We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food with good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bistro by the Bay

Bistro by the Bay
Ranked #3 of 62 Restaurants in Parry Sound
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, View, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hello and welcome to our Bistro By The Bay web site. We are located at 2 James Street in Parry Sound, Ontario, near the port facilities. Our "on-the-deck" dining experience provides a pleasing view of the Seguin River rapids as well as the nearby Georgian Bay port itself. Indoor seating is also available, of course. We are pleased to offer our valued customers a fine dining menu that includes shrimp and mussels in six different sauces, pickerel, salmon, stuffed chicken, stuffed pork, fall off the bone ribs, some wonderful pastas, and a variety of delicious homemade desserts. We also provide vegetarian and gluten free options.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great food with good service”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

This restaurant tries to be above average with its food and it does it well. We ate here twice during a four night stay in Parry Sound. Space is limited so wise to book at busy times.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank dnjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    46
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

A wonderful meal!
Fish baked to perfection, veggies crisp and full of flavour...We had a perfect afternoon with my boyfriend. And great service on the top of everything:-)

Helpful?
2 Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious!!!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Had the pleasure of dining at Bistro by the Bay this past weekend. I had the duo of Duck special.It was excellent!!! Melt in your mouth. The oka appetizer was a delightful surprise, we also tried the mussels in orange curry sauce and they did not disappoint either! The staff were efficient and friendly. Overall we had a wonderful evening and first class food, our compliments to the Chef and staff. I would highly recommend stopping at Bistro by the Bay when in Parry Sound!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank misplac'd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gluten free”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We came here for dinner on a trip to Parry Sound. Almost everything on the menu could be prepared gluten free. The waitress was extremely informative and the food was amazing. A must stop if u go north on hwy 400

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tcpnjafo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best in PSound”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I went there one week after they re-opened in April 2014. I ordered the "penne Madagascar" that comes with pieces of tenderloin, plus mushrooms, onions, spinach, on a creamy sauce.

Really an original and delicious pasta recipe and the tenderloin was melting.

For desert the "flourless chocolate cake" was great and big enough to share.

To finish, I got an espresso that was one of the best ever. Strong but not bitter at all.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Scorpio_BR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistro by the Bay also viewed

Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
 
Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Bistro by the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing