We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“strike”
Review of Ramada Trenton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Trenton
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Trenton
St. Albert, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“strike”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Apart from the half strike (as they called it) this was a very nice place to stay The management were accommodating as well as the staff that were working. The place was very clean and tidy the continental breakfast was basically all one needed to start the day. Staff were friendly courteous and accommodating. Did the strike faze me not one bit in fact I would say all there ignored them and carried on

Room Tip: the rooms were quiet mostly those away from the 401
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan G, General Manager at Ramada Trenton, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for your kind comment. We are doing our best to ensure our guests are inconvenienced as little as possible by the strike while we do everything in our power to end it.

Best Regards,

Ryan Gibbs
General Manager
Ramada Trenton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    146
    180
    102
    67
See reviews for
245
84
26
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The hotel itself is rather nice. The rooms are clean, can't complain.

BUT, the hotel is currently on strike and hotel guests are not notified until they pull into the driveway of the hotel and are held there for a few minutes so the guests can be told why the employees are striking. On the way out, they hold cars for upwards of 10 minutes, if a guest gets upset, even longer. Complimentary breakfast is served to ease the stress of the strike which is quite nice - the restaurant wasn't open while we were there.

Should also mention that the "pay-per view" that is advertised on the website AND in the hotel suites is no longer in operation.

It's a nice hotel, the employees are very friendly and willing to do anything they can to help, but I wouldn't recommend staying during the strike. With the restaurant closed and outside restaurants refusing to deliver food because of the hold up at the entrance and exit, it's not worth the stress.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
1 Thank Crystle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan G, General Manager at Ramada Trenton, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
I am sorry for the issues you faced upon arrival, we are doing everything within our power to put a swift end to this strike. The restaurant is currently open for free breakfast every day and the lounge is open for dinner and drinks from Monday to Thursday. If you would like to discuss your concerns any further, please do not hesitate to reach out to me.

Best regards,

Ryan Gibbs
General Manager
Ramada Trenton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goderich, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We booked our room in advance but were not told that the pool would be closed for renovations. We arrived to find striking hotel workers and a picket line. They had been on strike for several days but the hotel had not notified us. The striking workers were polite and although they did make us wait on entering and exiting, we had no problems with them. The hotel desk staff was polite, friendly and very helpful by providing a map of the town and suggestions for restaurants. Our room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shari L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan G, General Manager at Ramada Trenton, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay, while we are doing our best to inform all guests of the current labour situation, occasionally we are unable to get in contact with all guests. I am very happy you did enjoy your stay once we got here and I would welcome any further feedback you would care to share with me regarding what you would like to see upon your return. I can be reached at (613) 394-4855 x 401.

Best regards,

Ryan Gibbs
General Manager
Ramada Trenton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I have stayed here many times because it's convenient to my work and fairly low cost. However, despite ongoing renovations, it's still an old facility that needs a lot more upgrading to make it a nice place.

And the last couple of times I stayed there I could smell what I think is mould in the room and corridor, and overpowering foul smelling cooking? (I think) in the stairwell - smelled like strong curry?

It's not a particularly clean place either, but partly perhaps due to ongoing renovations. If you're stuck in Trenton and need a cheap place for a night, go for it, but otherwise I wouldn't recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimMiddleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan G, General Manager at Ramada Trenton, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We have just about finished all of our renovations, only a few minor touch ups remain. I am sorry you did not find the cleanliness to your satisfaction but I would be curious to talk with you about your concerns. Please feel free to reach out to me at (613) 394-4855 x 401.

Best regards,

Ryan Gibbs
General Manager
Ramada Trenton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Trenton hotels

Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

First of all dont be afraid that the rooms are filthy or unorganize... I personally reserved 3 rooms for our relatives... check in around 6pm Oct.12 people are outside doing their strike understandble they will try to scare you that rooms are dirty no housekeeping no restaurant etc etc. I get the point but if you're tired and children excited to go swimming you'll have less option. I went down spoke to the front desk gave me the 3 room keys which by the way very close to one another that I requested... 2/3 everything is perfect we even check the towels for any sign of dirty and smelled it everything is fresh... but 1 room towels are scattered in the washroom... went to front desk told the lady she instantly gave me another room key across our rooms and it was fine... Im not bothered of the on-site restaurant since McDonalds and Tim Hortons are 3 mins walk away... and yes, those striker will stop u 3 mins going in and 10 mins going out but dont worry there is a secret passage at the back. lol!
anyway this is the important piece of my review whoever clean our room upon check out was totally honest... my daughter forgot her ipad we realized it when we got home last night (oct.13) around 11pm called the reception but Kris said it'll be the housekeeping people that knows about it unfortunately i need to leave a message... make the story short... im on my way to drive 1 hr and 30 mins away to pick it up they called me and its there now. Thank you!!!
But also Thank you Apple App for the Find my iPad app...
Ramada in Trenton definetely a place that we're going back to...

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justloveitlaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan G, General Manager at Ramada Trenton, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we look forward to welcoming you back. We are doing everything we can to make our guests as comfortable as possible once they are inside and it is wonderful to see it is being appreciated. Again, thank you.

Best regards,

Ryan Gibbs
General Manager
Ramada Trenton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I won't stay in a Ramada again after my experience at this one. To start with it didn't feel particularly clean - there were signs up around the place about labor difficulties. On trying to leave on checking out, a load of striking workers were barricading the exit, preventing customers from exiting the parking lot, despite the traffic signals controlling the traffic. They were holding every car for 10 minutes - how this helps their cause is beyond me - customers are not responsible for whatever their gripes are about! Crazy strikers were literally jumping in front of cars that drove around them. Disgusting that Ramada are allowing their staff to do this - and that the working staff seem nonplussed by this. Oh, and the spa was closed. Awful company.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Englishman-in-theUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan G, General Manager at Ramada Trenton, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
I am sorry for the inconvenience caused by the associates on strike, they are exercising their legal right to strike and we cannot control their actions. We are doing everything within our power to bring a swift end to this labour disruption.

Best Regards,

Ryan Gibbs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My wife & I recently stayed at this hotel for a wedding we had attended. WE had stayed at the hotel many years prior; but it was evident that it had been updated from our prior stay. We found the facility to be very clean...with friendly staff. Breakfast at the restaurant was good. There was a pool; although we di not have an opportunity to use it. It was reasonably priced and good value for the money spent.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happycdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan G, General Manager at Ramada Trenton, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
I'm thrilled to hear you appreciate the improvements we have made. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Best Regards,

Ryan Gibbs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trenton
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Trenton
Comfort Inn Trenton
#2 of 7 in Trenton
117 reviews
3.6 mi away
Travelodge Trenton
Travelodge Trenton
#1 of 7 in Trenton
379 reviews
10.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Belleville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Belleville
1.3 mi away
Motel 6 Trenton
Motel 6 Trenton
#5 of 7 in Trenton
58 reviews
10.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Belleville
Comfort Inn Belleville
#5 of 7 in Belleville
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Trenton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Trenton

Property: Ramada Trenton
Address: 99 Glen Miller Rd, Trenton, Quinte West, Ontario K8V 5P8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Quinte West > Trenton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Trenton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Trenton 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxing Amenities Highlight Hotel in Trenton For a convenient location along the beautiful Bay of Quinte tourist region near local attractions and businesses, choose the Holiday Inn hotel in Trenton, Ontario. Our hotel's location is 1.9 km from Trenton Junction and five minutes from downtown Trenton. Lodging here puts you just minutes from exciting attractions, such as the National Air Force Museum of Canada and a short drive to Sandbanks Provincial Park. You can relax with a picnic at Presqu'ile Park, or hike to the observation deck at Mount Pelion and enjoy the breathtaking view of Trenton. Our hotel's guests will also find many shopping opportunities at Quinte Mall and the unique stores along downtown Trenton. Our hotel's location also puts you in close proximity to Sonoco, Invar Manufacturing, CFB Trenton, Nestle and other businesses around Trenton. Lodging here makes it easy to host the perfect meeting with our five rooms, A/V equipment, catering services and 24-hour Business Centre. Our pet-friendly hotel in Trenton offers big-city service with a small-town charm. Oscar's Restaurant and Lounge serves great meals throughout the day, and guests can relax in the indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna and Fitness Centre. Every well-appointed room and suite comes with comfortable bedding, work area, free high-speed Internet access and a 27' TV with movies. We look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn hotel in Trenton, Ontario. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Trenton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Trenton Hotel Trenton
Trenton Holiday Inn
Ramada Trenton Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing