We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waterloo - St Jacobs
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Waterloo
Certificate of Excellence
Roslin, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The hotel is very clean with friendly staff. We stayed for two nights and had a mini suite which was very comfortable. All amenities including coffee maker, fridge (no freezer) and microwave. Breakfast is adequate for most people and the breakfast area very pleasant. Small swimming pool but no hot tub. The manager said that this is the trend with a lot of the newer hotels.

Only complaint and this goes for most of newer hotels is that I wish they would provide deeper bathtubs. When relaxing on a trip I like to soak in the bath (especially if the do not have a hot tub) and lie the water with my body covered. not possible even with my mere 150lb frame.

Location is excellent for visiting St Jacobs. Hotel is surrounded by Farmers Market, Outlet Mall, St Jacobs Playhouse Theater, Large Antique Outlet and other stores. Few minutes drive and you are in the center of St Jacobs.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GEGL_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naushad, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waterloo - St Jacobs, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear GEGL_12,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel with other visitors. It truly gives all of our staff a sense of pride and accomplishment to know that we have exceeded your expectations.

As you mentioned, our excellent location is very convenient for anyone who is visiting Waterloo for a business trip or just looking to do getaway for the weekend. The famous St.Jacobs Market is directly across the street from our hotel and we are just steps to the Outlet Mall, that has some great deals.

We are always looking for ways to improve. Therefore, your suggestions are greatly appreciated and we will certainly consider them to enhance the total guest experience.

Thank you once again for your review. We wish you the best and look forward to having the opportunity to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Naushad Ismail
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    85
    22
    8
    5
See reviews for
113
71
9
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel provides all the things you need when you are away from home. Free Wifi, complimentary breakfast, all-day free coffee/tea at the lobby and even complimentary shaving kit, toothbrush and toothpaste in case you forget to bring them. Their staff are always friendly and helpful. Stayed here for 4 nights and it was a pleasant stay here! :)

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kenjichan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naushad, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waterloo - St Jacobs, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear kenjichan,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent stay with other travelers.

Our entire staff was delighted to hear that you and your wife greatly enjoyed your stay with us. It always gives us a sense of pride and accomplishments to see so many pleased guests who we think of more as our friends.

Once again, your kind words are greatly appreciated and will be shared with the entire team. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Naushad Ismail
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunnville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Extremely happy with our stay with our accommodations and stay at the hotel. The staff was very friendly, helpful and courteous; the rooms were clean and spacious. The rooms were well equipped with all amenities, beds were extremely comfortable as well! The suite was perfect for a large gathering to socialize and relax. My fellow nursing class that gets together every year will absolutely be returning next year!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myrna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naushad, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waterloo - St Jacobs, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Myrna J,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel with other visitors. Our entire staff was delighted to learn that we have exceeded your expectations.

Our brand new facility and premier location is ideal for anyone coming to visit St.Jacobs to catch a play, do some quick shopping at the Outlet Mall or even try some tasty Apple Fritters at the St.Jacobs Market.

Many guests also enjoy the local heritage and culture of St.Jacobs that we have incorporated into the hotel. From the Mennonite made furnishings, and custom glass work to the hand stitched quilts and Mennonite artwork presented throughout the hotel. All guests enjoy these unique features and return regularly to getaway from their busy lives.

Our spacious suites with separate living room and kitchenettes are great for families and provide just the perfect amount of extra space you need to relax and wind down after a long day.

Thank you once again for your review. We wish you the best and look forward to having the opportunity to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Naushad Ismail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Clean comfy beds. Loved the fact the amenities were in large print. SHAMPOO easily read. Our friends paid the same price and they had a much larger space with a mini living room. We were greeted by wonderful staff. Breakfast is included. Waffles were a hit.

Room Tip: Ask for larger rooms. Great restaurant right next door Jacks
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vandenheja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naushad, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waterloo - St Jacobs, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear vandenheja,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel with other visitors. It truly gives all of our staff a sense of pride and accomplishment to know that we have exceeded your expectations.

Guest always enjoy our comfortable Serta Posturepedic mattresses. They are designed to provide the perfect sleep experience. The many in room amenities, such as soaps, shampoos, lotions and conditioners are high quality products provided by Bath & Body Works and available at all Holiday Inn hotels worldwide.

Our spacious suites with separate living room and kitchenettes are great for families and provide just the perfect amount of extra space you need to relax and wind down after a long day.

The complimentary Hot Breakfast is always included and a guest favorite. The new additions of Turkey Sausage, Greek Yogurt, and a Hot Cereal Station are an excellent compliment to the scrambled eggs, pancakes, and freshly baked muffins.

Thank you once again for your review. We wish you the best and look forward to having the opportunity to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Naushad Ismail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto North
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Recently, my mother-in-law and I had the pleasure of staying at this new location. It's something that I look forward to repeating. Upon arrival, you'll notice that parking is no issue. Even if you came with a fleet of motor homes, you'd have lots of room
The staff were not only efficient but very welcoming. Check-in was very quick and easy, our rooms were exactly what I had asked for and beautifully clean, comfortable and quiet. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in and having a choice of pillows was a new one on me.
The pool area was easy to get to, bright and the water was a perfect temperature. One of the highlights of this mini vacation was to be able to swim with my 7 month old granddaughter so the fact that the water wasn't too cold was a big plus. Even Great-Grandma joined us so we had 4 generations splashing and having a great time together.
The complimentary breakfast was a nice addition to get your day started but don't look for too much in it. Everything you need is there, just not many extras. There is cereal, pancakes, bagels (but no cream cheese), muffins, toast and jam, yogurt, fruits, cold boiled eggs and not-very-nice pre-made omelettes. But still, it'll get you started. For a good full-service breakfast, just step out the front door, walk 30 seconds to your right and Frank's Family Restaurant will have anything you can want and more. Oh, and I almost forgot, the rooms have a microwave and there is a variety of frozen dinners in the little shop so if you've been on the road and are too tired to go out for a bite, no problem. You can even grab an ice cream for your desert.
The location of this hotel is perfect if you are here to see the St. Jacobs area. Walk across the street and your at the outlet mall. Walk across to the left and your at the Farmers Market. A two minute drive and your at the village of St. Jacobs. And, of course, all that Waterloo and Kitchener have to offer is just minutes away as well.

Room Tip: I believe any room would be good but 210 has a blocked view due to the portico. All you can see is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OMAonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naushad, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waterloo - St Jacobs, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear OMAonthego,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent stay with other visitors. Our entire staff was extremely pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

Our brand new facility and premier location is ideal for anyone coming to visit St.Jacobs to catch a play, do some quick shopping at the Outlet Mall or even try some tasty Apple Fritters at the St.Jacobs Market.

Many guests also enjoy the local heritage and culture of St.Jacobs that we have incorporated into the hotel. From the Mennonite made furnishings, and custom glass work to the hand stitched quilts and Mennonite artwork presented throughout the hotel. All guests enjoy these unique features and return regularly to getaway from their busy lives.

We thank you once again for sharing your thoughts and ensure you that they will be used to further enhance your experience the next time you stay with us. All the best!

Sincerely,
Naushad Ismail
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The hotel is clean, appears to be new. The staff were friendly and appeared to be service focused. Internet was annoying; dropped off, slow; many reconnections required, with trouble. Overall, good value; would have been excellent experience with better internet system.

Room Tip: Stayed on 5th floor. Room was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naushad, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waterloo - St Jacobs, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Paul W,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel with other visitors. Our staff was delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

Our premier location is ideal for anyone coming to visit St.Jacobs to catch a play, do some quick shopping at the Outlet Mall or even try some tasty Apple Fritters at the St.Jacobs Market.

I'm so sorry to hear that you had some connectivity issues with our internet. The SuperFast High Speed Internet that we provide has always been fast and reliable. I will look into this issue to ensure that it doesn't occur again in the future.

We thank you once again for sharing your thoughts and ensure you that they will be used to further enhance your experience the next time you stay with us. All the best!

Sincerely,

Naushad Ismail
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranst, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights in June 2014. I was pleased to be upgraded to a suite as a Platinum member. The room was nice and big :-) for just me. Breakfast is simple but I found what I need to start a day. Personel was helpful and nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roel_griet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naushad, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waterloo - St Jacobs, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear roel_griet,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel with other visitors. It truly gives all of our staff a sense of pride and accomplishment to know that we have exceeded your expectations.

The many IHG Rewards Platinum members that regularly stay with us, are always upgraded with to our Suites that have a separate living room and full kitchenette.

Our premier location is very convenient for anyone who is visiting Waterloo for a business trip or just looking to do getaway for the weekend. The famous St.Jacobs Market is directly across the street from our hotel and we are just steps to the Outlet Mall, that has some great deals.

Our complimentary Hot Breakfast is always a guest favourite. The new additions of Turkey Sausage, Greek Yogurt, and a Hot Cereal Station are an excellent compliment to the scrambled eggs, pancakes, and freshly baked muffins.

Thank you once again for your review. We wish you the best and look forward to having the opportunity to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Naushad Ismail
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterloo hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterloo
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Waterloo/St. Jacobs, Ontario, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Waterloo
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Waterloo Ontario
1.8 mi away
The Inn of Waterloo & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waterloo - St Jacobs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waterloo - St Jacobs

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waterloo - St Jacobs
Address: 14 Benjamin Rd, Waterloo, Ontario N2V 2J9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Waterloo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Waterloo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waterloo - St Jacobs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel will feature a free complimentary Express Start Hot Buffet Breakfast which is an ideal way to start each day for your group featuring two hot items daily – omelets with cheese or scrambled eggs, sausage or bacon, and biscuits, plus much more. Our hotel features free outdoor parking available on site and an indoor saltwater pool, with a kid’s play area, available to relax in after a long day. Our 100% smoke free guest rooms are very spacious and feature a small fridge, 42” flat screen TV, coffee maker, microwave, iron & board, in room safe, full cable, and pay per view movies. Each of our guest rooms also feature exclusive Bath & Body Works soaps, shampoos, and lotions.Our hotel is conveniently located directly across from the St. Jacobs Factory Outlet mall and St. Jacobs Farmers Market, which features fresh foods daily. For dining experiences Jack’s Family Restaurant is only a short walk from the hotel, and for other dining experiences our friendly and courteous staff is always excited to help and give great suggestions.Within our hotel we have an extensive fitness area with new cardio and weight training equipment, guest laundry services, and 2 elevators for your convenience. We also have 1200 square feet of meeting space ideal for any corporate function or event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waterloo - St Jacobs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waterloo - St Jacobs Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing