We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favourite Restaurant in KW even after 9 years”
Review of Lotus Tea House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Lotus Tea House
Ranked #9 of 13 Coffee & Tea in Waterloo
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Waterloo, Ontario
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our Favourite Restaurant in KW even after 9 years”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

If you are visiting the area or live there and haven't yet tried it, this place is a lovely one-of-a-kind spot. The food is unique, vegan and delicious. Their selection of teas are unparalleled. The Mandarin and Fruit teas are made with actual fresh fruit!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    8
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lotus Tea House is lovely quaint place with great food.”
Reviewed 12 January 2013

In 2013 I decided to eat in the vegetarian way.

I realized that there were lots of vegetarian restaurants in the Kitchener Waterloo area. I started off with the Lotus. It was a very good choice.

The Decor was simple and tasteful. We were greeted in a very friendly way. The very tasty healthy food that I experienced was a great introduction into eating out as a vegetarian. The dish that really stood out was the sticky rice, baked in a Lotus leaf. It had so much flavor.

The atmosphere was very peaceful.

I have moved from coffee to tea. Their specialty tea was just wonderful.

I'm looking forward to visiting the Lotus Tea House again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BobDyck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Try it!”
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Today I took my friend for lunch to celebrate her birthday. The atmosphere is relaxing and has a quiet calm. The tables are close together, but you cannot hear one word from the next tables which makes for a very personal experience. The food is good and portions are large. They actually have nice cutlery and adorable little glass teapots. Everything was well presented and the staff very nice. Try it, you'll like it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cgw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Covenient”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Last week we visited for the first time. The atmosphere was quiet and the dining room not ornate in style, but in keeping with the Buddhist style, which made you feel somewhere else. The food was vegetarian and ample. The staff was pleasant.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank JeanMarshallWoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice place to have lunch in Waterloo”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

I'm not a vegetarian, and I normally want some meat with my meals. This place is all vegetarian, so I was a bit hesitant. But one of our group members is vegetarian, so I thought why not. The food was really tasty, it came with a soup, some bean sprouts as side dish and the actual meal. The meal is a bit pricey (but normal for Waterloo standards), I ordered the Golden Soy Nuggets, it was delicious! Service is a bit slow though friendly. And it's in a house, so have to ring door bell to get in? The tea was pretty good, although tea quality I think I can get better in Toronto. All in all, it was a neat quaint little place and I might go again if I ever Waterloo again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Seininya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lotus Tea House also viewed

Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
 
Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
 
Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to Lotus Tea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing