We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What Waterloo used to lack...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Waterloo
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What Waterloo used to lack...”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

... Was a good business hotel. Thankfully Marriott is now here. Set on the edge of Waterloo on the road to St. Jacobs, the hotel is new, well maintained with all the modern facilities of a business hotel. Free wifi with good reception all over, bright airy modern rooms and bathrooms. The restaurant downstairs is small - like a little starbucks, not your usual hotel restaurant, but nothing to complain about. There is a gym also with multiple treadmills, steppers and weights. I'm delighted that Marriott is now in Waterloo!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Coops_Cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa G, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are so happy you enjoyed your room and our new fitness facilities. We are proud to be a part of the Waterloo St. Jacobs community and look forward to having you with us next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    96
    21
    11
    6
See reviews for
61
101
5
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This was my third stay at this hotel and despite the fact that it is located a bit further away from the downtown areas and corporate headquarters, it is superior to the other area hotels. As others mentioned, it clearly doesn't look like your standard Courtyard Marriott, but it has a special charm and the rooms are interesting and some even have fire-places. I ate at the family style restaurant next door (jack's) which was good (I typically go to the chain restaurants in the area like the Keg). The restaurant at the hotel has limited dinner options, but the breakfast is actually better than what you will find at a typical courtyard Marriott. The rooms are clean and the staff is very pleasant. It is worth the additional drive and I will continue to stay here on my trips to the area.

Room Tip: The fireplace rooms are nice, but they have a strange hot-tub in the middle of the room.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William_MacCallum, General Manager at Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Good Day,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us.

I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience with us and look forward to welcoming you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My husband and I spent a weekend at this property and were very pleased. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a King suite with a spa tub and fire place. When we arrived in the room we noticed that the previous guests had disregarded the "no smoking" policy and the room smelled of smoke. As smoke bothers me we went down to the front desk to request another room. There were no other king/spa/fireplace rooms available for that night, so they put us in a king room and offered to move us the following night to a king/spa/fireplace room. For the "inconvenience" (which it wasn't really) they applied breakfast credits to our room.
I was surprised at how close the hotel was to the market and all other amenities. It was a 5 minute walk to the St. Jacobs Market, 10 minute walk to a Walmart, 2 minute walk to the outlets. However it was still quiet and peaceful!
The rooms were clean and comfortable. We really enjoyed our stay and appreciated the hospitality of all of the staff, especially Erica (who was very accommodating). We will return to this hotel and recommend it to our friends and family!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William_MacCallum, General Manager at Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Good day,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us.

I am so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that you got to experience St. Jacobs market and our wonderful team members, Erica especially!

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I went on a getaway weekend with my friend and we stayed at this hotel. It is right next to the St. Jacobs Market, the Outlet Mall and the St. Jacobs Playhouse.
The staff at the hotel were very friendly and accommodating. There is a Bistro just off the main lobby which serves breakfast and Starbucks coffee.....yum!
I will look forward to staying there again next year when I am in St. Jacobs.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William_MacCallum, General Manager at Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Good day,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us.

I am so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that you got to experience St. Jacobs with all its treasures and much more importantly, our Starbucks Coffee we serve in the Bistro!

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed for 5 nights during a work trip. Was pleasantly surprised at the condition of the hotel. Mainly good things to say about my stay. Service was great, the room was quiet and comfortable, the wi-fi was free and fast, and the bistro was great for a quick breakfast. The only disadvantages of this hotel are lack of a pool, and lack of decent dinner options. Given all this as well as the three minute drive to work means that I would gladly stay here again.

Room Tip: First floor was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowkoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William_MacCallum, General Manager at Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Good day,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us.

I am so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that you got to take advantage of our Bistro, which offers a full menu for breakfast and evening dinner with lounge service.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carleton Place, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We have stayed at this hotel a few times in the past ...once as a Best Western and twice as a Marriott. The first stay was at the transition between the two and was average..it has however improved and I believe it has much to do with the staff. Drayk at the front desk was most helpful as was Brandon. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: There were 3 in our party and although the king room with the sofabed could sleep us...it was a tigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William_MacCallum, General Manager at Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Good day,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us.

I am so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that you got to experience our wonderful team members, specifically Drayk and Brandon; they are great!

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Beautiful updated facility. Brandon at the front desk was most helpful providing us with directions to where we needed to drive to for a Conference. Room is beautiful, beds comfortable, bathroom is modern and clean! Very impressed and I would be happy to stay there again next year!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChocoGirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William_MacCallum, General Manager at Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Good day,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us.

I am so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that you got to experience our clean rooms, wonderful beds and outstanding team members, specifically Brandon!

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterloo hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waterloo - St Jacobs
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Waterloo/St. Jacobs, Ontario, Canada
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterloo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Waterloo
1.7 mi away
The Inn of Waterloo & Conference Centre
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Waterloo Ontario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs

Property: Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs
Address: 50 Benjamin Rd, Waterloo, Ontario N2V 2J9, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Waterloo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Waterloo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Marriott Waterloo St Jacobs (formerly the Best Western Plus St Jacobs Country Inn) has been recently renovated & features the Bistro Restaurant serving made-to-order breakfast (6am - 10am) & dinner (5pm - 10pm) daily. Lunch available Saturdays. Also features a full-service bar. All guest rooms have a small fridge, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus St. Jacobs Country Hotel Waterloo
Best Western St Jacobs Country Inn Waterloo
Best Western St Jacobs Country Inn Hotel Waterloo
Waterloo Best Western St Jacobs
Country Inn Waterloo
Best Western Waterloo
Waterloo Country Inn
Best Western Saint Jacobs Country Inn Hotel Waterloo
Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing