We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seems like a hotel in transition, but more good than bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Waterloo-Kitchener
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Waterloo
HAMILTON
Level Contributor
125 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Seems like a hotel in transition, but more good than bad”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

The first thing I noticed as I entered my originally assigned room was that the ventilation system was not on. It turned out that it was not working so I was moved to another room across the hall and even further from the lobby. The good news was that even though I was on the ground floor it was quiet. Through all of this the gentleman at the front desk did everything he could to place me in a suitable room. I was impressed.

The beds and bedding were of the usual excellent Sheraton standard. There are sufficient outlets for charging and working and although the room was on the small side there was a fridge and microwave.

The in house breakfast was better than most buffets offering scrambled eggs, potatoes, fresh fruit, etc. To make a long story short I was promised that breakfast would be ready at 6 AM on Saturday and Sunday mornings. I was there but breakfast was not ready until 6:30 each day which was a bit inconvenient.

The hotel was totally full Friday and Saturday nights. As a result they did not have enough parking spots on site. They did make arrangements for us to park across the road at the Honda dealership. What I don't understand is why they didn't tell us at check in. Yet another inconvenience. Hopefully they'll get the kinks worked out before I stay there again.

Room Tip: I was in 137 which faced the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    77
    43
    12
    9
See reviews for
78
53
5
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
291 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Conveniently located near the university area. Standard sized room with modern design and traditional furniture with 1 sofa bed, chair and 2 bedside tables with stools. Shower could be stronger. Amenity supply in wall mounted dispenser. Air conditioning unit was a bit loud when “ ON” but room was stuffy when machine was idle. Thin door as can hear every word and action outside the room. Location of our room was inconvenient for luggage (especially heavy ones) as after taking lift to 2nd floor, we had to change to another corridor by going through 2 exit doors with a few steps in between in order to reach our room.

Room Tip: Request rooms that can be directly accessible by lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bkpkwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

I would like to congratulate Samantha and her team for making us feel welcome to their hotel. There was a problem from our side which Samantha dealt with extremely professionally and saved us money. So thanks.
The room was clean and tidy and we were introduced to a new system, well it was to us, if you looked after your room i.e. made your own bed, you received a Cad $5 ticket each night which you could use to reduce the cost of breakfast or an evening meal. Good idea.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGlazier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel's former incarnation, The Destination Inn, many times. This was our first time in it since it became Four Points. We were very impressed with the renovations and improvements that have been done. The bed was comfortable and the pillows were great. Friendly and helpful staff as always in the past. Room was clean and attractive. The one disappointment was the quality of the breakfast. A full breakfast was included in our reservation, so we could have anything from the buffet. The eggs were OK, potatoes ordinary at best, French toast adequate (I had the last piece in the warmer, so it might have been a bit old), bacon tasted of the sausage that was right beside and touching it in the warmer, and the sausages were closer to wieners. The addition of breakfast was only $10 in total for 2 of us, so I guess we can't complain too much, but it is too bad it wasn't up to the quality of the rest of our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEBJHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The property is old but reimbursement and well maintained, room is clean and excellence service provided.
Location is very good, around ten minute drive to St. Jacob Ville and cross of Canastoga Mall Waterloo.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbertSiauw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collingwood, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Booked this room using Starwood points, I sent the hotel an email enquiring about upgrading to a deluxe room but there was no response. Upon checking in I mentioned this to the front desk and the clerk noted I was already upgraded. Really nice to see and check in was very pleasant. Clerk indicated we were placed on top floor since rest of the hotel was filled with families in town for a ball hockey tournament, Really appreciated that. The lone elevator was busy because of the kids but that's to be expected. Room was not clean - long black hair was plastered on the walls of the shower; evident in the sink and also the floor area by the sink. The remote had enough food stuck to the back of it that you could have made a peanut butter sandwich, The closet (at least I think that's what it was) could not be opened. However, the a/c worked fine and bed was fine.
Major problem was with the bill. I asked for it to be emails. Usually at Starwood properties you receive the bill before you check out. Not in this case. And when it did come, there was a strange, unexplained room charge on it. I called the hotel which said the charge was legitimate (but did not say for what it was). Also contacted Starwood HQ. Two staff handled the case and the charges were finally reversed with the an apology and some points. This has taken nearly a month. I still have not heard why the accountant at the hotel (Catherine) claimed these charges were legitimate....but I've given up. I cannot get any kind of answer from Starwood. AT least we saw all sorts of other nice places to stay in the area when we trying to find this hotel. Just to add to the fun, there were kids booked on the floor we were on. Loud kids.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WayneinCollingwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BritHoPH, Online Content Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Waterloo-Kitchener, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hello WayneinCollingwood,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience working with our hotel.

I am sorry to hear that you had some issues in your recent experience with us. I would value the opportunity to speak with you regarding the issues you encountered so that I can resolve them to your satisfaction & hopefully get the opportunity to host you again.

Please feel free to contact me directly at brittany@palm-holdings.com and I will look into your incident further.

I look forward to speaking with you.

Sincerely,

Brittany Ho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
220 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Many hotels talk about "going beyond expectations" and "delighting the customer", but I have to praise this hotel and Andrea, who is a Guest Service Representative at the hotel.
I forgot my tan summer suit in the closet of my room and Andrea called me about an hour after I had checked out. It was too late for me to return and pick it up, so I asked them if they could send it out at my expense through a courier service. They said no problem... Andrea then e-mailed me to confirm she had sent out the suit via courier and even told me which courier company it was as well as the approximate cost.
Anyway, I'm totally impressed with this level of service. Most hotels would have just bagged it and waited for me to call them in a panic. And wouldn't offer to ship it out either.
And the stay at the hotel was very pleasant. The location was very central for my meetings and the hotel upgraded me to a suite because of my lifetime Gold status. Anyway, this hotel has rapidly become one of my favourites.
Thank you Andrea. You deserve a promotion.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sinner5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BritHoPH, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Waterloo-Kitchener, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hello Sinner5,

Thank you for your kind words! I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and will pass your review on to Andrea as well.

I hope the next time you are in the Waterloo area you will allow us to host you again.

Sincerely,

Brittany Ho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterloo hotels
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waterloo - St Jacobs
2.5 mi away
Delta Hotels Waterloo
Delta Hotels Waterloo
#2 of 9 in Waterloo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Waterloo/St. Jacobs, Ontario, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Waterloo Ontario
0.6 mi away
The Inn of Waterloo & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Waterloo-Kitchener? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Waterloo-Kitchener

Property: Four Points by Sheraton Waterloo-Kitchener
Address: 547 King St N, Waterloo, Ontario N2L 5Z7, Canada (Formerly Destination Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Waterloo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Waterloo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Four Points by Sheraton Waterloo-Kitchener 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Honest, Uncomplicated,Comfort is key at the Four Points by Sheraton Waterloo-Kitchener. Comfort reigns in our modern suites and rooms, where our guests enjoy high-end amenities including complimentary high-speed Internet, large flat-screen televisions, free local calls, plush pillow-top mattresses, a mini-fridge, and many more comforts of home. Location is key to a hotel’s popularity and our proximity to the Village of St. Jacobs and other enticing Southern Ontario attractions make our hotel the ideal destination. Travellers will love our Waterloo, Ontario hotel's central location in the Waterloo region, just minutes from Waterloo’s Technology Park, RIM Park, and both Universities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Waterloo-Kitchener reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Destination Hotel Waterloo
Destination Inn Waterloo
Four Points By Sheraton Waterloo-Kitchener Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing