We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenience”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brunswick Hotel Complex
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Parry Sound
Waterloo, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Convenience”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We were passing through Parry Sound and needed a place to stay for one night. I have to admit when we saw the Knights Inn we were dubious. The location is on a corner in town, no view of the water, but we were happily surprised.
The parking lot at the Inn is very cramped but there is another parking lot around the back. Be prepared to either drop off your suitcase first or wheel it down the street. There is a restaurant attached to the Inn that carries the smell of many meals over the years in the carpets.

Nevertheless, once we reached our room, we were delighted to see that the most important aspects had been upgraded. There was a heavenly king bed complete with soft pillows and duvet and the washroom had also been renovated to provide us with a hot shower.

I applaud the staff for realizing their niche. No one is likely going to stay a week or two at the Knights Inn. But if you need an inexpensive, comfortable room on your way to another destination, this is a good place to lay your head.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    9
    12
    4
    14
See reviews for
13
12
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Merrickville
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This is probably my 3rd or 4th stay at this hotel (including when it was Best Rates and something else before that ages ago), and they have made some amazing improvements since I was here last year. First of all...probably the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept on. I must have been one of the first people in since the renos were finished, because everything was extremely clean and the duvets seemed fresh right out of the store.

I was surprised to see an HD big-screen TV wall-mounted in the room...very nice. The room even had a Tassimo coffee system! I'm used to seeing even bigger, pricier hotels having the same old Mr. Coffee machine...not here. They are definitely not skimping on in-room amenities.

There is still a slightly musty smell in the hallways, but then again, it was about 40 degrees Celsius with high humidity when I was there. Very comfortable in the rooms with the A/C on, though. Bathrooms weren't as modern-looking as the main room, but perfectly functional.

Staff was very friendly. Have to agree with other reviews commenting on small parking lot. there is additional parking around back I guess, but I like to park in front of my room.

Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager46829, Manager at Brunswick Hotel Complex, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you very much for your review!
We are so glad to hear that you have seen our hotel going through all of the improvements that we have made! We are currently upgrading our carpets, among other things, but we really do offer the most comfortable beds around, and with the big tv and Tassimo machines to improve the comfort of each stay, we strive to be your number ONE choice in Parry Sound.
We look forward to seeing you the next time you need a place to stay in the area!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

I dont really post things online but thought I would here. We stayed here and were quite pleased. When we travel we look for a restaurant near the hotel or part of the same place and it was good. Overall our stay was really comfortable. Loved the bed.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager46829, Manager at Brunswick Hotel Complex, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
We are very happy that you made an exception for us and posted this review! We strive to make our guests happy and comfortable, so we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant and comfy bed! We look forward to seeing you the next time you are travelling to Parry Sound.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Extremely disappointed with our recent overnight here.

Budget motel on main street with tiny car park area infront of motel style rooms. Access through corridors - old and very dirty carpet.

+ve - king bed was comfortable

-ves - very noisy airconditioning unit, noisy neighbours, broken tap, no plug for the bath, tired and worn furniture and fittings, dirty carpets and peeling wallpaper. Towels were old and threadbare. No breakfast available - told to go down the road, no wifi.

Stayed here for one night as everywhere else was booked up. Would not recommend or stay here again. Avoid unless you are desperate.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager46829, Manager at Brunswick Hotel Complex, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Firstly I want to thank you for your review, We always want to see how our guests view our Hotel, while we didnt meet your expectations I can assure that we are always working to make our property better. Aside from brand new high-end beds (We were just voted as having the "Best Beds" in Parry Sound), we just went through a bunch of new renovations including carpet upgrades, Tassimo Coffee Makers, 39" Flat screens TV's and much more.

I wanted to point out that we do have a large parking area around the building and FREE WiFi throughout the entire Hotel and Restaurant.

We are proud of our little Hotel and want you to know that everything you have told us about has been addressed right away.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Parry Sound hotels

London, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Best hotel beds I have ever slept on.
Hotel was clean and comfortable.
Staff was very welcoming.
Located right downtown Parry Sound only a few minutes walk to the water.
"Don Cherry's Restaurant" is attached to the hotel and has wonderful food. Very tasty!!

Only 2 small issues:
1. The hotel front entrance was hard to find. They should put up some easy to read signs.
2. Would be better to have hotel windows that open instead of recycled air.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Beds were amazing! Room was very clean. Really good rate and convineient. Reasturaunt is attached with good quality and selection. Location of the building is in downtown Parry Sound which also made it convineient for any of the activities we had planned for that weekend.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Recently stayed the night and was pleasantly surprised with the rooms.Our room had a new King bed and a new flat screen.Room had a Tassimo coffee maker + fridge.
Older building but nicely renovated rooms.Also Staff was very nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager46829, Manager at Brunswick Hotel Complex, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our newly rennovated rooms, we look forward to seeing you again the next time you stay in Parry Sound :) Thank You for choosing Knights Inn and for posting a review on Trip Advisor
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Parry Sound hotels
1.4 mi away
Parry Sound Inn and Suites
Parry Sound Inn and Suites
#3 of 19 in Parry Sound
436 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 19 in Parry Sound
144 reviews
5.6 mi away
Super 8 Parry Sound
Super 8 Parry Sound
#12 of 19 in Parry Sound
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bayside Inn
Bayside Inn
#1 of 19 in Parry Sound
115 reviews
0.7 mi away
Town & Country Motel
Town & Country Motel
#5 of 19 in Parry Sound
62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travellers Hotel
Travellers Hotel
#9 of 19 in Parry Sound
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Brunswick Hotel Complex

Property: Brunswick Hotel Complex
Address: 72 James St, Parry Sound, Ontario P2A 1T5, Canada (Formerly Knights Inn Parry Sound)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Parry Sound
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Parry Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brunswick Hotel Complex 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently rebranded hotel which includes upgraded rooms that have 39" flat screen LED TV's coupled with Simmons Cape Breton pillow top King and Queen sized mattresses. Tassimo coffee machines in every room, and Don Cherry's Sports Grill restaurant with interior corridor access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Brunswick Hotel Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Parry Sound
Travel Lodge Parry Sound
Parry Sound Travel Lodge
Parry Sound Travelodge
Brunswick Hotel Complex Parry Sound, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing