We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer paradise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Parry Sound
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Silver Lake Cottage Resort
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We went last year with our two kids and rented one cottage and our parents rented another. We all were blown away by how great this place was. So much for the kids to do and we lucked out as there were some other kids there of similar ages for ours to play with. The water trampoline was a big hit. The water was warm and we loved swimming or kayaking around the lake. We liked it so much we're coming back this year and have booked two cottages and two other friends are at other cottages on the property. There's always someone willing to start the communal campfire at night and it was awesome sitting under the stars. It's an easily accessible cottage only 17 min drive to everything Parry Sound has to offer (top notch hospital, lcbo, tim's, restaurants, shopping)
I think we have started a new family tradition of Silver Lake cottage summers!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Eprklims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 12 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2011

I stayed for a weekend in June of 2011 with some friends in cottage #5 at Silver Lake Resort (SLR) and did not want to leave. Easy to find on a quiet lake with so many available activities it was like staying at my own summer camp. Cottage #5 was clean and spacious with modern equipement (wireless, a widescreen tv, a huge bbq, plumbing, great board games, etc.), the bed was very comfortable though I think it was the fresh air and lack of noise that had me sleeping like a baby (in a loft!). Even with it being early June the water temperature was amazing and I loved the private little beach to monkey around on. I also loved the nightly fires at the central firepit; there is something relaxing about watching a fire burn and chatting. Rain or shine SLR is slice on Ontario paradise and I can't wait to get back up there.

Room Tip: I loved bunking down in cottage #5's loft!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garbatronic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

My partner and I went to this small resort up near Parry Sound, ON. It was really easy to find, just off the major highway. We stayed in Cottage #7. It was a cute, cozy little cottage, perfect size for the two of us, bigger families may not be so comfortable in it. We knew this place would be great as soon as we arrived. The view from our cottage was stunning, just trees and water, what more could you want for a week of unplugging from society! :) There was a tonne to do there - basketball, badminton, volleyball, water trampoline, horseshoes, kayaks, canoes, paddleboats, bonfire, etc. All of those things are shared by all of the cabins (there are 10 I believe) but we never had a problem getting access to what we wanted. This is a family friendly resort, so if you're going to get away from kids this is not the place for you - as there were kids and they liked to play lots. The bonfire is also shared so if you want to have a bonfire know you'll be sitting around it with many others, these two things didn't bother us. The lake and the water was beautiful! Crystal clear, you could see down about 6 feet near the shore and it was clean!! So nice to swim in, warm! Kayaking every day was wonderful! They have 4 kayaks, 3 different kinds. Two canoes - not in the best of shape but still fun! Over all we LOVED this place, it was clean, it was fun, there was never a shortage of things to do. It was so relaxing just sitting on the Muskoka chairs by the beach, or out in the middle of the lake on our kayak - a wonderful getaway for sure!! The only other small thing is that because it's so easy to find, just off the highway, you can hear a bit of traffic, again, this didn't bother us much and our cottage was closest to it. I would highly recommend this spot and will definitely be back! :)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank gkelly80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2010

We stayed at Silver Lake Cottages in July 2009 and will be going back this summer for sure! What we liked best about it is that you get the privacy of your own cottage and spend your own time on the beach and dock, but can get people together for a volleyball game or other activities. So makes it a good option for 1 or 2 couples, or a family. It's also possible to rent multiple cottages which we are going to try to do this year.

The grounds are well kept and they allow use of kayaks, canoes, etc. They don't allow jetskis but that wasn't an issue for us and other people and regular motor boats. They might have been cottage owners but not sure.

There were other families there and we just had our first little guy a few months ago and are excited to take him up this year. The beach is perfect as it is shallow at the start, then about 4-5 feet at the buoy line, then drops off nice and deep so great for swimming and no weeds.

Bring some fire wood as they were out when we were there but I think they might stock the firepit area sometimes. And best to bring frosty plastic mugs as they don't allow glass by the beach!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank flyingrutabega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parry Sound
1.3 mi away
Rocky Crest Golf Resort
Rocky Crest Golf Resort
#29 of 56 in Muskoka District
264 reviews
9.1 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
12.6 mi away
Parry Sound Inn and Suites
Parry Sound Inn and Suites
#4 of 19 in Parry Sound
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 19 in Parry Sound
152 reviews
13.6 mi away
Bayside Inn
Bayside Inn
#2 of 19 in Parry Sound
123 reviews
11.5 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Lake Cottage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Lake Cottage Resort

Address: 7 Silver Point Dr | R.r. #2, Parry Sound, Ontario P2A 2W8, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Parry Sound
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Parry Sound
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Lake Cottage Resort is the perfect place for a relaxing, fun-filled family getaway. Our cottages are located at the edge of Muskoka, reputed to be one of the most beautiful areas in Canada. Enjoy our safe sand beach with roped off swimming area, kayaks, canoes, pedal boats, children's playground, volleyball, badminton, basketball, firepit and much more. You can choose from 10 individual cottages to find the perfect fit for your vacation! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Silver Lake Cottage Resort Parry Sound, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing