We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would not stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Owen Sound
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Would not stay again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2005

Booked this motel because of the nice room we thought we were getting. Nice decor, great check in and nice room, but to our surprise couldn't use hot tub because it splashed the walls, curtains and carpet. They chose not to fix it after they have had other complaints. Also you can hear the hot tub below filling and when running. We didnt sleep. Complaining does no good. Cost was 249.00 Ouch.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank egrist2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    140
    42
    10
    15
See reviews for
116
171
7
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2004

This has become my home away from home, at least when visiting Owen Sound.

I've stayed here five times, most recently July 2004 and November 2004. I'm planning to stay here again in December 2004.

The new addition is beautiful - I stayed in one of the top floor suites in July and you could not ask for a nicer room. It was very spacious - nice size bedroom, separate living/meeting room, fridge, microwave, two televisions, etc. Since I was travelling alone, it actually felt too large.

During November I stayed in a Harbour View room on the second floor which had a gas fireplace, in addition to the usual amenities. I've never seen a hotel room with a gas fireplace - needless to say I did not use the other heating option very much.

I believe all of the new rooms have high speed internet, which is very important to me when I travel. The internet connection was fast and consistent.

Comensurate with the additional rooms, the dining room has also expanded although the menu seems much the same. I only took breakfast at the hotel, plus some buffalo wings one night. I have no complaints about the food or service.

There are less expensive hotels in Owen Sound, but you get what you pay for. By no means is this a pricy hotel - it offers very good value in fact. Plus it has a great location close to downtown Owen Sound but not in the middle of it.

A side benefit - if you are a hockey fan there might be an OHL game next door at the Bayshore Arena.

  • Stayed March 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2004

Stayed one night with the family on way up to Tobermory. Beautiful clean place to stay.Right on the water beautiful view of Owen Sound Bay excellent meals in the restaurant which has an outdoor patio which again gives you a great view of the Bay. I would highly recommend it for any stay in the Owen Sound area

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergus, Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2003

My husband and I stayed Dec. 20, 2003. We found the hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Our room was bright and very comfortable. The hotel was very quiet.We enjoyed a very good breakfast in the hotel. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Helpful?
1 Thank sharlynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2002

Excellent accomodation with a first class dining room.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Owen Sound
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
#5 of 10 in Owen Sound
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Owen Sound ON
Travelodge Owen Sound ON
#9 of 10 in Owen Sound
3.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
1.2 mi away
Knights Inn Owen Sound
Knights Inn Owen Sound
#2 of 10 in Owen Sound
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
14.6 mi away
Waterview on The Bay
Waterview on The Bay
#1 of 4 in Wiarton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
1.4 mi away
Owen Sound Inn
Owen Sound Inn
#4 of 10 in Owen Sound
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay

Property: BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay
Address: 1800 2nd Avenue East | P O Box 516, Owen Sound, Ontario N4K 5RI, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Owen Sound
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Owen Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inn On The Bay Hotel Owen Sound
Best Western Owen Sound
Owen Sound Best Western
Inn On The Bay
BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing