We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Room! - Restuarant wasn't great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Inn On The Bay
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Owen Sound
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Fantastic Room! - Restuarant wasn't great”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed here for 1 night while snowmobiling in the area. - The Room was fantastic. Very clean and certainly a higher end feel to the room. Nice little "Best Western" touches in the rooms.

The restuarant left us disappointed for supper as the soup was awful, and the rubs were marginal at best. The Continental breakfast was satisfactory.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbenmerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason H, General Manager at Best Western Inn On The Bay, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Hi gbenmerc,

I am glad that you enjoyed your room and appreciated how well kept the hotel is. We are a fantastic snowmobiling destination for Owen Sound being located on the snowmobile trail as well as on Georgian Bay. I hope you enjoyed the beautiful snowmobile trails we have in the area also.

The restaurant on site is often known for fantastic soup as we make it from scratch each day. I am sorry that you did not enjoy it while you stayed here. We do work hard to prepare most products fresh in the restaurant and that does leave more room for error. The soup and ribs should not have been served if they were unsatisfactory. Your server should have also asked you if you enjoyed your meal as we stand behind our product and guarantee satisfaction. I hope that you would consider returning to this hotel in the future and possibly give the restaurant another try. It truly is a nice place to eat and I guarantee that you would enjoy our steak. I would gladly cover the entire meal if I am wrong.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I hope to see you here again someday in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    141
    43
    10
    15
See reviews for
116
172
7
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Lions Head
Level Contributor
122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed here over the xmas season and loved our room and the quality of cleanliness,. especially the covers on the remote and telephone receiver. The staff were more than friendly and sure made you feel welcome. Lunch was perfect, lots of great food at a fair price. Dinner was average but of course it was a very busy time. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason H, General Manager at Best Western Inn On The Bay, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Hi jean519,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this nice review. The staff here work hard to keep a nice clean hotel and I am glad that you were able to recognize that. We have also started to offer a special rate for guests coming to see any live shows in the area as you had suggested. I hope to see you here again sometime in the future.

Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kincardine, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This hotel is clean and comfortable with a delightful staff. I was impressed with the soap dispenser in the bathroom to cut down on soap waste. The food here was good and the glassed in dining room allows you to have a great view in the daytime but the room is very cold...likely indicating the glass needs to be replaced. We enjoyed the whirlpool tub area at night. In the daytime, one would be able to overlook the bay from there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chocoholic7265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason H, General Manager at Best Western Inn On The Bay, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Hi Ontariochocoholic,

I am glad that you were able to enjoy your stay here at Best Western Inn on the Bay. We are very fortunate to have such a wonderful location right on the water and we try to keep that a focal point for guests while they stay here. Keeping a clean hotel with friendly staff is what we are known best for though. Thank you for your acknowledgment of that.

I must admit that we have been dealing with temperature control problems in our dining room and we have fixed the issue. Our damper system in the duct work malfunctioned and caused less heat to be directed into the restaurant. I would like to personally apologize for any discomfort you experienced while in our restaurant.

Thank you again for your nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We have stayed here many times and this hotel has always had very clean rooms and comfortable beds. It has the standard continental breakfast but you can order from a menu as well. The food is also good.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank LongforKeyWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason H, General Manager at Best Western Inn On The Bay, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Hi LongforKeyWest,

Thank you for your patronage at this hotel. Your positive experiences here say a lot about the efforts of the staff and it is nice to see that it pays off. A nice clean hotel is one we can all be proud of.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Rowan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We really enjoy staying at this hotel and do so whenever we go to Owen Sound. Its beautifully maintained, very clean rooms which are beautifully appointed. They also have a great restaurant. The staff are friendly and very accommodating.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mobius48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason H, General Manager at Best Western Inn On The Bay, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Hi Mobius48,

Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your experiences in our hotel. Your patronage and high regard for our establishment is very much appreciated.

We will always strive to provide the clean and up to date facilities while offering genuine services for all guests. We are passionate about great hospitality in all areas of the hotel and take this feedback very seriously. It is hart warming to see our efforts paying off.

Thank you again for your wonderful praise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here twice in the last three months and each time has been a great experience. We have not experienced any issues with staff, service, or the restaurant. We have not upgraded from the continental breakfast included in the room price but have not the same complaints as some. We have had some better and some worse. This has been perfectly adequate for us. The rooms are clean and well maintained. We consider the Inn on the Bay very good value. Some have mentioned problems with reservations. We do almost all reservations wherever online or through the chain apps and have yet to have problems. Don't want to tempt fate with what I have just said.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank RMHBJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason H, General Manager at Best Western Inn On The Bay, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Hi RMHBJH,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of our hotel. It is very heart warming to read that you have not experienced one issue of any kind during two stays with us and are so pleased with the product here. It is proof the our efforts are worthwhile despite the fact that incidents can still happen to anyone. We will always do our best to ensure that everyone enjoys their stay, but it is also so very important to handle problems effectively. That is what truly defines how great a hotel is.

Your patronage is very much appreciated and we will look forward to your next visit. We will do our best to maintain a perfect record for you. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We enjoyed the room with one queen bed because of the extra space for the sofabed and a lounge chair. The hotel is beautifully decorated. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Also enjoyed the two hot tubs. The continental breakfast included with the room was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank nerfnerf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason H, General Manager at Best Western Inn On The Bay, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Hi nerfnerf,

I am glad you enjoyed your experience here and had the opportunity to experience some of the nice amenities as well. We have had our lobby, restaurant and banquet areas decorated for the Christmas season as we always enjoy being part of holiday festivities. The Festival of Northern Lights in Owen Sound has everyone in the Christmas spirit and we are proud to be part of such a festive city.

Thank you for your wonderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Owen Sound
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
#5 of 10 in Owen Sound
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Owen Sound ON
Travelodge Owen Sound ON
#8 of 10 in Owen Sound
3.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
1.2 mi away
Knights Inn Owen Sound
Knights Inn Owen Sound
#2 of 10 in Owen Sound
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
14.6 mi away
Waterview on The Bay
Waterview on The Bay
#1 of 4 in Wiarton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
1.4 mi away
Owen Sound Inn
Owen Sound Inn
#4 of 10 in Owen Sound
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Inn On The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Inn On The Bay

Property: Best Western Inn On The Bay
Address: 1800 2nd Avenue East | P O Box 516, Owen Sound, Ontario N4K 5RI, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Owen Sound
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Owen Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Inn On The Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Inn On The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inn On The Bay Hotel Owen Sound
Best Western Owen Sound
Owen Sound Best Western
Inn On The Bay
Best Western Inn On The Bay Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing