We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waterloo - St Jacobs
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Laurier(Waterloo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Delta Hotels Waterloo(Waterloo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Walper Hotel(Kitchener)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (362)
Filter reviews
362 results
Traveller rating
228
96
24
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
228
96
24
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutlet mallfarmers marketst jacobswet barthe general managernice indoor poolincluded in the room ratecomfortable bedshard boiled eggsyogurtlocation was perfectright next doorhotel is locatedsmall fridgeking bedroom was spotlesswould recommend this hotel to anyone
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
283 - 288 of 362 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Spacious room, traditional setting and furniture, clean and quiet. Amenities a bit limited (inside small containers which didn't flow smoothly even squeezing hard). Shower could be stronger. Thin wall in between rooms as can hear noise next door.

Breakfast very standard but with enough choice. Next door to St. Jacobs Farmer's market – very convenient for this purpose. Easily accessible to the university area by car. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bkpkwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naushad, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waterloo - St Jacobs, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear bkpkwok,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at our brand new hotel with other travellers. It truly gives our staff a sense a pride and accomplishment to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our premier location is ideal for anyone coming to visit St.Jacobs to catch a play, do some quick shopping at the Outlet Mall or even try some tasty Apple Fritters at the St.Jacobs Market.

Your suggestions are greatly appreciated and will certainly be used to enhance the total guest experience. We thank you once again for sharing your thoughts and look forward to seeing you again in the future. All the best!

Sincerely,

Naushad Ismail
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We booked the Holiday Inn Express when visiting family in Kitchener. The staff was so pleasant & friendly, even the night staff that checked us in at 12:30 am. The room was spacious, well appointed in modern tones and very, very clean. The bathroom was large and well-lit with an oversized shower enclosure, very nice. With the market across the street the mini-fridge came in handy for all our fresh purchases. The daily breakfast provided was beyond our expectations, didn't expect a selection of hot items such as bacon, sausages or eggs...what a treat! They also provided fruit, yogurt, cereal, toast and pastries as well. Didn't get a chance to use the indoor pool but it did look inviting! An excellent choice for anyone staying in the area!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naushad, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waterloo - St Jacobs, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Leslie S,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent stay with other visitors. Our entire staff was extremely pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

Our brand new facility and premier location is ideal for anyone coming to visit St.Jacobs to catch a play, do some quick shopping at the Outlet Mall or even try some tasty Apple Fritters at the St.Jacobs Market.

Many guests also enjoy the local heritage and culture of St.Jacobs that we have incorporated into the hotel. From the Mennonite made furnishings, and custom glass work to the hand stitched quilts and Mennonite artwork presented throughout the hotel. All guests enjoy these unique features and return regularly to getaway from their busy lives.

We thank you once again for sharing your thoughts and ensure you that they will be used to further enhance your experience the next time you stay with us. All the best!

Sincerely,

Naushad Ismail
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Most new Holiday Inn hotels are clean and well furnished, and this one is no exception. We travelled with two grandchildren and booked a suite with two Queen beds and a pullout couch. Surprisingly, the pillows were uncomfortably lumpy. No feather pillows were available on request. We requested a room with kitchenette. There was a small fridge, microwave and sink. However, there were NO utensils and only plastic and paper plates and cups. It would've been nice to have a bag of microwave popcorn, or something. The breakfast was a disappointment - premixed eggs made into scrambled eggs or omelettes with very poor quality cheese filling. The saltwater pool was great for the grandchildren, aged 4&6. Older children would be disappointed at the 4 foot maximum depth.

Room Tip: There isn't much of a view from any of the rooms. However, if you face the road, you'll often see the Mennonites riding in horse and buggy.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naushad, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waterloo - St Jacobs, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Carol S,

Thank you so much taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel with other visitors.

We have had many guests compliment us on our beds. They are designed by Serta Posturepedic and extremely comfortable for a great night's rest. The choice of soft and firm pillows is a Holiday Inn Express standard and you will be please to know that you will find this at all of our locations Worldwide. I have personally checked your room and have corrected your recommendations to ensure it doesn't affect any future visitors.

Our indoor saltwater pool is always a guest favourite. Guests appreciate our kids play area with dumping buckets stations. It is ideal for the young and young at heart.

We were saddened to hear that our HOT Buffet Breakfast did not meet your expectations. It is always a guest favourite. The new additions of Turkey Sausage, Greek Yogurt, and a Hot Cereal Station are an excellent compliment to the scrambled eggs, pancakes, and freshly baked muffins. I will personally review this area to ensure proper Holiday Inn Express standards are being practiced.

We greatly appreciated your feedback and are reviewing some of your excellent recommendations. I hope that you enjoyed your overall visit to the Waterloo/St.Jacob's area and look forward to seeing you again in the future. All the best!

Sincerely,

Naushad Ismail
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Spent 2 nights with the family in a suite that had a microwave and small fridge. Room was spacious and comfortable. Beds were excellent. Breakfast was include and pretty decent. Interior pool was nice, but very cold! Location was good (not so much if you don't have a car). Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ti-Luce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naushad, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waterloo - St Jacobs, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Ti-Luce,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent stay with other travelers. It always gives our staff a sense of pride and accomplishment to know that you enjoyed your stay.

We were delighted to hear that you loved our Indoor Salt Water Pool with Kids Play Area. This is always a family favourite.

Our complimentary Hot Breakfast is always a guest favorite. The new additions of Turkey Sausage, Greek Yogurt, and a Hot Cereal Station are an excellent compliment to the scrambled eggs, pancakes, and freshly baked muffins.

Thank you once again for your review. We wish you the best and look forward to having the opportunity to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Naushad Ismail
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I will be staying here again. This hotel and its rooms are sparkling clean and well appointed. What I loved the most was the extra thought put into amenities that are often missed at other chain hotels, like providing a hot breakfast for guests, great wireless services, parking proximity, mini fridge, 3 full sized mirrors in the room, and free printing. I was in town on business at the University of Waterloo and required business amenities like printing, internet, late check-out, and above all, peace and quiet. This hotel has all of these features!! One thing I would recommend is adding a movie-on-demand service on the tvs, so guests can rent movies. Other than that, it is obvious the hotel was designed for the modern guest in mind--while still managing to feel welcoming, comfortable, and calm for all of its guests! The hotel was almost full when I was there, but I never waited for elevators or guest services, and the breakfast room and buffet was spacious, clean, and had a lot of great choices. When I come back in October, this is where I will be staying!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an odd number, as those are the ones that face the beautiful fields at the back of the hotel. Upgrade to an exec suite for added space if working in the room or traveling with more than one person. Bring your own movies, dvd player, and/or HDMI adapter cord to hook up to tv if you want to watch movies at night.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naushad, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waterloo - St Jacobs, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Karly V,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with other visitors. Our staff was delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

We have had many guests compliment us on our beds. They are designed by Serta Posturepedic and extremely comfortable for a great night's rest. The choice of soft and firm pillows is a Holiday Inn Express standard and you will be please to know that you will find this at all of our locations Worldwide.

Our indoor saltwater pool is always a guest favourite. Guests appreciate our kids play area with dumping buckets stations. It is ideal for the young and young at heart.

Once again, thank you for your comments. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. All the best!

Sincerely,

Naushad Ismail
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews