotel is just a few steps from the famous Mennonite Market, with wonderful food and crafts. The Bistro restaurant was good, but offered little selection.

Room Tip: The top floor ia great. Corner suite had a lovely Whirlpool bath and a fireplace in the living room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abby68Ace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William_MacCallum, General Manager at Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Good day,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us.

I am so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that you got to experience St. Jacobs and all its treasures!

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    93
    20
    10
    6
See reviews for
52
92
5
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This hotel is right next to the St.Jacob's market which is a prime area, and just minutes from downtown Waterloo. It's very modern with great decor and rooms are spacious. The front desk staff were very friendly, there was always a few there so we were always taken care of without waiting.

On a business trip we were welcomed with a nice package of goodies from the hotel. I always notice smells in hotels and I told my husband right away how great the hallways smelled, not like a stuffy/smoky hotel it was great!

The only concern we had was that 8:30 in the morning we heard cleaning staff in the hallways calling out to another, and then they came to knock on our door. We were really hoping to sleep in as we had a long weekend ahead of us but it was interrupted. I inquired at front desk and they were so kind about it. We really didn't complain but just wanted to inquire and inform them of what happened. Later we received a written apology on a card along with a voucher for a meal there which was a nice surprise and extra touch. It did however state that next time we should put a note on the door to not be disturbed, but I really don't think guests should have to think about that for fear of someone knocking on their door so early. Friends who stayed the same night said workers actually walked INTO their room before 9:00am which I thought was a bit concerning but she was already awake so didn't mind.

Despite their kind gesture my husband and I didn't stay longer than one night so sadly we couldn't use the voucher, but will definitely stay again and recommend others.

Room Tip: Just make sure you put DO NOT DISTURB on your door if you don't want to be woken up early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PVZ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William_MacCallum, General Manager at Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Good day,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us.

I am so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that you got to experience St. Jacobs and our convenience to all that it has to offer!

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed in a king suite and were very impressed by the room. Very comfortable. Lots of space, nice sitting area. Only downfall was the spa tub - the bottom was peeling very badly. Otherwise a very nice room.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apb724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William_MacCallum, General Manager at Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Good day,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us.

I am so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that you got to experience one of our King Suites! But do apologize for the condition of the tub; I have forwarded this to our Maintenance Supervisor so that we can have this fixed immediately.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This was my first stay at the hotel and I must say this will not be our last time. I was blown away by the fantastic condition of the hotel and service. During our check in Stephanie was extremely helpful and went up and beyond helping us out with our million and one questions.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa G, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments. We are very lucky to have a great service team including Stephanie. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The room was clean, nice decor, and comfortable. The set up of the television in relation to the bed was poor. The odd angle only allowed me to see part of the screen. The night stands were very small and cramped. Not much room to get in and out of one side of the bed and on the other side you stood into the hallway of the room. My advice is to put the headboard against the longest wall instead of the shortest.

For the price, there is no pool or hot tub in this hotel and breakfast is not included either. (As it is at most other hotels).

Nice stay but will probably not return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PitaMooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa G, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I appreciate your comments because feedback is essential in providing a superior guest experience every time. I apologize that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. We would love to have you back to try one of our many configurations of guestrooms in hopes that you may be more satisfied with another layout.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

this was my second time staying here and i just loved it even more! i stay in waterloo pretty often and always try different hotels. This one is my favourite and the staff are just so friendly! great job courtyard!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank satap1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William_MacCallum, General Manager at Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Good day,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us.

I am so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that you got to experience St. Jacobs and all its treasures!

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My wife and I have stayed here a few times now. We returned because it is a great location.
Minutes from bueatiful Waterloo, Ontario this area has a lot to offer.
The room was well spaced out and very clean. Modern make up of rooms and inviting lobby were attractive. The cafe boasts a StarBucks and nicely kept booths to enjoy a light meal. Location is extremely close to St. Jacobs and right across the street from the St. Jacobs Market.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carsten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William_MacCallum, General Manager at Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Good day,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us.

I am so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that you got to experience St. Jacobs and all its treasures!

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterloo
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Waterloo/St. Jacobs, Ontario, Canada
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waterloo - St Jacobs
1.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Waterloo-Kitchener
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Delta Hotels Waterloo
Delta Hotels Waterloo
#2 of 9 in Waterloo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
10.5 mi away
Kitchener Inn and Suites
Kitchener Inn and Suites
#1 of 14 in Kitchener
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Inn of Waterloo & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs

Property: Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs
Address: 50 Benjamin Rd, Waterloo, Ontario N2V 2J9, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Waterloo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Waterloo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Marriott Waterloo St Jacobs (formerly the Best Western Plus St Jacobs Country Inn) has been recently renovated & features the Bistro Restaurant serving made-to-order breakfast (6am - 10am) & dinner (5pm - 10pm) daily. Lunch available Saturdays. Also features a full-service bar. All guest rooms have a small fridge, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus St. Jacobs Country Hotel Waterloo
Best Western St Jacobs Country Inn Waterloo
Best Western St Jacobs Country Inn Hotel Waterloo
Waterloo Best Western St Jacobs
Country Inn Waterloo
Best Western Waterloo
Waterloo Country Inn
Best Western Saint Jacobs Country Inn Hotel Waterloo
Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing