We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint & Lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Timeless Cafe & Bakery

Timeless Cafe & Bakery
Ranked #12 of 361 Restaurants in Waterloo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$25
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Canadian, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Timeless Cafe & Bakery is located in the original hen-house of a century old farm homestead in North Waterloo. Our Cafe is a hidden gem, surrounded by high-tech and other diversified businesses, and adjacent neighbourhoods. This beautiful old structure has been creatively restored by the Cafe owners, Jim & Lesley Brickman. The interior finishes and fixtures are designed to showcase the practical uses of reclaimed materials and architecturalStore Imagetreasures found next door at The Timeless Materials Co. The result is an original eating destination, in a warm and friendly atmosphere. At Timeless Cafe & Bakery we pride ourselves in sourcing the finest fresh, local ingredients available, as the changing seasons allow us throughout the year. Our fresh baked breads, pastries and healthy inspired offerings are all made from scratch. Our menu selections change daily, on the whim of our creative & exceptional chefs'. Since our quiet opening in mid-August 2012, we are fortunate to have been promoted by way of the most sincerest of compliments, word of mouth. We hope your visit will be a unique eating experience that will keep you coming back with friends, family and associates.
Bobcaygeon, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Quaint & Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Myself & 3 girlfriends met there for Lunch last Wednesday. The Cafe was lovingly restored. We had a really nice lunch and we got there early which is a good idea because by the time noon rolled around it was full; so make reservations!
The wait staff are pleasant and willing to please!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sominex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    32
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fergus
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth stopping in!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

It is personal preference, however, I was not overly impressed with the Tomato Soup, for me, it is similar to my pasta sauce, which I do like with fresh pasta, not on its own.
My husband actually ordered the cup of tomato soup with a panini and I ordered the Root Vegetable Soup in a bowl, however the order was mixed up. We did not say anything as the place was full. I tasted the Root Vegetable - it was good - similar to my recipe. I am a home cook and have catered over the years, so I like trying various interesting cafes, etc. I liked the fact it was in an old "hen house" and how it has been restored, which was neat and clean. The baked goods for me were a little expensive. There are excellent places to get butter tarts that are every bit as good, and not as pricey. Good for a "girls lunch" out, as the menu does not offer too many selections. OK, but would I rush to go back, probably not..

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fergusgrandparents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harriston, Canada
1 review
“Welcoming and quaint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

A little hidden gem away from the busy city and fits in perfectly with the charm of rural KW/St.Jacob's countryside.
The County tomato soup is excellent and something I have never tasted before. Very thick, rustic tomato soup(reminiscent of a chunky tomato sauce) with asiago cheese croutons. Thoroughly enjoyed! Lemon cranberry scone and bird's food cookie were fresh, tasty and big in size.
Definitely recommended!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 601Amira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morriston, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

A unique location -- a re-purposed, restored barn on an old farm near RIM Park. Nice rustic decor. Friendly attentive staff, tasty baked goods and delicious coffee.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 3392048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dromore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Extremely Pleasant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

I really loved this place. Homely atmosphere. Genuine rustic interior. Beautiful food prepared / baked fresh. Friendly helpful staff. I was feeling adventurous and tried the 'sweet pea scallion pancakes with mornay sauce and two poached eggs'. It was delicious. The location is difficult to find if you're not from the neighbourhood. Their billing system is a little primitive and would need bringing in to the 21st century. Nonetheless an enjoyable experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank WalterLockhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Timeless Cafe & Bakery also viewed

Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
 
Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to Timeless Cafe & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing