We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Inn On The Bay
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Owen Sound
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The Best Western Inn on the Bay, Owen Sound is ideally located with a perfect, serene view overlooking the Georgian Bay. The rooms are neat, clean and comfortable. The staff are extremely pleasant. Continental breakfast was good. Overall great hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank premilaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason H, General Manager at Best Western Inn On The Bay, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hi premilaf,

It is great to see that you enjoyed your experience at our fine hotel. We are fortunate to have a serene view from our property and even more fortunate to have the sun set across the water each night. We really could not have a nicer location in Owen Sound! Our employees work hard to ensure that each guest enjoys their experience here and your compliments are a reward for their efforts. Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    141
    43
    10
    15
See reviews for
116
172
7
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
185 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We usually stay at Best Western Hotels. We were definitely pleased with the Inn on the Bay. The surrounding area is quite nice on the waterfront and a flower garden and park nearby.
The staff at the desk and restaurant were extremely friendly, Our king room looked out on to grass and the bay and not a parking lot. The room and bed were very clean and comfortable and the noise level from other patrons was minimal. We were given a voucher for a continental or you can use towards a full breakfast.
We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: King rooms have a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RockhoundParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason H, General Manager at Best Western Inn On The Bay, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hi RockhoundParis,

Thank you for posting such a wonderful review of our hotel. We are well known for being a nice quiet place to stay with a beautiful setting on the water. Many of our guests enjoy most of their experience here without even getting back into their vehicle. Our goal here is to help every guest make the most of their experience in Owen Sound so they will be happy to return again in the future. I am glad that this was the case with your stay. We will look forward to having you visit us again in the future.

Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
183 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed overnight on a business trip/golf tourney. I will be back. Very clean, reasonably priced...accommodating staff. Apparently you can go for a walk and catch fish right from shore...
Next time I'm bringing my fishing rod!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason H, General Manager at Best Western Inn On The Bay, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hi Chris O,

I am glad to see that you enjoyed the business and leisure sides to this hotel. We are the number one corporate hotel in Owen Sound and take pride in what we have to offer for our leisure guests as well. It is true that you can fish off of the shores in front of the hotel. In fact, the 27th Annual Salmon Spectacular fishing derby is set to begin on August 22 and many of the contestants fish from the shorelines of the harbour. The fish tent stays open across the bay for the entire week with a fish fry and live entertainment every night. Many people look forward to this as it is one of the most popular events in Owen Sound. I am hopeful that you will have the opportunity to experience it.

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We will look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed for two nights at the Best Western on the Bay in Owen Sound. The staff at the front office was extremely courteous and helpful. The rooms and washrooms were very clean. Overall cleanliness in the hotel was very good. Great view from the restaurant patio. Continental breakfast included in our hotel room rate was very good value for money. The servers very very friendly and helpful in suggesting places/events to visit. The stay surpassed our expectations!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank kjvirdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason H, General Manager at Best Western Inn On The Bay, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hi kjvirdi,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review of our hotel. I am very happy to learn that we surpassed your expectations and you enjoyed your time in Owen Sound. One of the biggest perks of working at this hotel is being able to help people discover how great this area can be. Many of the employees will go out of their way to help guests make the most of their experience here. From breath taking waterfalls to beautiful sunsets on our very own patio, this area offers so many places to relax and recharge during your getaway. It is nice to see that you could enjoy that experience here.

Thank you again for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Great hotel, great staff, nice setting on the bay . Would go back! Ken was efficient (found my lost pillow,and the service staff in the restaurant were lovely. Great views from our rooms. Had to change rooms but the staff made it very easy!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank N3415ZHpaulm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason H, General Manager at Best Western Inn On The Bay, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hi N3415ZHpaulm,

It is wonderful to see that you were well taken care of during your stay with us. Maintenance problems can exist at the most inconvenient times and I am glad that our staff were able to accommodate you. We take a lot of pride in our ability to satisfy guests and empower all of our employees to make the decisions that are required to do so. We are fortunate to work at this beautiful hotel but are equally fortunate to have such wonderful guests that are patient and understanding whenever there is a problem.

Thank you for taking the time to post this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed in the hotel during the August long weekend and had a wonderful time. The hotel staff is extremely friendly & would go out of their way to accommodate customers.

One of the nights we had dinner at the restaurant, food tasted fresh and not out of a box. I would recommend Friday night burger, which was amazing!! Breakfast was good with quite a lot of options.

The location of the hotel is very well planned as it is right by the lake and the sunset by the patio of the restaurant is amazing!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shazu_adi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason H, General Manager at Best Western Inn On The Bay, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hi shazu_adi,

Thank you for posting such a wonderful review of our hotel! I am so glad to see that you could enjoy many of the features and services here during your stay. We have such a great group of employees here and they do genuinely care that you get the most out of your experience at the hotel and in the area. Any one of us would gladly take the time to help a guest with any concern; even if it didn't have anything to do with the hotel. I am fortunate to have this kind of culture here.

Our restaurant is something we are truly proud of at this hotel. Everything on our menu is made fresh daily and we have several red seal chef's preparing it to ensure good quality. With our beautiful location on the waterfront, we find it only fitting to provide high quality food and services to match. The beautiful sunsets over the water are also a big bonus for us and our guests.

It is an honor that you chose us to help make your long weekend a success. We are grateful that you have taken the time to post these comments regarding your experience here and will look forward to seeing you again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I stayed here in March 2014 and found it to be clean, quiet and friendly.
No extras here but the breakfast was good, rooms were reasonably spacious and no unpleasant surprises. Staff were courteous and friendly and the hotel was reasonably conveniently located.
Just here for a night but they delivered in all the basic areas.
I would recommend this hotel to business travellers.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judyjudyjudyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason H, General Manager at Best Western Inn On The Bay, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hi judyjudyjudyToronto,

Thank you for posting this review of our hotel. We are widely considered to be the number one hotel in the area for corporate travel because we focus on delivering a clean and quiet atmosphere while providing decent quality high speed internet at no extra charge. The hotel is also full service and is located in one of the most beautiful areas of Owen Sound so our guests can relax and enjoy their downtime after working all day. I am glad that you enjoyed your experience here and hope that you will consider us first when returning to Owen Sound.

Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Owen Sound
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
#5 of 10 in Owen Sound
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Owen Sound ON
Travelodge Owen Sound ON
#8 of 10 in Owen Sound
3.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
1.2 mi away
Knights Inn Owen Sound
Knights Inn Owen Sound
#2 of 10 in Owen Sound
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
14.6 mi away
Waterview on The Bay
Waterview on The Bay
#1 of 4 in Wiarton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
1.4 mi away
Owen Sound Inn
Owen Sound Inn
#4 of 10 in Owen Sound
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Inn On The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Inn On The Bay

Property: Best Western Inn On The Bay
Address: 1800 2nd Avenue East | P O Box 516, Owen Sound, Ontario N4K 5RI, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Owen Sound
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Owen Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Inn On The Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Inn On The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inn On The Bay Hotel Owen Sound
Best Western Owen Sound
Owen Sound Best Western
Inn On The Bay
Best Western Inn On The Bay Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing