We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous getaway”

Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waterloo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Waterloo B&B and Inns
Dundas, Canada
1 review
“Fabulous getaway”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

My husband and I stayed one night at the wonderful Hillcrest House B&B in Waterloo. We toured the K-W countryside earlier in the day and were greeted by our charming hostess Wendy upon arrival. We had booked a dinner prepared by her husband Stefan " Trust the Fat Guy" chef.
What a fabulous meal, and so very entertaining. We never laughed so much. Thank you!
Breakfast the next morning was wonderful, fresh fruit, homemade granola and raisin bread french toast with bacon. Oh! so delicious. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
11
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed at Hillcrest for two nights. The beautiful historic house is located in a quiet and green street close to uptown waterloo. Stefan was a wonderful host, the breakfast simply fantastic. It could not have been any better!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSt82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

I stayed at Hillcrest House for two nights while visiting Waterloo for business. I was actually tending to stay at a hotel with colleagues but am I ever glad that I opted for Hillcrest House. Stefan and Wendy are gracious hosts that are clearly running a very professional, warm and excellent B&B. The B&B is a beautiful historic house and is very well located -- only a short walk to Waterloo's city centre. My room was both clean, cozy and huge. Breakfast was delicious (fresh berries along with an omelet one morning and caramel banana waffles the next). In fact, my conference included breakfast but I woke up early to indulge in the breakfast provided at the B&B. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patiofiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Various family members have stayed at Hillcrest House 4 times this past year and always feel welcome to return again. Wendy and Stefan are very friendly and helpful and try to accommodate all your needs, even providing a few extras. The breakfasts are wonderful. Great location for visiting uptown or the University.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in September 2012. Our impression of this place is wonderful, one cannot really find any fault. The owners Stefan and Wendy are nice people, who are really interested in providing fine yet relaxed hospitality at very reasonable prices. We would not hesitate to stay here again should we be back to Waterloo ! We especially appreciated that Wendy and Stefan invited our two friends who reside in Waterloo to come over for breakfast, (which was always different and always delicious) on our last day. Staying in such a historic mansion beats any hotel you can get for a similar price. We highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertminnMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orillia, Canada
Level Contributor
220 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

October 2012. Stefan and Wendy, were very friendly and hospitable. The Stephan's breakfast was very delicious, with large bowls of fresh fruit and berries with yogurt and granola, and eggs benedict. Our room on the second floor was very large and comfortable with a remote controlled fireplace. Hillcrest House is in a quiet neighborhood close to downtown Waterloo shops and restaurants. It was a delightful place to stay..

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PLESLIE23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

The HIllcrest is not just a B&B more a home from home with the facilities and service provided by Wendy And Stephan.Excellent in ambience, quality, and especially the breakfasts!!!The location is central for everything in Waterloo and all points beyond.

Room Tip: All good suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan002294013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterloo
0.6 mi away
Delta Hotels Waterloo
Delta Hotels Waterloo
#2 of 9 in Waterloo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Waterloo Ontario
2.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Waterloo-Kitchener
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Waterloo Hotel
The Waterloo Hotel
#8 of 9 in Waterloo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Walper Hotel
The Walper Hotel
#4 of 14 in Kitchener
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Inn of Waterloo & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 73 George St, Waterloo, Ontario N2J 1K8, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Waterloo
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Waterloo
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll find Hillcrest House in the heart of uptown Waterloo, on a quiet residential street, just steps from a wide variety of shops, restaurants, galleries and activities. Ideal for executive or vacation stays! Each of our 3 luxurious suites are private with room to relax. We take care to provide the amenities that make you feel at home. A rejuvenating lift for the discriminating traveler! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast Waterloo, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing