We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sleek home with three guest rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Danygraig Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Danygraig Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 11 Parry Sound B&B and Inns
Toronto
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sleek home with three guest rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Enjoyed our stay here because (1) home is pristine with newly renovated with wooden floors and high tech components (2) nice patio to view Georgian Bay (3) a sand beach is (only) a walk of about a kilometer (4) the owners care about your stay and put a lot of effort into the breakfast and provision of written materials for the area.

Room Tip: You can spend a bit more for the top floor and get private bathroom. Otherwise you share with the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kelehb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at Danygraig B & B for 3 nights in early July. It was a wonderful place to come back to after a full day of exploring the area. Linda was very helpful with advice of things to do and places to eat. The master suite is well worth the expense--very private with its own ensuite and in the loft area. The view from the breakfast table was breathtaking overlooking Big Sound and several islands. Each morning Linda server a scrumpitious meal that kept us full well into the day!! Thanks Linda for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachglassgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

Danygraig B & B exceeded expectations..,

The physical home was a design-savvy retreat, tons of lofty light spaces in this open concept space, and a view of the majestic Georgian Bay that was stunning..,

The master suite was very well equipped, with a great bathroom overlooking a beautiful Canadian Shield landscape,

This couple understands style, and attention to detail.., as evidenced by an excellent gourmet breakfast..,

Highly recommended....:)

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Harvey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

This is a beautiful B&B run by wonderful hosts!
We stayed in the Master Suite which is isolated on an upper floor loft for ultimate privacy. The block glass style double french doors cannot be seen though, but allow in the warm sunlight from the south facing, cathedral ceiling great room. We could open the room doors and have a private sitting area to read or enjoy the view of the lake without being seen ourselves.
The bedroom and ensuite are spa quality; large and comfortable enough to enjoy spending the whole day lounging inside if it rains.

The entire house was impeccably clean! Both my husband and I are allergic to cats, but the house is so clean that if we hadn't seen them, we wouldn't even know that there are 2 cute kitties in residence. Actually, i have multiple chemical sensitivity disorder and usually react to laundry detergents, cleaners, etc... but this is the first time that i have been to a B&B that i would say is a completely "clean air environment". I didn't react once!!

I also have many food sensitivities that eliminates the majority of the typical "breakfast" menu, but Linda went above and beyond to provide special breakfasts for me.

Linda and Steve are exceptional hosts. Sophisticated, intelligent, funny, helpful and generous. We were offered UK tea (that includes treats) several times a day, had great conversations and Steve even guided my husband around on trails when he wanted to mountain bike.

We highly recommend this B&B and think that everyone should visit Nobel area at least once so that they can stay at Danygraig!

Room Tip: Plan to enjoy the double tub early: they are on a well & it takes time to fill. Swimsuites! The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank damian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed for 4 nights at this lovely B&B. The owners welcomed us to their impeccably kept home ( not a single cat hair!) which can accommodate guests in 3 rooms. Two of the rooms which share a full bathroom are located adjacent to the large open living/ dining/ kitchen space used by the owners and their guests. The view from this large room and its balcony was striking. The third guest bedroom is on a mezzanine and overlooks this space. Breakfast consisted of a 3 course meal with freshly baked goods and homemade jams! Everyday we were served a new breakfast combination with great attention given to place settings! We were provided with invaluable advice on exploring the area: hiking trails, kayak rentals, beach at walking distance as well as restaurants for foodies! We were offered tea and biscuits upon our return and shared our discoveries and interests with the owners and other guests. A lovely peaceful stay in a home built by the owners!

Room Tip: Spacious, quiet, comfortable beds. Sun comes into room early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EwaB0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

Be warned: this B&B has two cats--but please do not mention it if you notice cat hair in your bed, as we did. We assumed the owners would be apologetic and simply change the sheets. Instead, after telling us that it was not possible that there was cat hair in the bed (my wife had already removed a handful), they later yelled at me (yes, yelled at their paying guests) for daring to tell them their home was dirty. I should say, they did change the sheets.

While this is may be a nice home, it is not very well set up for a B & B if you are a guest who wants any privacy. Our room opened onto a common space and had glass French doors with no lock.

Please study the "Rules of Etiquette" on their website before you go. We unfortunately didn't do this and apparently broke several of their rules (no baths at night, remove your shoes upon entering, etc.)--although there were no signs to inform us of these rules.

You may also want to confirm the check out time before you make your booking. We were not informed of a checkout time and then when I asked in the morning I was told that it was "10 am TODAY" because the owners were planning to go out.

We've stayed at many B & B s over the years and this was undoubtedly the most unpleasant experience we've had. I should say that after yelling at me and apologizing the owner did offer to refund our money--and indeed refunded some of it.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mark_silverberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danygraigBB, Owner at Danygraig Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
As the proud owner of this B&B, this was the guest from hell and our worst experience in 7 years opening our home to guests!

They first called and said they had lost the directions, so we explained over the phone in five easy steps how to travel less than 6km.
They rang again and said they were lost. We again explained the simple directions.

When they arrived they complained that the township "signs" at the end of the road are too small.
They complained google maps are wrong, we explained a new bypass had just opened.
They stressed we did not provide the correct directions over the phone.

Then he complained because he saw the cat. "You have a cat!", we explained the cats are mentioned on 3 pages of our web site.
They said they did not want to take their shoes off in the house!
They walked upstairs and then stripped the bed and came down and said they had found "A cat hair" in the bed. We politely said we were sorry and would change the sheets and explained the cats are not allowed in the bed rooms.

So less than 5 minutes in our home and we were blamed for them loosing the map, our telephone directions, google maps, the township signs size, we own a cat and a "cat hair" in the bed and our policy about shoes.

This couple continued the rudeness on every encounter. We smiled and did our best to be polite and courteous.

Next morning they joined the other guests at the breakfast table who praised our hospitality explaining how wonderful it was that we had taken their grand children out on the boat which was the highlight of the vacation. The other guests at the table explained they had stayed with us for the last 4 years. This couple then became quite and no longer spoke to the other guests.

After breakfast the husband came down and said he wanted to go for a run. We said no problem, how long do you expect to be because it's our daughter birthday today, so we have personal plans later this morning.

His reply "you are running a business and we have paid until checkout time, so his wishes should override our desires". I explained again in a very courtesy manner that we would "respectfully" like them to leave by 10.00am.

He pushed again and said that his run should be more important than the owners personal needs. I suggested that he should go for his run because it was only 8:45am,

He pushed again that "you are running a business", your plans for the day are not important to me! After 10.00am they both came down the stairs eager for a confrontation with bags in hand.

I agree, that an owner should always bite his tongue, but this couple had never stopped complaining about things since the moment they arrived. I apologized to them and said we were sorry they did not enjoy the stay.

I offered to give them a refund, they immediately accepted and put out a hand waiting...

Without counting the money in my pocket I gave them everything I had in cash $125.00, which was the payment from an earlier guest that morning.

At last we observed a "smile" on the couples face. They had achieved a free nights accommodation by making up cat hair stories and bating the owners into a number of confrontations.

When first reported it was a "single cat hair", but now I see the story has grown into "handfuls".... What else could one expect from an "professor of English". A story to entertain the public...

We can honestly say this is our worst guest in 7 years in business... We feel this couple had no intentions of paying for accommodations and they would have found ANY reason to get a refund...

It is very sad that a one night guest can make the owners consider closing the business because they never want this type of rude guest again...

Then we read our guest book and understand why we open our home to guests; we can read the hundreds & hundreds of kind messages and compliments from our past guests. But no business can keep every guest happy...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

We only stayed for one night but we liked this B&B very much. We were welcomed with some tea and cookies after we had put everything in our room. The room is really part of the house, guests do not have a private living room so if you are a real B&B lover you will like this setting of being part of the family. In the morning breakfast is served in the hosts' dining room with a view on the lake while the hosts are walking around in the house, chatting with us, having tea, etc...
Our room was cosy with a large bathroom and some little things that make you feel a little more at home: cotton pads, shampoo and shower gel, eye mask to cover your eyes from the brightness in the morning, etc...

It is a 10-minute drive to Parry Sound but a very peaceful location.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shanna24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Parry Sound hotels
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 19 in Parry Sound
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Parry Sound Inn and Suites
Parry Sound Inn and Suites
#3 of 19 in Parry Sound
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chalet Rosemarie
Chalet Rosemarie
#1 of 1 in Nobel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bayside Inn
Bayside Inn
#1 of 19 in Parry Sound
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Tappattoo Resort
Grand Tappattoo Resort
#6 of 19 in Parry Sound
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites
#11 of 19 in Parry Sound
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danygraig Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danygraig Bed & Breakfast

Property: Danygraig Bed & Breakfast
Address: 55 Big Sound Road, Nobel, Ontario, Parry Sound, Ontario P0G 1G0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Parry Sound
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Parry Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on the deck above the trees and forest below or enjoy the tranquility of the sunlight great room with your favorite book. Enjoy a special vacation in this newly created contemporary home with 180-degree views of Georgian Bay. Each of our luxury rooms has been carefully crafted to help you unwind, relax, and benefit in the romance of being in a special place. Enjoy a generous and creative breakfast with homemade specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Danygraig Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danygraig Bed & Breakfast Parry Sound, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing