We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Colonel By Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Colonel By Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Smiths Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

I stayed in this hotel while on a business trip. It was located near some restaurants and on the main road into town. The room was comfortable and well kept. The breakfast was fantastic, eggs, sausage, etc. Better than in other Best Western hotels that I have stayed in. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank basnik71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    64
    32
    3
    10
See reviews for
41
48
9
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Orangeville, Canada
Level Contributor
207 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed at the Best Western in Smiths Falls last evening actually on a Monday night,...and it is quite adequate for what we needed. We have a dog and they allowed her to be there,..which is super. They even put us in a room on the 1st floor at the end of the hall which was convenient for us to take her in and out. It was a very quiet room and I did not hear any noise at all during the night, not even the fridge clicking on and off. I am a very light sleeper and I found it super quiet. The continental breakfast in the morning from fine,...with some scrambled eggs, and sausages. You can have cereal, yogourt, toast and make your own waffles as well, so it is enough for the traveller. The bed was clean and so was the room. I have no complaints at all and the staff were very very friendly and accomodating as well. Thank you Best Western.

Room Tip: We stayed at the back of the hotel away from any traffic there may be in Smiths Falls during the nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OntarioTravellers684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

Was visiting my folks and with 2 very small children we opted to stay at a hotel. The room and bathroom were spotless and the bed was spot on. Despite other reviews about noise, I found it quite peaceful even with 2 young children. I didn't hear my neighbors and didn't hear much noise out in the hall. Hotel breakfast is hotel breakfast, seriously complainers get over it. It was warm, filling and best of all..... free. We were there for a few days and the experience was how it should be at a hotel. Will be back for sure.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights when we were attending a wedding nearby. We checked in late at night, and there was only 1 employee at the hotel, but we were attended to quickly and efficiently. They unfortunately did not honour the group rate we were supposed to get for booking as part of the wedding. Other members of our group had similar problems.
The room was clean, the bed quite comfortable. We could hear people walking by in the hallway, but it was mostly quiet while we were there. There was a TV and mini fridge, but no safe. The bathroom was very large and clean, but seemed to be partway through a renovation, as the paint on the walls was peeling and irregular and there was a lot of just empty space. The water pressure is good, but to the point that I felt bad turning on the faucet... the fixtures are ancient and must waste gallons and gallons of water on a daily basis.
We kept the privacy sign on the door all day, but received a note that said we were still welcome to request fresh towels from the front desk, which was appreciated.
The included breakfast was decent. The fresh waffles were good, and we enjoyed the few hot food items as well.
The location is convenient, with a Beer Store, a convenience store and a McDonald's right across the street. It's also right on the main highway into the town, so easy to get to.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HotPinkBikini12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King City, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week. Check in was quick and painless and the desk clerk was polite, efficient and friendly. When I entered my room it appeared to be clean. I was disappointed that the cleaning person didn't see any point in putting shampoo in the the bathroom just a skinny wee bottle of hand cream and conditioner. I was disappointed with the fact that my sheets weren't changed and that the iron board was broken. Breakfast was a write off- hot food was barely warm and not much to choose from and having gluten allergy I was not able to inquire if the generic bag style eggs and sausages contained gluten. So there was no value for me. The room rate was incredibly high seeing as the pool was closed.

The one thing they do have going for them is there are many places within walking distance to eat. Walmart is handy so you can buy shampoo. With all this being said, the staff I did see were friendly. The hotel was very noisy and every time neighbors above and below had a shower I could hear it loud and clear. For that reason I felt bad taking my shower at 5:00 am. One thing that really pisses me off is coming in the side door a d finding my card no longer gives me access. With my arms full of stuff walk around to the desk to find a sign that says, "back in 5 minutes". I almost peed right on the lobby floor.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

We requested a handicapped room for our elderly Mother who is in a wheelchair. The "handicapped" part consisted of a bar on the wall by the toilet. The toilet was totally inadequate (to low) as was the bathing facilities. There was only a bathtub. Its very hard for a handicapped person to get in a bathtub and there was no hand held shower head. Also the beds were very high and very difficult to get onto. The service was good and the motel clean but they need to update the facilities for handicapped people.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newtraveller987561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwsmithsfalls, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Colonel By Inn, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
I sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations during your recent stay. I am going to bring up your comments to our owners to see if they could make some room in their next renovation budget to make some of our room more accessible. We do take pride in our customer service and housekeeping, and I am glad that you felt the same way about our efforts.

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

Checked in the other day and hotel has undergone renovations since the last time I was there. It is quite nice but the room we had still had to finish painting the bathroom. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Was quite impressed with the renovations. Would have rated the hotel higher until I took a shower in the morning--could only get warm water (not hot) and this ran out before I finished so I rinsed off with cold water. The person I was travelling with could only get cold water. I was travelling with a group of people and they all had cold showers in the morning. They have spent a fair amount of money on renovations but should seriously look at their hot water system. If it hadn't been for that I would have rated the hotel higher.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyWanderer9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwsmithsfalls, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Colonel By Inn, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Hi,

I do sincerely apologize. This should have been a quick fix by the desk clerk, but as I asked her later on that afternoon she just got frazzled. Not to make any excuses. It was a simple breaker that was tripped that stopped the motor from working. Once again, I apologize.

On the other hand, thank you for the nice note regarding the renovations. We worked hard to receive complete these, and will try to continue to improve the hotel.

Cheers,
Amit Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smiths Falls
11.0 mi away
The Best Western Plus Perth Parkside Inn & Spa
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 4 in Smiths Falls
3.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
20.6 mi away
Kemptville Suites
Kemptville Suites
#1 of 3 in Kemptville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Roger's Motel
Roger's Motel
#3 of 4 in Smiths Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Inn Motel
Best Inn Motel
#4 of 4 in Smiths Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
10.9 mi away
Perth Manor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Colonel By Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Colonel By Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Colonel By Inn
Address: 88 Lombard Street, Smiths Falls, Ontario K7A 4G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Smiths Falls
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Smiths Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Colonel By Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Colonel By Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colonel By Hotel Smiths Falls
Best Western Smiths Falls
Smiths Falls Best Western
BEST WESTERN Colonel By Inn Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing