We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too bad the food isn't nearly as good as the location.”

The Port Bistro Pub
Ranked #9 of 79 Restaurants in Trenton
Price range: US$5 - US$24
Cuisines: Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Situated in the heart of Trenton, The Port Bistro Pub is located in a beautifully restored historical building overlooking the Trent waterway. In the summer season, there is a spacious patio where you can watch the boats pass. Inside we feature the work of local artists & live music on Saturday nights. Everything is made in house including hand-cut frites, desserts, and all sauces and dressings. The menu changes seasonally. We are proud of our unique beer list featuring local and regional brewers. We offer a comprehensive wine list and a great selection of cocktails and martinis. Additionally, we offer warm, friendly customer service and a fun unpretentious atmosphere that is uniquely ours. We strive to go above and beyond our patron's expectations and make The Port something the community can be proud of. The Port is locally owned and operated. We invite you to join us for some shared plates with friends, a full course meal or just a drink on the patio.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went with friends for a quiet burger by the water. The setting was lovely but the table for 4 was barely big enough for two so it meant constant juggling of items.
I had the pesto grilled chicken sandwich which on the menu sounded great. However, I am not sure there was any pesto in the grilling as I could not taste it. Also, there was supposed to be aioli and brie cheese and there was so little of them that they barely covered two mouthfuls of the chicken. My husband had the turkey burger and it was served burnt to a crisp!, It's bad enough that a kitchen burns the food but it's far worse that it made it to the table. The server graciously offered to replace it leaving the original plate with fries so at least my husband could eat something while I was eating my dinner, but it does ruin the mood when you can't eat together. The replacement burger was cooked fine but it had absolutely no flavour whatsoever. To add insult to injury the price was more than I'd pay for a similar item in Toronto.
We are unlikely to go back to the Port Bistro until we get some reassurance that the food has improved.
Too bad as the location is just lovely.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mj_needs_to_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we were given a gift card for this restaurant as we have been talking about trying it for some time. Glad someone else paid!! We came early to relax and beat the dinnertime rush. Only two customers. I ordered the Bistro Burger and my husband the Steak special. My meal sat under a heat lamp for over 15 minutes while we listened to staff gossip and order their own meals. When our meals finally came could not have been more disappointed. Burger was dried out and fries were over cooked. gravy well I cant even tell you what it tasted like cause I have never had gravy that tasted like that. It was really bad. Waitress was good but rest of the staff were hanging at bar eating and laughing. Not returning any time soon.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank giff242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018 via mobile

Come on?? $ 10 bucks for a brew? $ 22 for just a burger with cheese?

I was driving through town with buddies and we decided to stop. Nice location - great river patio.
Pub itself was nice. Good atmosphere

Our server - she was non existent! Had to always ask another server passing by if they could locate our server to grab us another drink or whatever.

We usually hang in Toronto where beers are about 5-6 bucks. Burgers at 10-12 tops.

We weren’t expecting prices like this is Trenton.

Take it down a notch with pricing and up a notch with the service.

Doubt we’ll stop again.

Thank sarahkim0261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jens h, Owner at The Port Bistro Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2018

So staff based on reservations and expectations. Seems we were short staffed the night you were here. Really sorry about that.

Your comment about prices...... being in a smaller community our food costs are quite a bit higher than Toronto’s. Why would you expect us to be cheaper ? Our menus show the prices, you couldn’t of been surprised. Our burger with cheese is $19.00, but it’s a platter of food. We sell craft beer, and yes at $8.00 for a 2 pint glass. Or $5 for a pint. $8 seems like s pretty good deal......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018 via mobile

This cute little Gastro Pub must think they are a high end Toronto Restaurant. ! The prices are kinda ridiculous for Trenton, Ontario.
The menu is weird - trying too hard to be too eclectic. A bottle of beer is $8 bucks. A bacon burger $20. The food was ok but not at these prices.
The service was slow and inattentive. We had to hail out server down for our bill. She just kept disappearing. !!!
It has a great patio with terrific view of the canal. Maybe that’s how they justify the prices. In any event - no one could afford to drink on their patio for very long. Lol
All in all was very disappointing and we will not be back.

Thank klmacdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jens h, Owner at The Port Bistro Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Sorry to hear you weren’t happy. Always tough to gage staffing requirements. Seems we should of had another server in :).

Not sure what you have against Trenton. We are at the Gateway to the Trent Severn Waterway and Prince Edward Wine Country. A beautiful little spot with a great marina.

As to prices .. they are visible front and centre. We are a small Independant place selling local craft beers, and our food is made fresh daily. These things do cost a little more. We won’t apologize for our pricing levels, they are what we need to keep our doors open.

We readily acknowledge we are not the least expensive place in town, but if you want to compare us to Toronto, A $100 dinner for 2 would certainly not have us anywhere close to the “high end Toronto” you mentioned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018 via mobile

Loved my gnocchis, the roulette burger was impressive and the calamari was done right.
The fish bowl Long Island ice teas were also good. Great ambiance

Thank Christiane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Port Bistro Pub also viewed

 

Been to The Port Bistro Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing