We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great dinner Great service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Daily Grill

The Daily Grill
Ranked #55 of 361 Restaurants in Waterloo
Cuisines: Canadian, American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great dinner Great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Had a great meal of liver and onions. There were two choices for soup -- navy bean and cream of brocolli -- and both were awesome. Our waitress Nicki was attentive and sweet. Would go back any time.

Helpful?
1 Thank JoVoisin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    27
    20
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great diner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Great family owned and operated restaurant. There is always one of the family there to greet you. The food is great and always a good value. I enjoy the breakfast there but also love their soulvaki, awesome.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
220 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good breakfast place...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Came here last week for a breakfast meeting last week. The service is pleasant and accommodating. The food is comfort breakfast fare... I had the two egg breakfast special with ham and substituted a tomato for the pan-fried potatoes. The décor is a little dated but it adds to the charm of the place.
This is a nice neighbourhood place for a quick breakfast.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sinner5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“An alright family restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Been going there for years. Quality has gone done over the last couple of years, although I'm not sure why. When the owner isn't there, food seems to come out of the kitchen either uncooked, over cooked etc. One time I had a meal that included rice. I guess they scraped the bottom of the pot because it the rice was hard. In addition, there was zero seasoning. Not even salt. In all fairness though, it is one of the best breakfast places in Waterloo.
I think it's time the owner "gives back" to the restaurant though and update it a bit. Can't just take take take and not put any money in the restaurant to make it a little more inviting.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dianeb1957_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
295 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Breakfast with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

My two friends and I went for a Saturday Morning Breakfast at this diner. It was a wonderful breakfast. Hot delicious coffee was brought to the table very quickly. The food was served also very quickly. Two of us ordered the same. Crisp bacon, eggs over easy and rye toast. The remaining order was similar but he ordered sausage "butterflied” along with the eggs and rye toast. The food was plentiful and delicious. The waitress was courteous and efficient. We were very pleased with our meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KitchenerJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Daily Grill also viewed

Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
 
Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
 
Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to The Daily Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing